? 1/7 Kokkinoulis AMPS 394, +2 336, +4 336, +8 344 +10 375 PMPS 365 increased dose &Flat curve, Feeder

Kokkinoulis

Member Since 2023
Previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...05-8-426-pmps-404-bounce.285367/#post-3140596

Dear Administrators,

@Bandit's Mom , @Wendy&Neko , @tiffmaxee , @Chris & China (GA), @Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA), @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
I increased today the dose by 0.5 unit from 4 to 4.5 unit. Kokkinoulis has lower BG levels than yesterday but the curve is flat without nadir and he is producing continuously high BGs (>=300 mg/dl).
Let's hope that in the next 5 cycles the BG levels will drop down and he will have more clear nadirs.
I have to buy a good aytomatic cat feeder for wet fooda s I will be at office in the next days (I will try to work remotely most of the days of the week if it possible).

Do you know any good aytomatic cat feeder for wet food to recommend me?
 
Previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...05-8-426-pmps-404-bounce.285367/#post-3140596

Dear Administrators,

@Bandit's Mom , @Wendy&Neko , @tiffmaxee , @Chris & China (GA), @Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA), @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
I increased today the dose by 0.5 unit from 4 to 4.5 unit. Kokkinoulis has lower BG levels than yesterday but the curve is flat without nadir and he is producing continuously high BGs (>=300 mg/dl).
Let's hope that in the next 5 cycles the BG levels will drop down and he will have more clear nadirs.
I have to buy a good aytomatic cat feeder for wet fooda s I will be at office in the next days (I will try to work remotely most of the days of the week if it possible).

Do you know any good aytomatic cat feeder for wet food to recommend me?
Excellent! Let’s hope this helps him.

If he stays in reds/pinks with this next increase you’ve done, we should think about raising him 0.5u after four cycles. This is called “fast-tracking”. If he stays in reds/pinks, then we let him go six cycles and increase by 0.5u. We can alternate this approach until we see yellow. To fast-track, please tag Wendy, Sienne, or me and if Wendy or Sienne respond before I do, please reference this condo and my suggestion to increase 0.5u after four cycles.

Since you are doing TR (can you please add that to your signature block and you can remove “Athens Greece” since it’s in your profile when I click on your user ID. Thank you!
 
I don't know what's available in Greece for pet feeders. In North America, the Petsafe 5 feeder is one option. Yes, you can feed wet food in it. There is a little spot under the white tray where you cat put a gel pack. Or you can add an ice cube which will melt, keep food cool and add water. Catmate makes another option, and you can get stainless steel inserts to put inside the plastic. I used little ceramic sushi bowls that fit inside, raising the food and getting it off the plastic.

No reds so far today, that's good. You also have to get through New Dose Wonkiness after the increase.
 
Like Wendy don't know if these are available in Greece
Also some info on auto feeders, add a little water to the wet food
Here is an auto feeder that hold 5 slots and comes with 2 ice packs for wet food
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-C500-Digital-Automatic/dp/B01AUYLVU8/ref=sr_1_6?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIuM_y2p79_AIVDvrICh1_xAy6EAAYASAAEgJBDfD_BwE&hvadid=178540036693&hvdev=t&hvlocphy=9003521&hvnetw=g&hvqmt=e&hvrand=6990619631848479728&hvtargid=kwd-12652445711&hydadcr=10635_9894649&keywords=petsafe 5-meal automatic pet feeder&qid=1675560889&sr=8-6

Extra ice packs so you can keep them in the freezer ready to go
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Rep...5c-bd5c-e23f6094563c&pd_rd_i=B091HTXNHR&psc=1

This one has 3 slots with one ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Automatic-Feeder-Digital/dp/B01MXDFB28?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Extra ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Mate-Replace...cb-974a-deec2fb8a80c&pd_rd_i=B07KFP7PRG&psc=1

You can even order the stainless steel inserts for the 5 slot if you don't like your kitty eating out of plastic, from what I have heard plastic could cause acne on some cats
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Sta...36-830d-6cc20f385409&pd_rd_i=B0B3MS1MWR&psc=1
 
Excellent! Let’s hope this helps him.

If he stays in reds/pinks with this next increase you’ve done, we should think about raising him 0.5u after four cycles. This is called “fast-tracking”. If he stays in reds/pinks, then we let him go six cycles and increase by 0.5u. We can alternate this approach until we see yellow. To fast-track, please tag Wendy, Sienne, or me and if Wendy or Sienne respond before I do, please reference this condo and my suggestion to increase 0.5u after four cycles.

Since you are doing TR (can you please add that to your signature block and you can remove “Athens Greece” since it’s in your profile when I click on your user ID. Thank you!

Dear Marje,

Thanks for the prompt reply. Regarding adherence to the TR protocol and especially this “fast-tracking” increase of the doses depends when I will be at office or hospitals for my work.
I work as a Clinical Research Associate in a CRO company on several clinical trials for several pharmaceutical companies, most days of the week remotely from home, but some days 1-2 or 3 I have to go to our office or to different Hospitals. These days I am out of the house for 9.30-10 hours. Moreover, some days in the months I have one day trip to other cities.
So, these days I can't monitor my cat's BG levels or feed him small portions between shots (for this reason I wnt to buy an automatic cat feeder for wet food). This is my big concern as I have not found the dose of insulin that will keep my cat euglycemic. Also from what it seems so far it will be required a high dose of insulin to regulate him and I am very afraid of hypoglycemia when I will be away from home and even with such a high dose of insulin. I live alone and have no one to help me when I'm away.
I am thinking to change the doses and make increases when I will be at home for safety reasons (at least for the 1st cycle of the new dose). Especially as I have not found yet his nadir's time.
What do you think about it?
Since you are doing TR (can you please add that to your signature block and you can remove “Athens Greece” since it’s in your profile when I click on your user ID.
I made the relevant changes.
 
I don't know what's available in Greece for pet feeders. In North America, the Petsafe 5 feeder is one option. Yes, you can feed wet food in it. There is a little spot under the white tray where you cat put a gel pack. Or you can add an ice cube which will melt, keep food cool and add water. Catmate makes another option, and you can get stainless steel inserts to put inside the plastic. I used little ceramic sushi bowls that fit inside, raising the food and getting it off the plastic.

No reds so far today, that's good. You also have to get through New Dose Wonkiness after the increase.
Hi Wendy,

Thanks for the feeders!! I check them and I can buy cat mate from Amazon but they need many days for its shiping...almost 1 month!
 
Regarding adherence to the TR protocol and especially this “fast-tracking” increase of the doses depends when I will be at office or hospitals for my work.
This is just an option. It’s not a requirement. It’s ok to keep doing what you are doing. Safety is first and what you’ve been doing is not incorrect. Thank you for explaining.

I am thinking to change the doses and make increases when I will be at home for safety reasons (at least for the 1st cycle of the new dose). Especially as I have not found yet his nadir's time.
What do you think about it?
Yes as long as you can increase his dose at least every six cycles until he starts seeing some nadirs under 200.

I’m sorry I forgot to address the auto feeder. Most of us here use the PetSafe 5. It’s a really good one and if Amazon is there in Greece or delivers from somewhere else in Europe, they typically carry it.

I made the relevant changes.
Thank you!!
 
Like Wendy don't know if these are available in Greece
Also some info on auto feeders, add a little water to the wet food
Here is an auto feeder that hold 5 slots and comes with 2 ice packs for wet food
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-C500-Digital-Automatic/dp/B01AUYLVU8/ref=sr_1_6?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIuM_y2p79_AIVDvrICh1_xAy6EAAYASAAEgJBDfD_BwE&hvadid=178540036693&hvdev=t&hvlocphy=9003521&hvnetw=g&hvqmt=e&hvrand=6990619631848479728&hvtargid=kwd-12652445711&hydadcr=10635_9894649&keywords=petsafe 5-meal automatic pet feeder&qid=1675560889&sr=8-6

Extra ice packs so you can keep them in the freezer ready to go
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Rep...5c-bd5c-e23f6094563c&pd_rd_i=B091HTXNHR&psc=1

This one has 3 slots with one ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Automatic-Feeder-Digital/dp/B01MXDFB28?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Extra ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Mate-Replace...cb-974a-deec2fb8a80c&pd_rd_i=B07KFP7PRG&psc=1

You can even order the stainless steel inserts for the 5 slot if you don't like your kitty eating out of plastic, from what I have heard plastic could cause acne on some cats
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Sta...36-830d-6cc20f385409&pd_rd_i=B0B3MS1MWR&psc=1

Hi Diane,

Thanks for the useful information for automatic cat feeders!! As I wrote to Wendy I can buy cat mate from Amazon but unfortunatelly they need many days for its shiping.
 
This is just an option. It’s not a requirement. It’s ok to keep doing what you are doing. Safety is first and what you’ve been doing is not incorrect. Thank you for explaining.


Yes as long as you can increase his dose at least every six cycles until he starts seeing some nadirs under 200.

I’m sorry I forgot to address the auto feeder. Most of us here use the PetSafe 5. It’s a really good one and if Amazon is there in Greece or delivers from somewhere else in Europe, they typically carry it.


Thank you!!
Yes as long as you can increase his dose at least every six cycles until he starts seeing some nadirs under 200.

As I wrote in my previous posts I worry he is already on a high dose of insulin and his BG levels are still high and the curve is still flat. This could be a negative factor for remission, or it could indicate some co-morbidity and there is an increased risk when I am away from home. All girls in the forum assist me and encourage me to keep on and thank you so much for your help and kind words.
 
As I wrote in my previous posts I worry he is already on a high dose of insulin and his BG levels are still high and the curve is still flat. This could be a negative factor for remission, or it could indicate some co-morbidity and there is an increased risk when I am away from home. All girls in the forum assist me and encourage me to keep on and thank you so much for your help and kind words.
I was not aware of your working situation and so that makes perfect sense. I am a very experienced Moderator here but, admittedly, have not posted to you before and did not know your circumstance.

Yes, he’s on a high dose but we won’t get concerned about a high dose condition until he reaches 6u bid. I have seen cats climb up this high and then they finally start getting enough insulin and start to come down. We just focus on what we have in front of us right now.
 
Thanks..we do our best
Unfortunately his BG levels in PM are increase again. They are higher at +2& +4 than the pre-shot level. I am so disappointed and frustated
 
Last edited:
Back
Top