1/7 Moonie PMPS 292,+5~240

Status
Not open for further replies.

Roni and Moonie

Member Since 2009
Morning LL! Moonie is fine today--Still no magical poo--spoke to My vet this am-She says that the bun is normal/ borderline, but not yet a problem & the Hyper T results are borderline, but not unusual for her age.
She feels that we should take a fasting BW in March & we can see the actual numbers on a fasting test..
She will be away for the rest of the month(OMG) after Monday, and she said I had Moonie there last month when she threw up & wasnt eating, so she said to keep a good eye on Moonie in case something is brewing--she did mention pancreatitis & would take an test for that next time...I pray that she will be alright now.

Hoping that all ailing kitties will be better today & that all the test result gotten have easy solutions & remedies...Thank You All for the suggestions & support--I couldnt make it without you.
BTW Moonie spit up a hairball today, small but effective :lol:
Hope everyone hs a Happy Caturday! Hugs & Love from us--Please send Moonie get well & stay well vines, as our evtty will be away till end of Jan nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile .

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=60208&start=50
 
Re: 1/7 Moonie AMPS 257-spoke to our vet

Hi Roni, thanks for the update on sweet Moonie. We are thinking of you and her and sending healing energy. I guess even vets need breaks. :roll: Happy Caturday!
Liz
 
Re: 1/7 Moonie AMPS 257-spoke to our vet

Morning Roni - glad that all is well with Moonie - nothing serious or to worry about. Keep on truckin' there Moonie girl. I hope all will continue to be well - be well vines for Moonie.

Enjoy your day guys. Seems like the kitties are - the gang is hanging out on he yellow floor this morning. Think blue kitties!
 
Re: 1/7 Moonie AMPS 257-spoke to our vet

I am so glad that Moonie is doing better, and that the test results were not too bad. I am sending lots of feel good vines.
 
Re: 1/7 Moonie AMPS 257-spoke to our vet

I'm glad she got rid of the hairball, that has to feel better. I guess it is encouraging that the vet doesn't seem to be concerned about her, but I'm still sending be well vines, and some magical poo vines.
 
Re: 1/7 Moonie AMPS 257-spoke to our vet

So glad to hear that Moonie is feeling better!! Now think blue, pretty girl!

Have a great weekend, Roni! Hugs from us!
 
Re: 1/7 Moonie AMPS 257,+3~172 spoke to our vet

Just when I thought the insulin was pooped out!! Started it on 11/30/11--Maybe I will open a new one...
She is doing fine.Hope it's a good Caturday--
oh my new Washer & Dryer is coming today--Kool- My DH alias the Laundry Man will be Happy!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/7 Moonie AMPS 257,+3~172 spoke to our vet

oh happy day - a working washer and dryer! that's enough to make anybody's Saturday a happy day!

and my first thought in reading your first post was, did you step in the hairball? :lol:
 
Re: 1/7 Moonie AMPS 257,+3~172 spoke to our vet

Hi Roni, that all sounds good with the test results on Moonie and to keep an eye on her. Is there another Vet in her clinic that you like should you need one with her one month absence. Good with the hairball release. :-D Thanks for your kind words of love and support in Maggie's condo. You're a good friend. Hugs and love to you and vines and scritches for Moonie to feel better.
 
Re: 1/7 Moonie AMPS 257,+3~172 spoke to our vet

That +3 is getting down towards good Moonie numbers. I hope getting the hairball out of the way help bring her the rest of the way down.

The test results sound good. Remember that a cat getting a proper low carb/high protein diet will have higher BUN levels than "normal."
 
Re: 1/7 Moonie AMPS 257,+3~172 spoke to our vet

Good Morning Roni. BW doesn't sound too bad, I'm glad to hear that. Sending feel better vines for Moonie. Kinda scary on the vet being away for the rest of the month, I'm with you on that! nailbite_smile Yay on the new washer/dryer!
 
Re: 1/7 Moonie AMPS 257,+3~172 spoke to our vet

Roni:

I don't want to shake your trust in your vet but she is not correct. As cats age, the basal thyroid levels are lower (unless the cat has hyper-T). Here is some info from the Hemopet website:

Q. What about testing older cats ?

Basal thyroid levels in older cats should be lower than adults
Other illnesses often lower T4, masking hyperthyroidism
Minimum testing needed is T4 and freeT4
FT4 by ED method can be high in cases of GI, renal, and liver disease

So I disagree with her that Moonie's hyper-T numbers are age related unless she means that hyper-T is more prominent in elder cats; that is true.
There is also no reason to fast a cat for a hyper-T test. If she wants to fast to check pancreas, that is the correct protocol. But insofar as renal/hyper-T tests...no fasting necessary.

One result of hyperthyroidism is gastric upset. The other concern with hyper-T is it can mask true renal function. Since Moonie's numbers are just now borderline, that is probably not occurring. But once a kitty tips the scales
into clinicial symptoms and a hyper-T number, then it's difficult to know what the kidneys are really doing until the thyroid condition is treated and the kitty becomes euthyroid (normal thyroid numbers). The reason higher
thyroid numbers can mask renal issues is that a hyper-T cat pushes more blood through the body (called "perfusion"). This can result in increased heart rate and possibly increased blood pressure. But it also perfuses more
blood into the kidneys allowing them to function better.....for a time.

I think it is reasonable to wait until March unless her symptoms worsen. But I just wanted to give you some other info to think about. If you need citations, please let me know.

Big hugs to you and hope that magical poo appears today!
 
Re: 1/7 Moonie AMPS 257,+3~172,+5~93 spoke 2 vet

Glad to hear that Moonie is doing well! Sending poo vines, and have a great Caturday!

@Julie - I always always step in the hairball!
 
Re: 1/7 Moonie AMPS 257,+3~172,+5~93 spoke 2 vet

Just got some green--Guess the expulsion of the hairball helped a bit--She ate just a bit of cat food, so I made some plain chicken & she devoured it--I stuck some in her food..
She ate all the food I gave last night, but eating less today--see what she does when we go out later..

I am aware of the hyper T & looked it up the minute I got home from er-my vet is very thorough.
Marge should go to vet school for the dvm!
Letting her heal on her own right now, Gave her the pepcid today, so we'll see!
Enjoy rest of the day!
 
Re: 1/7 Moonie AMPS 257,+3~172,+5~93 spoke 2 vet

Hi Roni,
I'm getting to your condo a little late because we were out playing in the snow, but just wanted to tell you how happy I am that Moonie is feeling good again. I'll bet that getting rid of that hairball was a large factor!! It's good that you will have the Hyper T checked out. We got to it much too late with Stu, who had advanced Hyper T before we knew what was going on. He also had CRF, which the Hyper T was masking. You may remember what we went through in the summer of 2010.
You are so vigilant and Moonie is benefiting from that vigilance.
Have a nice, relaxing evening. You did good!!

Ella

Hey Moonie, nice +5! Get your singing cap on, the full moon party is only 2 days away. See you soon!
Hugs, from
Rusty
 
Re: 1/7 Moonie AMPS 257,+3~172,+5~93,PMPS 292

Evening! Moonie is Ok tonite-No poo yet. Ate 1/2 -3/4 her usual amount of food..
She at a decent dinner, but look at that bounce--Maybe she is upset as I was examining her..
Hey a Mother worries!!! Most People think I am Nuts because I worry so much about Moonie!--
She is my child in every sense of the word & I dont care what anyone says..
I am watching her very carefully-
Tomorrow we have to go to NJ to see my DS & DBIL....So now I M WORRIED about leaving her, but I will use the auto feeder & we know she likes that!--Well, maybe me being away will make her feel calm & she will poo..Didnt use a new pen as I dont want any sudden drops especially if I wont be here!
Let's see where she goes tonite-Paws & fingers crossed.
 
Re: 1/7 Moonie AMPS 257,+3~172,+5~93,PMPS 292

Gosh, the things we learn in here. :-D
I'm glad Miss Moonie is feeling well today, Roni. Her aunties are still waiting for the magical poo. :lol:
 
Re: 1/7 Moonie AMPS 257,+3~172,+5~93,PMPS 292

Glad to hear Miss Moonie is feeling a little better today. I'm sure getting rid of that hairball helped. Sorry about the bounce but at least you will not need to worry too much while you are away tomorrow. Since Moonie likes the automatic feeder, things will be ok. Have a good trip.
 
Re: 1/7 Moonie AMPS 257,+3~172,+5~93,PMPS 292

I'm so glad Moonie is feeling better. I know what you mean about leaving = worrying. But she'll be fine, you'll have a good visit with your sister, and when you come home the food will be gone and there will be poo poo in Moo Moo's litter box. :YMHUG: from Mookie and me
 
Re: 1/7 Moonie PMPS 292,+5~240:)

WE HAVE MAGICAL POO!!!!!!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT It's the Happy Crappy Dance!!!
How could someone be excited about cat poo?? Me that's who!!
She is eating again better & is getting back to herself :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
This insulin is most likely shot, but I wont change it till tomorrow night so I will be home
WHOOT! All the good thoughts & Prayers do work here in magic Lantus Land!!
May you have happy dreams, soft sleepus & may you all be in good health--
With Hugs & Love from us!!! :-D :-D :-D
 
keeping you both in my prayers even if i don't post in your condo

glad you got the magical poo!! :RAHCAT

did they rule out pancreatitis? did the vet say anything about that?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top