1/7 Makoto *AMps 190, +6.75 (169) PMps 134

Si am cat mom

Member Since 2019
Late AMps ...slightly higher than it has been, but not what I would have seen before after a drop into the 40s overnight.
So, I guess he doesn't really "bounce" as dramatically as he did before he started this tighter range of better BG numbers. I guess it is possible then than he was going lower overnight on the previous dose and I was seeing slightly higher AMps numbers , but nothing in the high 200-300 range like before.
Reduced the dose this AM- will try 0.25 again for a few days then try another curve before I go back to work Saturday night.
 
Late AMps ...slightly higher than it has been, but not what I would have seen before after a drop into the 40s overnight.
So, I guess he doesn't really "bounce" as dramatically as he did before he started this tighter range of better BG numbers. I guess it is possible then than he was going lower overnight on the previous dose and I was seeing slightly higher AMps numbers , but nothing in the high 200-300 range like before.
Reduced the dose this AM- will try 0.25 again for a few days then try another curve before I go back to work Saturday night.
I know you are trying to get to a number that’s easier to draw (0.25u), however, for a drop in the 30s ( and you are following SLGS), the dose reduction is a full 0.25u so his dose should be 0.15u and you should go ahead and give the full reduction.

Also, you’ve got a World SS instead of just a US one. Please PM me and I can fix that and get you a US template.
 
I know you are trying to get to a number that’s easier to draw (0.25u), however, for a drop in the 30s ( and you are following SLGS), the dose reduction is a full 0.25u so his dose should be 0.15u and you should go ahead and give the full reduction.

Also, you’ve got a World SS instead of just a US one. Please PM me and I can fix that and get you a US template.

I'm a not sure about the SS...both my 2020 and 2019 are in US formats- I don't see a world one with info on it :confused:
I will message you thought and see exactly what is going on.

I also didn't trust that (37) reading I got last night..it was mostly fluid and not frank blood, but I know the (49) is not much off.
I am just not sure about the full reduction since he was going into the 200s on that dose previously. I feel like at his rate, I will just be going back and forth between 0.5 and 0.25 every few days and then feeding him high carb food just so I can give him insulin.
I was debating on switching to TR since we are starting to see better numbers...(If I did) I was thinking that it would have been okay to shave the dose down and not take a full reduction...
I read this a felt like it sounded like our situation of taking too many reductions in one week, but also being told that he is not ready to start going OTJ...? I might have misunderstood.

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
 
Am I right in deducing that he is not bouncing as dramatically when we see lower numbers because we are seeing more level blue numbers consistently? (Before, I would see dramatic bounces with a number less than 60 because most of our average BGs were in the 260-300 range)
 
That 51 on the AT tonight tells me he really wanted that full 0.25 unit reduction.
Am I right in deducing that he is not bouncing as dramatically when we see lower numbers because we are seeing more level blue numbers consistently?
More likely he is getting somewhat used to lower numbers.
 
That 51 on the AT tonight tells me he really wanted that full 0.25 unit reduction.

More likely he is getting somewhat used to lower numbers.

Ok. :/
If I could do more testing and switched to TR, we would hold this dose (or the next) until he was under (50) 3x or just the one time? He's fairly new to greens so
I'm open to trying the reduction. Bummed, but open...I just worried about taking too many reductions with nowhere else to go after the 0.15 really. In the discussions I read about strong remission it mentioned going OTJ too soon due more to dosing/ freq. reductions vs.the cat actually being ready. I didn't want that to be us.
 
Back
Top