1/7 Gracie PMPS 112 +2 88 +3 61 +4 60 +5 64 +6 60 +7 82

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33762

Recap:
AMPS: 164 3rd cycle sk1.25u
+1: 130
+2: 66
+2.5: 58
+3: 58
+3.5: 51
+4: 58
+4.5: 57
+5: 42
+5.5: 64
+6.5: 56
+7.5: 52
+8: 50
+9: 52
+11: 82
PMPS: 99 4th cycle sk1.25u
+1: 161
+2: 182
+3: 169
+4: 154
+6: 221
AMPS: 290 5th cycle sk1.25u
+2: 256


TGIF for those of you working.....for me, I only have three days left to play before going back to TBP. Our continued well wishes for Rocket, Ralphie, and all others who are not well including all beans.

WCR: 4Ps in place. I woke up to find Gracie and Tobey snuggled in to my legs and each other which is odd because they are both usually up on the pillows. They've been playing all morning as I've tried to get a few things done. Gracie has a little bounce going here....she spent alot of time in great numbers yesterday but we had to keep bumping her up a little bit here and there to keep her above 50...she still got down below 50 at one time but came right back up. We did another little Gracie experiment yesterday: we fed the 42 at +5 and then just let her go to see if she would surf on her own and how far down she would go without us giving her any food/karo, etc. By +8, she had worked her way down to 50 so we decided we better boost her up a bit to keep her above 50 and I did not want to shoot a low, dropping PMPS. A little more Gracie info for us!!

We hope you all have a great day! We are going to do a +4 check and if she's still up, go out for a quick hike and then I have to take my truck in for warranty work so we'll have to check in with everyone later.
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie AMPS 290 +2 256

You guys are doing seriously amazing managing and figuring out Gracie.

I love hearing about Gracie and Tobie playing. I still laugh thinking of the two of them watching that video together. Did they notice the TV before you bought the video? Maverick has never paid any attention to the goldfish tanks or the television before, so I wonder if he'd like video catnip.
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie AMPS 290 +2 256

more yellow - seems the "three" have decided that is the place to be. I wonder what they have up their sleeves today?

Enjoy your hike! wish it were me.... I love hiking...
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie AMPS 290 +2 256 +4 85

No more yellow....I just told Mike, "wow, Tess dropped like 150 in no time at all; let's get Gracie's test done and hit the road". Uh....she has other plans. This was totally unexpected...in fact...I retested her just to make sure and got the same number twice. Gave a little food with a good dollop of karo.
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie AMPS 290 +2 256 +4 85

Ummmm...Marjorie.....when the +2 is significantly lower than the PS test, that is a sign to pay attention because there is likely to be action ahead....
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie AMPS 290 +2 256 +4 85

Laurie... not sure if perhaps you misread the numbers....our +2 was within 34 of PS...I don't consider that to be significantly lower. I'm not sure how many people would have done a +3 with a 34 drop in two hours and a number still at 256?? Please help me if I'm missing something. Thank you for your input because I do always appreciate thoughts and I'm wondering if I'm not clued into something??
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie AMPS 290 +2 256 +4 85

I bet she thought your +4 was a +2. Thats crazy that she comes up with these numbers! Maverick's preshot numbers started with 60s and he nadired at 60, but then there is Gracie ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie AMPS 290 +2 256 +4 85

Marjorie, if you go back and look at Gracie's SS, you will see that many times when she has an active cycle, her +2 number is lower than her preshot number. This is generally a clue to pay attention and test again soon. You haven't seen any of us say this before in other condos? I'm surprised, because we say it all the time. This is why I am a fan of +2 tests.....it's a great indicator test. While I have had cycles where the +2 is higher and the cycle is active anyway, if Tinkles' +2 is lower than his PS, I am on alert for that cycle.

It does not have to be a huge drop to be significant. Remember that typically onset is around +3, so anytime the number is lower at +2, you should pay attention. From the new to the group sticky:

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

ETA: What I would consider not significant is if the number was within a few points..in a case like this, within 10 points..that would be close enough to the same number to not be an indicator for me. If you want a simple, black and white rule....if the +2 is lower, pay attention......how's that?
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie AMPS 290 +2 256 +4 85

Gracie...u is we-went-wess...but mannie sez dat's a good t'ing!!
binks
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie AMPS 290 +2 256 +4 85

Laurie: yes, I've seen and read all of that and I do appreciate you taking the time to post it in our condo. I only see one other instance on Gracie's SS where she dove at +4 (a.m. cycle 12/14) after her +2 being relatively close to her PS number. Her typical pattern is that if she is going to dive, she starts at +1.5. Granted, that doesn't always happen and obviously not today; we all miss things occasionally as I did today.

As you know, Gracie doesn't follow the pattern of how lantus should onset :-D We did alot of testing yesterday and in looking at her SS this morning and what she normally does, I elected to give her ears a rest. The info you gave states:
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
I may have made a miscalculation in judgment today but 256 seems pretty close to 290 to me. I really do appreciate the extra eyes but this morning I was just looking at what she does the majority of times and there are alot of cycles where she is lower at +2 and does absolutely nothing. She is so unpredictable, Laurie. You'll see days when I thought she was going to do something and I tested and tested and she did nothing. So again...this morning...just trying to save her ears as much as possible considering the last two cycles. We will keep a closer eye on it...thanks for your thoughts.
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie AMPS 290 +2 256 +4 85 +5 65

Hi Marjorie,
I hope you will be able to get out for a hike, as you surely deserve it. Little Gracie is unpredictable, and you and dh are doing such a great job experimenting. I just got thru taking care of my car, maintenance, registration, insurance. Have a good afternoon.
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie AMPS 290 +2 256 +4 85 +5 65

There are also cycles where she is a little lower at +2 and she has active cycles...for example, look at 11/18 AM cycle...she dropped by 20pts at +2 and got down to 98....12/11, 32 pt drop @+2, got down into low blues....while those are not drops to low numbers, they are hardly inactive cycles. I found those two examples by looking at her SS for just a few minutes. I'm sure there are more if you look for them.

I'm not faulting you for not testing...you posted that you were surprised by this, I'm just showing you examples that will give you clues as to why you *might* have expected it.
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie AMPS 290 +2 256 +4 85 +5 65 +6 96 +7 73

Hi, Marjorie & Gracie.. Mike too ;-)
What a nice cycle for Gracie.. great #s! I have not peeked at your SS to see if you are using food or if lil momma is surfing on her own.. either way it is wonderful! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie AMPS 290 +2 256 +4 85 +5 65 +6 96 +7 73 +8 75

DH here - Marjorie took her car to the shop and running errands. Gracie is doing nicely this afternoon, 75 at +8. I did give her a little of her low carb at +7 because she was apparently starving, but she seems to be pretty much surfing on her own.
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie AMPS 290 +2 256 +4 85 +5 65 +7 73 +8 75 +9 73

awesome surf!!
 

Attachments

  • surf!.jpg
    surf!.jpg
    69.7 KB · Views: 1,018
Re: 1/7 Gracie AMPS 290 +2 256 +4 85 +5 65 +7 73 +8 75 +9 73

what a great day for Gracie - :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Very nice when they can pick up and surf on their own. have a great night guys!
 
Re: 1/7Gracie AMPS 290 +2 256 +4 85 +5 65 +7 73 +9 73 +10 57

Thanks guys!!! Nice surf all the way to +10; we tested just a few minutes before +10 as we were going to meet friends for early dinner. When we got this number, we did feed a bit to try and bump her up and see if she could hold that on her own the next two hours for her PS. Will be testing soon.
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie PMPS 112

Marjorie & Gracie said:
Sienne....did I see in a condo somewhere that you posted that Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers' foods (I have the grilled chicken) were only 12% carbs? I can't remember and I don't have the info on it. Thank you!!

Depending on the variety, the carbs were between 15 - 17%. I wrote to Purina and they sent the "as fed" values. If you write them asking for the numbers, they will send you a bunch of coupons!

Pretty cycle today. Why does Gracie like to surf for CabanaBoy? Does Mike have a magic touch? Is Gracie a daddy's girl?
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie PMPS 112

Thanks, Libby. Jill had told me once that when Gracie is doing a slide at the end of her cycle, it would be ok to feed her a small amount no later than +10 to see if we could get her to bump up for her PS since quite often she does not get a food spike at +1. Last night and tonight both, we did this, she came up, we shot her dose and fed 10% food. Yes, it bumped her up last night but we got a flat blue and that is what we are trying to do...get a little flatter with no big drops. So we'll see if tonight is a repeat. So she has now had two green cycles at this dose; we'll see what she does tonight.

Michelle: Thanks!! Oh we already went and came back!! Went early so we could be back by 7 for PS testing in case we had to stall.

Lisa: Yes...nice to see those blue and green PSs!!

Sienne: THANK YOU so much on the coupons and on the cycle! You know...I've asked this question of cabanaboy many times as she does surf better for him...I think he does have a magic touch but she is definitely a mama's girl. The funny thing is that if I'm not here, he calls me and we discuss what to do. If I'm here, we talk about what to do but for some reason when I'm gone...she just surfs better!!

I'll be there Rusty!! We have to have an extra special meal for Shadow!!!
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie PMPS 112 +1 115 +2 88

Fed 9% since we have a 30 drop in one hour. We sure would like to see her surf again tonight in the high 60s or low 70s. Maybe I should go spend the night somewhere else since she does better with Mike or should I say Mike does better with her surfing? :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie PMPS 112 +1 115 +2 88

Looking great Gracie!

Tanks for coming and bisit me yesserday, I jus lubs the ktss! And Tobey! What a massage! Me feels so guds! - Lubs, Muffin
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie PMPS 112 +1 115 +2 88 +3 61

Gracie such a beautiful day!!! Whooo Hoooo & DH cabanabean, you all did a fine job today--Hope you get soem sleep tonite-
Big Hugs from us!! Ni NI!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie PMPS 112 +1 115 +2 88 +3 61

Anne: nice to see you here tonight!!! I'm looking forward to hear what the vet says about Muffin.

Michelle: well, we're starting to have to work on this one tonight at +3; Libby said try to get 2-3 green cycles in at this dose so I'm pretty sure tomorrow morning will be a reduction for her....just gonna skinny it up to a f1u.

MJ: NO BOUNCING ...velcro panties would be a good thing.

Roni: yup!! Now if we can slowly reduce and have her hold it. If she doesn't, I'm ready for the looney bin :lol: :lol: :lol: Mike napping right now and he'll get up in a while to take her through the night so I can sleep since I have early morning duty. Sleep tight, you.
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie PMPS 112 +1 115 +2 88 +3 61

WOW - there she goes.

Hear you on the dose - good luck if you decide to skinny it up. In your opinion how much difference is there between a F1.0, and a S1.25? one drop? I'm trying to find a way to be more accurate in Mannie's. He's at a F2.75, though I often wonder if what I'm doing is more akin to a S3.0. I dunno... just wondered how you differentiate between the two.
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie PMPS 112 +1 115 +2 88 +3 61

Another great cycle and another great catch on the drop, we can't be ahead of them all. Get some sleep to be ready for that early morning shift! Soooo nice to be able to share the work.
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie PMPS 112 +1 115 +2 88 +3 61

Absolutely!! I couldn't do this without Mike. Almost time for me to go NI NI!!
 
Re: 1/7 Gracie PMPS 112 +1 115 +2 88 +3 61 +4 60 +5 64 +6 60

I am right with you on the trying to measure those F and Sk doses and figuring out what the diff is. Look at Gracie tonight what a nice surf you guys are doing great :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top