1/7 Maverick PMPS 88 +2 79 +3 60

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
I'll link to yesterdays condo in a bit nothing eventful. Not sure what to do here.

I opened new strips last night and the +3 reading gave me a really wierd 99. Normally +3 would be his nadir and he's never gone low so I was going to wait until today to post advice on what to do, assumed the strips were wonky.

He spent a lot of time eating breakfast this morning. I noticed a big throw up pile shortly after (1/2 hour before AMPS). Food is always available to him.

Tested him twice this morning - 61 and then a 66.

I worry that the strips were exposed to the cold when a friend shipped them to me. I also bought a brand new 50 pack at walmart yesterday. Do I open a whole new 50 pack? I'm home all day and have a hypo kit and tons of test strips. Including 50 accuchec aviva strips.

Using Relion Contour. Code matched the container.
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 - need help - new strips

Yes I would want to try the new pack and see if they give the same results. You could also try testing on yourself - and see if both packs of strips give similar results!
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 - need help - new strips

GREAT IDEA!!!! will do right now. I admit to eating an extremely high carb breakfast though :oops:
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 - need help - new strips

Looks like the strips are accurate. So I'm not sure where that +3 99 came from last night! Normally its 30 points less than preshot and not near the same. And then a 60 this morning. 1/2 hour after throwing up breakfast.

Will test him at the +1 with the new strips just in case.
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 - ugh

Hi Karrie,
Morning to you and Maverick. I wonder what's up with Maverick - will be waiting to get your next test. Was the throw-up food or maybe a hairball?
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 - ugh

It was just eaten food and lots of it. I guess you would call it a scarf and barf which he has never done before. So maybe he did go low last night. Serves me right for bragging that he's never gone low? ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 - ugh

Good morning guys! I wonder if maverick heard you saying he never goes low and wants to give you a run for your money ... hoping he comes up just a wee bit and surfs for you .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 +1 69

wishing Maverick goes on a long safe surf today.
And you have a fab Friday
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 +1 69

wow...what a run, maverick!
:lol: on your breakfast admission, Karrie...
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 +1 69

Morning guys...

Sounds like he may have gone low last night, but I don't see a bounce underway...yet.

Scarf and barf can happen. If it continues I'd highly encourage a vet trip. Krueger never barfed, not even hairballs. When he started ...well it was too late. But...that's not always the case, but I wouldn't let it go more than a day or two either. Other things could be going on in the digestive system causing a malabsorption issue.
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 +1 69

WOW - eventful morning for you. But what a nice amps. Maybe he did go low last night and knew he needed to eat - and scarf and bar was the ticket. Mannie does this sometimes. I hope all is well with Maverick. Are you around to watch him a little this morning?

Surf well and green today maverick!
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 +1 69

+2 61 - put some chicken dust on his turkey and giblet food to tempt him to eat at +2 - his daytime appetite is very poor normally. His Nadir should be around +3 so I won't have to keep him up all day like you guys. Last night was just wierd I think.
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 +1 69 +2 61

Great numbers today - what a flat green surf! Karrie, you have to be careful when you talk about your kittie on LL. I swear they all read it and try to show us up. :lol: Have a great day.
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 +1 69 +2 61

Karrie --

There's a note on your SS on 1/5 about a 48 at 7:50. If that is a BG value, then Maverick earned a dose reduction.

You also noted that Maverick threw up breakfast 30 min. before AMPS. Are you feeding before testing? You want to be testing, feeding, then shooting. I'm also wondering whether you are feeding a snack late in the cycle. A teaspoon of food at +9 may help to lower those few blue pre-shot numbers that you're getting on occasion. I wouldn't worry overly much about the puking unless it persists.
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 +1 69 +2 61

I'm not worried about the puking at all. Just that it seemed to coincide with a lower than normal number.

No 40s on his spreadsheet anywhere. Not sure where you are seeing that. One day I accidentally wrote the canadian number in the US side of the spreadsheet but fixed this.

The problem is getting Maverick to eat enough during the 24 hour period to maintain his weight. He is a grazer. So if I don't let him eat when he wants he doesn't eat at other times to make it up. So as long as he isn't going low, is there any problem with him eating before the preshot if I am able to monitor him? I didn't think there was which is why I have allowed him to eat when he's hungry. He normally never eats more than 1/2 oz to an ounce at a time. This morning was very abnormal. He threw up probably two ounces.

I can do this for a few days so you guys can see his numbers without food influence.
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 +1 69 +2 61

Yes, there is a problem with letting him eat right before PS. Those few blue PS numbers are what is preventing Maverick from earning a dose decrease. He may need the reduction. I would suggest that you pick up the food as Sienne suggested. I would offer a snack around +9, then pick up the food by +10. It won't hurt him to not have food available for 4 hours out of 24, and it will give you clean PS tests.
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 +1 69 +2 61

Ok for the next few days I'll listen to you guys and monitor his weight. I will syringe feed him some extra food if he does drop in those few days. I won't be able to feed him his new favourite fish flavoured food because its lower in calories than the turkey and giblets (which require chicken dust to get him eating enough of it). Dang picky eaters!

Thanks for the push guys.
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 +1 69 +2 61 +3 61

+3 61 and fed him some more chicken dust to tempt him to eat some more. Should be his Nadir this hour so we'll see what the +4 does :)

Setting my iphone4 alarm app to include +10s to pick up food.
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 +1 69 +2 61 +3 61

He may surprise you Karrie. If he is hungry enough to eat right before AMPS, he should still be hungry at AMPS if food isn't available before that. I know he's picky, and you worry about him eating enough...but give it a try. If it doesn't work, then we'll just have to find a way to work around that problem, ok?
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 +1 69 +2 61 +3 61

It doesn't work that way with Maverick - at least it hasn't worked that way. But you are right Laurie, I will be pleasantly surprised if it does. He seems to need less food now than before to maintain his weight. I think being so well regulated has helped a lot. I won't make any predictions we'll see what he does. I'll weigh him at test time. I think he was 15.40lbs right on the dot earlier this week.
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 +1 69 +2 61 +3 61 +4 66

Great numbers for Maverick...nice surf. Good luck with the food trial...I hope it works and you can reduce him.
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 +1 69 +2 61 +3 61 +4 66 +5 76

Hi, Karrie and Maverick.. Happy Friday to you! Happy to hear the strips checked out ok & that Maverick has a wonderful surf going on! :-D Heal, Mave..Heal!
Good luck with the food & I hope you both have an enjoyable evening!
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick +9 69 - took up food question

Ok guys. He ate the rest of his daily three ounces right at the 9 hour mark (like he read this post!!!) so he won't get anything until preshot time.

Now I'm nervous it may be too low come shot time. His preshot readings almost always have food behind them by an hour or so. Guess we'll see whats on his mind for preshot in three hours.

No doubt in my mind he has a reduction coming. I didn't want him to earn it for some reason and was quite happy just keeping him where he was.
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 PMPS 88

Well I was pleasantly surprised at his PMPS an 88. So not having food before hand I fed him T&G. I put chicken dust on the saucer, plop the Special Kitty Turkey and Giblets onto the chicken dust. Then top with more chickent dust and smoosh it into the top (So he can't just lick off the dust) and then cut into bite sized pieces. This gets him eating when I want him to. And I refresh with a bit more chicken dust so he keeps interested. Still he only eats about 1/2 ounce at a time but returns more often in the evening to polish it off.

Good news is he is still maintaining his weight... 15.44lbs today. So even though his appetite has levelled off since the diabetes diagnosis he is finally maintaining consistently. His appetite spiked at diagnosis and he lost a bit but he was eating so much. Then appetite dropped but without weight loss. No assist feeding has been necessary. And he is at his ideal weight too.
 
Re: 1/7 Maverick AMPS 61/66 PMPS 88

sounds like great news all around!

I would probably give him at least a couple more days on this dose before attempting a reduction, unless of course he earns one by going lower. It may be just my overcautious side, but I'd like to get a little farther from that 113 before reducing. As you say, it is probably just a food spike number, but let's see what happens. Very nice, though!
 
I am wishing he earns a decrease by staying stable and not by going low nailbite_smile

Now I'm dancing to get him to eat. Didn't have to really worry about that before. Only liberal reapplications of chicken dust will get him eating when I need him to eat. Alarm is set to pick up his food at 6AM tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top