1/7 Jax - Tired and ready to dose higher

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Member Since 2011
Good Afternoon all...

Feeling sleep deprived, crappy and just can't catch a break.

Yesterday 1.5U
PMPS 348
+2/ 256
+4/ 124
+ 8/ 455 WTH? Have no idea. Fed frozen can FF around +5

AMPS 399 1.6U (with the U100's so dose is accurate, Thanks Lori!)
+3/ 196
+6/173 Fed frozen FF
+8/ 331
+10/ 408

Seemed in beginning that leaving out frozen helped. Can't say the same now as he just will sit and gnaw at it, without stopping, till it is gone. Can never get a low # because he won't stop scarfing his food, my civvie's food, the frozen food, etc., etc. Upped his food increase, he just eats more. Not satisified till everything is gone...then he's off to groom himself as if he had a date in a hour. Would be funny if not under these circumstances.

Mulling 2U. I can't continue to let him go so high, so long and frankly, I'm physically tired. I need sleep, at least during the weekdays. Could probably get him lower if I didn't feed outside of 2x a day and up the dose but then begging is incessant, even with a full volume of food for the 2x a day feedings.

Choices:
Definitely thinking 2U @ PM cycle. Especially if he has the frozen mid way through each cycle. OR I keep the 1.6U or 1.8U and don't give anything midway.
 
I know it is tiring and stressful. But I would stay at 1.6 for one more cycle. Then, if you want to raise because it's the weekend and you can closely monitor, go to 1.8. I wouldn't go up to 2 yet.

It seems like forever, but you have only been at this a little while. He is getting decent nadirs - just a few points lower would really make his spreadsheet look good.

Two problems with rushing. You can go over a dose that might really work for him. And you can get more than you wanted - a low nadir that will require higher carb to counteract, and set you back.

As far as the food, an automatic feeder might help. We love our PetSafe5. Easy to program, 5 sections to fill and hard to break into. It can feed him little snacks when you want him to eat. And maybe he will start pestering it instead of you. Oliver would go over to the feeder about 5 minutes before it was time for it to go off, and sit and wait and watch.....

Also, one way to fool them and their stomach is to mix a little water into the food. It will require more time for him to eat a soupy mix and it may be more filling.

Have we figured that he is eating enough?
 
Hi Sue,
Yes he's eating enough. He's eating MORE than enough. Thanks for the response, I know the FD didn't happen overnight and I don't want to rush it but gosh...super frustrating and a lack of sleep is making me somewhat crazy. DH was for holding at 1.6U, I was for full speed ahead to 2U. 1.8U was a compromise. It's amazing how the FD has almost become a vortex in the household, pulling everything in, in its wake.

I'll concede and hold for another cycle as I really don't want to rush, however frustrating, and I'm sure DH will be happy with that HOWEVER, I'm full speed ahead at AM cycle if no impact.

Thanks for your thoughts, you certainly have a calming effect and a way with words. LOL. I'm guessing you are a psychologist, counselor, social worker, or something along those lines... :smile: Tell me if I'm close...LOL
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top