1/7 Lucy PMPS=230;+2=221;+4.5=245

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

1/6 AMPS=200 (0.75u); +2=166; +2.5=151; +3=149; +8.75=140; +10.5=169
1/6 PMPS=167 (0.75u); +2=148; +6=167

1/7 AMBG=185 (fasting); +14.5=167; +22=194
1/7 PMPS=230 (0.75u); +2=221; +4.5=245

Lucy is being fasted for a bloodwork at the moment.
She'll get B12 and frustosamin tested, and the appointment is at 9am.
I was hoping to see a better number as I am leaning towards skipping rather than shooting late.

I'll make the final decision when I get back from the vet after seeing where her number and appetite are.

I re-read the sticky about the depot yesterday, and it really is a hard concept to get a grasp of... at least to me.
Especially because I can't really visualize it......
I think I understand what it is, but I don't really understand what it does with dose/shot time change.
I'll add this to my "things to learn".
If anyone knows of any material on the web I can read that explains insulin depot in a way even a cave man can understand, please let me know!!!!!

I hope everyone's having a nice day.
 
Re: 1/7 Lucy AMBG=185 // fasting

Sending good vetty vines! I sorta get the depot thing, but not to the point where I can explain it so someone else gets it :oops: . Someone out there must have a good analogy that would explain it.

We'll be watching for updates!!
 
Re: 1/7 Lucy AMBG=185 // fasting

Hi Mariko,
I think of the insulin depot being like the fat bears store up for their winter hibernation. When they are hibernating they don't eat and their bodies use the stored-up fat. With the insulin depot, if you miss a shot, the depot will chip in some of the needed insulin. It helps because the body will not be totally depleted of insulin. With the "in-and-out" insulins (the ones that don't provide depots), the insulin is used up and that is that. So, the depot provided by Lantus and Levemir is one of the reasons these insulins are able to regulate the body's use of insulin in a way in which there will be no "feast or famine". Theoretically, the depot helps to keep the insulin curve shallow, so that there are no spikes and dives. Of course, it doesn't always work out that way!!!

Good luck with Lucy's blood work today. Sending good vetty vines,

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/7 Lucy AMBG=185 // fasting

I hope the vet visit/bloodwork goes well for Lucy, adding my vetty vines to the pile :-D I'm not so good at figuring out the depot enought to explain it either, good thing Ella is :-D You made me laugh, you're not a cave man...if you are then I am too :lol: Sending hugs too! I know vet visits stress the bean and the kitty! Sometimes the bean more than the kitty ;-) :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/7 Lucy AMBG=185 // fasting

Thank you, Amy.
Thank you, Ella.
Ella, I think I understand that part too.
But how does the body decide what part of shot insulin goes into depot and what part goes to be used during that cycle?
Does it first fill the depot, and only the excess works during the particular cycle?
For example now, Lucy didn't get the morning shot, so the stored insulin from the depot is keeping her number down.
Her depot is now draining, and if she is really high when we get home from the vet, it means she used up all her stored insulin, right?
So if I shoot after the vet, maybe most of it will goes to re-fill the depot, and less than normal amount will be left to take effect during the cycle.
Then even if I shoot early this evening, she will not have much overlap?
If so, then why do we adjust shot time by 30min/day or 15min/shot to get back on schedule whenever we are late? Just a precaution?
 
Re: 1/7 Lucy AMBG=185 // fasting

Hi guys .. Good luck at the vet's today .. and good luck on your next learning assignment! I for one never understood anything about the depot and all that goes with it .. I just listened to the wise folks on here :lol: have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/7 Lucy AMBG=185;+14.5=167 // we are back.

Lucy's still blue, and her appetite isn't so great, and I have to go to work.
So, I will not shoot now, and maybe shoot a little earlier than regular time this evening.....
 
Re: 1/7 Lucy AMBG=185;+14.5=167 // we are back.

Mariko, You are so not alone in the not understanding part! I am continually amazed and impressed at the things some of the veterans on the board understand and say, and a lot of it goes over my head. I'm at about 50% understanding the depot, and I'm still lost when they talk about bounces and such. confused_cat Thank goodness there are so many people here to try to help us understand and muddle through.

Sending vines for good results from the bloodwork. Try not to worry to much at work today. I'm sure Lucy will come through like a champ.
 
Re: 1/7 Lucy AMBG=185;+14.5=167 // we are back.

Sending vines for a good vetty visit and test results.

This is more on the technical side of things, but maybe it will help:
After you inject it into your subcutaneous tissue, the acidic solution is neutralized by your body to a neutral pH. Because glargine is not soluble at a neutral pH, it precipitates out into a form that's not soluble in subcutaneous fat, and there forms a relatively insoluble depot. From that pool, or depot, of precipitated glargine in the tissues, small amounts slowly move back into solution over time and then to the bloodstream.

It isn't available "on demand" but just a slow continuous trickle that becames available.
 
Re: 1/7 Lucy AMBG=185;+14.5=167 // we are back.

I hope everything went well at the vet today and you get good test results. I'm not really clear on the depot either. I sort of understand it.
 
Re: 1/7 Lucy PMPS=230

Thank you very much for your visit and support and information!

Lucy is yellow, but that's understandable as she didn't get the morning shot.
Her appetite isn't super, but she's still eating. :-D

Her fructosamine came back.
She was at lower end of the reference range (forgot the exact number). :roll:
So I sort of lost faith in fructosamine, not that I had much to begin with.
I'll have to wait a bit longer for B12 result.

The best thing that happened is that I had a really good talk with my vet about regulating Lucy.
I won't go into details, but I spoke from my heart, and she listened.
I also expressed my understanding and appreciation towards how she wants to keep Lucy safe.
After speaking with her tonight, I think she feels more comfortable with me dealing with FD.
So.... I feel great. I'm so glad I talked.
We are now on the same page, and I got to keep my honesty.
I love my vet even more now.
 
Re: 1/7 Lucy PMPS=230;+2=221

Sounds like you have a great relationship with your vet. I am so happy for you Mariko. Now you can openly manage Lucy's numbers the way you feel is right.
Glad she is still eating, and not a bad number for skipping~
 
Re: 1/7 Lucy PMPS=230;+2=221

Hi again,
As I understand it (in non-scientific terms), the depot, also known as the shed, reflects the dose. (I guess you can say that if your dose is 1 Unit, the size of the depot is 1 Unit). So when you skip a shot or do a fur shot or a partial fur shot some of the depot comes to the rescue and the cat doesn't go as high as she would if there were no depot. Then, the next time you give your insulin shot, some of the insulin goes into re-filling the depot. In other words, all of the insulin in that shot is not available to work on the blood glucose. So you may see higher numbers until the depot is back to "normal". When you change your dose, the size of the depot also changes. So if you increase the dose, some of the insulin given during the first few shots of the dose increase goes into beefing up the depot (and all of the insulin is not available to work on the cat's bg). If you decrease the dose, the depot gradually drains (it may take a few cycles and you may continue to see the low numbers that were the reason you decreased the dose).

I hope that someone will correct me if I am giving a bad explanation. I should post a disclaimer and say that this is my personal view of it all!!!

I'm glad you and your vet have come to terms!

Hugs, scritches,

p.s. I think that adjusting the shot time is another issue.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/7 Lucy PMPS=230;+2=221

Thank you so much, Ella!!!
I understand depot better now! Yahoo!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top