1/7 Gobbles AMPS +177 +189 (two tests) ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
I don't think I should give him his shot, should I? Please see updated SS. And if not, why? He has a vet appt. today though husband is fighting me about it, so it may not be until tomorrow
 
Re: 1/7 Gobbles AMPS +177 +189 (two tests)

Hi guys .. no shooting advice from me, but you might want to use the ? mark icon in your title .. it might draw in more eyes for you .. but I will say those are some nice blues! have a great day guys!
 
We use 150 as the "Post and ask what to do" number (whereas on Health, they use 200). If you're going to be home and can do a bit of monitoring, it would be fine to shoot.

In case you should need it, do you have high carb food and strips?
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
We use 150 as the "Post and ask what to do" number (whereas on Health, they use 200). If you're going to be home and can do a bit of monitoring, it would be fine to shoot.

In case you should need it, do you have high carb food and strips?
Yes, he is now 2 hours late on his shot...should I test him first then give the shot? I have been fluffing his shot by two drops the last two days....maybe it worked...!!!???
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
We use 150 as the "Post and ask what to do" number (whereas on Health, they use 200). If you're going to be home and can do a bit of monitoring, it would be fine to shoot.

In case you should need it, do you have high carb food and strips?
yes, strips and a can of fancy feast elegant medleys...i DID have about 35 strips left and I dropped at least 10 of them in the sink today which had remnants of toothpaste and water, so those got wet.
 
I would test him and if he is the same or higher then give him his usual fat shot. Test him in an hour or so to see where he is after the shot.

Make sure you pick up some new strips soon ;) Sucks on dropping them.

FYI Since you are two hours late that means you need to shoot tonite 12 hours from now. And then if you want you can then start moving him back to his usual time by 15minutes each shot or 30mins a day.
 
Wet strips are not going to work. I'd get more strips ASAP. Like with most things in life, Murphy's Law will apply. You'll think you've got enough strips and then your cat's numbers will start to drop. Better to get strips now than trying to find them at midnight.

If you're 2 hours late, can your schedule accommodate being that far off? Your PM shot will be 12 hours from whenever you shoot. Unless numbers are very high (in which case you can shoot an hour early), you can move the shot by 15 min. every shot time or by 30 min. once a day.
 
Oh and good luck on the vet appointment. You will probably see an increase in his BG levels afterward since its pretty stressful...
 
Also, when you're picking up extra strips, I would pick up some higher carb food, too. The FF Medleys (the ones I use anyway) are about 10% to 11% carbs, I think. You can buy some FF in the Grilled flavors that are a lot higher in carbs.

Because things can get confusing if you have two condos going in the same day, we try to limit each person to only one condo a day. Can you please go back and delete the other condo you started?
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
I would test him and if he is the same or higher then give him his usual fat shot. Test him in an hour or so to see where he is after the shot.

Make sure you pick up some new strips soon ;) Sucks on dropping them.

FYI Since you are two hours late that means you need to shoot tonite 12 hours from now. And then if you want you can then start moving him back to his usual time by 15minutes each shot or 30mins a day.
You're not going to believe this. I just tested him with the ReliOn and got these numbers: 51, 382, 364 then with the True Result and got these numbers: 192, 201 ..
 
Dyana said:
Also, when you're picking up extra strips, I would pick up some higher carb food, too. The FF Medleys (the ones I use anyway) are about 10% to 11% carbs, I think. You can buy some FF in the Grilled flavors that are a lot higher in carbs.

Because things can get confusing if you have two condos going in the same day, we try to limit each person to only one condo a day. Can you please go back and delete the other condo you started?
I can shoot now, I can get a few test, but absolutely can't get a PMPS more than +2. I have Whisker Lickins' (catnip flavor) on hand. Which condo post?
 
I think you need to stick to one meter - using two is confusing. So I would stick to the Relion. But you arent using those wet strips are you? Those BG numbers are weird and I wonder if all the strips got contaminated?

I suspect the high numbers are right though. But since we cant be sure, and you are already 2 hours late, and arent home today to test,and dont have high enough carb food just in case, I would skip. That also puts you back on schedule tonite and gives you time to take your daughter to walmart to get some new strips ;) ...They dont have Walmart in Europe after all.

They are referring to "please help should i shoot post". Please delete it and we will respond here.
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
I think you need to stick to one meter - using two is confusing. So I would stick to the Relion. But you arent using those wet strips are you? Those BG numbers are weird and I wonder if all the strips got contaminated?

I suspect the high numbers are right though. But since we cant be sure, and you are already 2 hours late, and arent home today to test,and dont have high enough carb food just in case, I would skip. That also puts you back on schedule tonite and gives you time to take your daughter to walmart to get some new strips ;) ...They dont have Walmart in Europe after all.

They are referring to "please help should i shoot post". Please delete it and we will respond here.
i doubt it was one of the wet ones by i was flustered so who knows....i have a vet appt at 2:30 today and will be home all day, and am bringing my glucometers and he can test them against his.
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
I think you need to stick to one meter - using two is confusing. So I would stick to the Relion. But you arent using those wet strips are you? Those BG numbers are weird and I wonder if all the strips got contaminated?

I suspect the high numbers are right though. But since we cant be sure, and you are already 2 hours late, and arent home today to test,and dont have high enough carb food just in case, I would skip. That also puts you back on schedule tonite and gives you time to take your daughter to walmart to get some new strips ;) ...They dont have Walmart in Europe after all.

They are referring to "please help should i shoot post". Please delete it and we will respond here.
and how do i delete i?
 
It's too late I think, now, to delete the other condo, as someone else has responded to it. I asked Deb via PM to delete her post and add it to this condo instead. If she gets my message, and deletes her post, then you can delete that condo.

If your shot schedule can not allow a 2 hour time difference, then I would skip the shot, and you can go right back to your regular shot schedule tonight.
If your shot schedule is flexable enough that you can shoot 12 hours after your shoot this morning, and adjust back to your regular shot schedule in 15 minute increments, then I would go ahead and shoot. The numbers are safe enough that you can go get strips and HC now.
 
Dyana said:
It's too late I think, now, to delete the other condo, as someone else has responded to it. I asked Deb via PM to delete her post and add it to this condo instead. If she gets my message, and deletes her post, then you can delete that condo.

If your shot schedule can not allow a 2 hour time difference, then I would skip the shot, and you can go right back to your regular shot schedule tonight.
If your shot schedule is flexable enough that you can shoot 12 hours after your shoot this morning, and adjust back to your regular shot schedule in 15 minute increments, then I would go ahead and shoot. The numbers are safe enough that you can go get strips and HC now.
I just tested him with the ReliOn and got these numbers: 51, 382, 364 then with the True Result and got these numbers: 192, 201 . going to vet at 2:30 and he can test my gluconometers
 
Can you shoot 12 hours from now for tonight's shot? Maybe, if he goes up real high, you can shoot earlier...
and then adjust back to your regular shot time by 15 minutes per shot (or 30 minutes per day)?
 
Unfortunately you responded to Deb and now she can't delete her post, just go to the other post and put "duplicate post - ignore" in the subject line.

sometime if you repeat a test too soon on a meter you can get some strange numbers, the meter gets confused. Did you test 3 times in a row on the Relion?
 
The 50 I would toss out as error - different things can give you a crazy number like that. A good rule of thumb (so you did perfectly!) is to retest if something seems too high or too low. The second two numbers are within the 20% difference allowed for meters so I would consider them accurate. I personally take the difference between the numbers and split it... so if I had 93 and 99 I would log it as 96 and call it good.
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Oh and good luck on the vet appointment. You will probably see an increase in his BG levels afterward since its pretty stressful...
I had a very thorough appointment with the vet. See my updated SS.
 
Amanda said:
The 50 I would toss out as error - different things can give you a crazy number like that. A good rule of thumb (so you did perfectly!) is to retest if something seems too high or too low. The second two numbers are within the 20% difference allowed for meters so I would consider them accurate. I personally take the difference between the numbers and split it... so if I had 93 and 99 I would log it as 96 and call it good.
That sounds like a good idea. To reiterate here are those numbers again, less the 50 reading: ReliOn: 382, 364 then with the True Result and got these numbers: 192, 201 ... So with both meters' numbers, according to the way you compute something like: 287, 282? Can you take a minute to see Gobbles' updated SS?
 
Ok great.. shame about the relion test, but typical again that the trueresult is reading low!

It will be interesting to see how he does on 1.5IU. He probably needed an increase anyway although this forum would have likely recommended 1/4IU increase instead of 1/2IU. But with testing you will find out if its too much..

Can you update the SS with the 1.5IU at PMPS (the cell to the left of the n/a) since you did give him 1.5iu? That way we can start counting his cycles from this shot.

Are you going to do any tests tonite? It might be an idea to test at +6 at least... my concern is he has dropped to 69 before on 1IU so we dont want any surprises.
 
Vets often increase doses in half units and even full units. It seems that's all they know. Here, we recommended doing your adjustments by quarter units, so you don't pass by a good dose.

You can add your PMPS test number along with whatever + hour it was when you shot, in the PMPS column, and add the dose you gave in the Units column. Please :smile:
 
I'd like to strongly reiterate: pick a meter and stick with it. You will drive yourself crazy if you keep comparing meters. Ann is correct....if you retest on the same meter immediately, you'll can get a really different number. The best thing to do is to pick the meter you like and then get a backup meter that is the same brand so if you need to retest, you are using the same type of meter. I have had to do that on occasion and my backup meter is always within just a few mg/dL of my primary meter unless I didn't get a good fill on the strip on the primary. Some companies will give you a free meter if you fill out a form on their website.

I'm not sure your vet understands dosing of lantus. I think you did need to get some insulin in him at those high numbers but if you delay his shot tomorrow by 5-1/2 hours, then you are going to make his numbers really wonky. A stalled shot is like a dose reduction so you skipped this morning (which is fine all things considered), then you increased his dose when you shot at 4 pm, and then the late shot tomorrow will be like decreasing his dose. The best scenario, albeit a little difficult, is to shoot 12 hours from when you shot this afternoon and move your shot forward (from 4 to 9:30) each cycle by 15 mins or once a day by 30 until you get to 9:30.....or if you select another time in between, you could move him forward until that time.

I also don't think increasing by .5u is a good idea. He was obviously in a hard bounce 1/4-1/6 which tells me he perhaps went a little lower than he's used to one evening when you didn't test. He's, of course, going up now because he was down this morning and then had a skipped shot.

On your SS, I'd show in the "PMPS" column for tonight that you shot 1.5u at +18.5 (if you shot at 9:30 last night then add the 12 hours to 9:30 this morning and then another 6.5 hours to 4 pm today). That lets us know at a glance that you shot really early.

I know this is difficult and especially when we suggest one thing and your vet another. However, we do this all the time. Sometimes I feel I do it in my sleep ;-) :-D :-D Until you get used to it and feel more comfortable, you will be constantly frustrated with trying to figure
out whether to do what he says or what we suggest. All I can tell you is our protocol is based on scientific research published in a veterinary journal. Hundreds and hundreds of cats (it's probably even more than that) have followed this protocol successfully because we aren't the only
forum that uses it (e.g. German Katzen forum). We have extremely experienced members who have done this for over six years and their knowledge of FD and its treatment is pretty amazing.

We're here to help you and there is usually someone on most of the time. We're glad you and Gobbles are here. :-D
 
One other thing: when you do get a chance, could you please do a Profile for Gobbles please? It gives us great info about him and we can quickly and easily access it when it's in your signature block like his SS. Please let me know if you have any questions on the instructions. Thank you!!

And here's the link to Gobbles 1/6 Condo
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Ok great.. shame about the relion test, but typical again that the trueresult is reading low!

It will be interesting to see how he does on 1.5IU. He probably needed an increase anyway although this forum would have likely recommended 1/4IU increase instead of 1/2IU. But with testing you will find out if its too much..

Can you update the SS with the 1.5IU at PMPS (the cell to the left of the n/a) since you did give him 1.5iu? That way we can start counting his cycles from this shot.

Are you going to do any tests tonite? It might be an idea to test at +6 at least... my concern is he has dropped to 69 before on 1IU so we dont want any surprises.
Re: SS update--is that right?
 
Marje and Gracie said:
I'd like to strongly reiterate: pick a meter and stick with it. You will drive yourself crazy if you keep comparing meters. Ann is correct....if you retest on the same meter immediately, you'll can get a really different number. The best thing to do is to pick the meter you like and then get a backup meter that is the same brand so if you need to retest, you are using the same type of meter. I have had to do that on occasion and my backup meter is always within just a few mg/dL of my primary meter unless I didn't get a good fill on the strip on the primary. Some companies will give you a free meter if you fill out a form on their website.

I'm not sure your vet understands dosing of lantus. I think you did need to get some insulin in him at those high numbers but if you delay his shot tomorrow by 5-1/2 hours, then you are going to make his numbers really wonky. A stalled shot is like a dose reduction so you skipped this morning (which is fine all things considered), then you increased his dose when you shot at 4 pm, and then the late shot tomorrow will be like decreasing his dose. The best scenario, albeit a little difficult, is to shoot 12 hours from when you shot this afternoon and move your shot forward (from 4 to 9:30) each cycle by 15 mins or once a day by 30 until you get to 9:30.....or if you select another time in between, you could move him forward until that time.

I also don't think increasing by .5u is a good idea. He was obviously in a hard bounce 1/4-1/6 which tells me he perhaps went a little lower than he's used to one evening when you didn't test. He's, of course, going up now because he was down this morning and then had a skipped shot.

On your SS, I'd show in the "PMPS" column for tonight that you shot 1.5u at +18.5 (if you shot at 9:30 last night then add the 12 hours to 9:30 this morning and then another 6.5 hours to 4 pm today). That lets us know at a glance that you shot really early.

I know this is difficult and especially when we suggest one thing and your vet another. However, we do this all the time. Sometimes I feel I do it in my sleep ;-) :-D :-D Until you get used to it and feel more comfortable, you will be constantly frustrated with trying to figure
out whether to do what he says or what we suggest. All I can tell you is our protocol is based on scientific research published in a veterinary journal. Hundreds and hundreds of cats (it's probably even more than that) have followed this protocol successfully because we aren't the only
forum that uses it (e.g. German Katzen forum). We have extremely experienced members who have done this for over six years and their knowledge of FD and its treatment is pretty amazing.

We're here to help you and there is usually someone on most of the time. We're glad you and Gobbles are here. :-D
He got 1.5 U of Lantus today at 4:00 pm, which was 6 hours late since I didn't give him his A.M. shot and he will get his next shot at 9:30 A.M. tomorrow morning (which will be 17.5 hours since that time, if I'm computing it right) as the vet thought that would be better since of the dose increase....???? Thanks for caring, everyone!!! Getting the shot late threw me for a loop, due to (lower than usual) number AMPS...
 
TheBowHuntress said:
He got 1.5 U of Lantus today at 4:00 pm, which was 6 hours late since I didn't give him his A.M. shot and he will get his next shot at 9:30 A.M. tomorrow morning (which will be 17.5 hours since that time, if I'm computing it right) as the vet thought that would be better since of the dose increase....????

No...that isn't better as explained in my last post. It doesn't make sense to give an increase and then shoot so late for it to result in the same effect as a decrease.

I'm sorry if I missed it but do you mind sharing your name so we can address you more personally? thanks!
 
QUICK QUESTION: How many carbs in a can of FF Mornings Medley with wild salmon, green veggies and egg, in sauce? I found a can in the back of my pantry and was wondering if it is good for a hypo situation?
 
Hi...I haven't stopped by your condo yet - welcome to LL!

Here's a fabulous food chart put together by Dr Lisa...it's our go-to for choosing food. I'm not sure if that FF flavor is on it or not, but just about everything else definitely is!

Dr Lisa's Latest Food Chart

Again, welcome!

Amy
 
Marje and Gracie said:
TheBowHuntress said:
He got 1.5 U of Lantus today at 4:00 pm, which was 6 hours late since I didn't give him his A.M. shot and he will get his next shot at 9:30 A.M. tomorrow morning (which will be 17.5 hours since that time, if I'm computing it right) as the vet thought that would be better since of the dose increase....????

No...that isn't better as explained in my last post. It doesn't make sense to give an increase and then shoot so late for it to result in the same effect as a decrease.

I'm sorry if I missed it but do you mind sharing your name so we can address you more personally? thanks!
I am trying to keep up with these posts and make dinner...lol...my name is KAT and I will look at all posts after dinner :)
 
Kat:

You don't need to quote an entire post. You can cut and paste what you want to respond to and put it between the "quote" code. That's what the 'Quote" button above the text box is for.

Lantus dosing is based on nadir. If your lowest numbers are below 200, you increase the dose by 0.25u. From the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky:
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

With the way Gobbles is bouncing, you're seeing high numbers after a number in the 100s. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.
 
Don't worry, Kat. It's a lot to learn, and you're doing fine. You'll get the hang of it. Hang in there :YMHUG: .
 
Amy&TrixieCat said:
Hi...I haven't stopped by your condo yet - welcome to LL!

Here's a fabulous food chart put together by Dr Lisa...it's our go-to for choosing food. I'm not sure if that FF flavor is on it or not, but just about everything else definitely is!

Dr Lisa's Latest Food Chart

Again, welcome!

Amy
Thanks & nice to meet ya! I have that food chart -- the one dated for Sept. 2012! I made a list of the under 7% food Gobbles can have (only the brands I buy) and put the carb # in parenthesis and keep it in my purse. When I get home, I take a Sharpie (someone here recommended that) and write on each top of can the % :) There is also a food list somewhere on this website, but I don't remember where it was...might be Binky's
 
this one?

updated shopping list less than 10% (dr lisa's new values)
by rhiannon and shadow » Mon Oct 22, 2012 1:45 pm

rhiannon and shadow said:
carbs in % . . phosphorus ( FKD cats need under 250)
4% - fancy feast CLASSICS chicken feast- 546 - stay away from any that are not classics
4%- fancy feast chopped grilled feast pate -569
2%- fancy feast cod, sole & shrimp feast pate – 787
4%- fancy feast Ocean Whitefish and tuna pate 823
1% -fancy feast Savory Salmon feast pate – 369
5%-fancy feast Tender beef feast pate -637
5%-fancy feast Tender beef and chicken feast pate -502
5% - fancy feast Tender beef and liver feast pate – 525
4% -fancy feast Tender liver and chicken feast pate -598
3%- fancy feast Turkey & giblets feast pate – 355

8% - Friskies flaked with tuna and egg 415
9% - Friskies Poultry platter – 438
5% - Friskies Special diet Turkey and Giblets dinner pate 189
5% - Friskies Special diet Beef and Chicken Entree pate 242

5% - Merrick Cowboy cookout 202
8% - Merrick Grammy's pot pie 237
3% - Merrick Surf n Turf 229
4% -Merrick Southern delight -328 this one has crawfish in it.
8% -Merrick Ocean Breeze 420
9% -Merrick Turducken 219

1%- Merrick Before Grain cat 96% beef – 163
2% - Merrick Before Grain cat 96% chicken – 341
2%- Merrick Before Grain cat 96% turkey – 178
2%-Merrick Before Grain cat 96% quail and chicken – 506
2%- Merrick Before Grain cat 96% salmon 439
2% Merrick Before Grain cat 96% tuna 450

4% - Wellness chicken 219
4% - Wellness turkey 201
5% - Wellness turkey and salmon 299
4% - Wellness Beef and chicken 226
6% - Wellness chicken & herring 303
6% - Wellness beef & salmon 207

8% - Wellness Core chicken/turkey/chicken liver 215
5% - Wellness Core Turkey & Duck 265
5% - Wellness Core Beef , Venison & Lamb 171

0% - TikiCat Koolina Luau 421 ( chicken with egg)

3% - Nature's variety Instinct Grain free Chicken – 302
3% - Nature's Variety Instinct Grain free Beef – 248
2% - Nature's Variety Instinct Grain free Lamb 262
1% - Nature's Variety Instinct Grain free Duck 191
0% - Nature's Variety Instinct Grain free Venison 330
? - Nature's Variety Instinct Grain free Rabbit ?

0% - Natura Evo chicken and turkey 155
5% - Natura Evo 95% duck 251
6% - Natura Evo 95% venison – 416
4% - Natura Evo 95% beef – 234

8% Holistic Select chicken & lamb 222
8% Holistic Select Salmon & shrimp 264

6% Nutro Natural Choice Mature Health Chicken & Turkey Formula chunks in gravy 204

8% Soulistic Shrimply Divine 270
4% Soulistic Double Happiness 262
3% Soulistic Polynesian Picnic 239
4% Soulistic Celestial Feast 250
7% Soulistic Upstream Dream 234
9% Soulistic Surf n Earth 255
8% Soulistic Nautical Nirvana 228

2% Purina One chicken pate 438
3% Purina One Turkey pate 469
5% Purina One Beef pate 530
2% Purina One Whitefish pate 734

9% ProPlan Turkey and Giblets 382
4% ProPlan Chicken & Liver entree 509
5% ProPlan Chunky Chicken Entree 639

9% Max Cat Chicken Supreme 173
8% Max Cat with savory duck 197
8% Max Cat with Savory Venison 214

8% Avoderm Chicken Chunks/gravy (??) 234
0% Avoderm Salmon in consumme 469
1% Avoderm Swordfish in consumme 271
0% Avoderm Tuna & Prawns 278
2% Avoderm Tuna % chicken w/ veggies 241

6% Artemis Chicken 320
4% Artemis Turkey & giblets 409

5% Halo Spot's Pate Whitefish 466 my cat does not like Halo.
4% Halo spot's Pate Chicken 303
9% Halo Succulent Salmon 227

1% Eukanuba kitten entree with gourmet chicken 253
1% Eukanuba adult with gourmet chicken 239

7% Evolve -chicken 214
6% Evolve turkey 244
6% Evolve seafood 265

4% Natural Balance Catatouille (stew) 274
0% Natural Balance O'Fischally Scampi 244
2% Natural Balance Sea Brulee 297

5% Pinnacle Chicken and Ocean fish 175
5% Pinnacle Chicken and Tuna 221
4% Pinnacle Ocean Fish 231
 
The food chart says the FF Souffle of Salmon/Egg/Greens is 21%. So, that would work as a HC food.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
With the way Gobbles is bouncing, you're seeing high numbers after a number in the 100s. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.
Thanks...okay...my mind is spinning here. Can you take a look at Gobbles' SS. When I fattened the 1.0 dose, it looked 1.25 to me on the syringe. I am going to update his numbers from test I just took (which is 3.5 hours after his 4:00 p.m.1.50 U. dose) but I am at a loss as to where/how to mention the differences. This is what I just got for his BG: ReliOn : "HI" (????) so I took another sample and got 429...just for the heck of it, from the same second sample, I used a TrueResult and got 213. Earlier today AMPS, I got these numbers from the ReliOn, consecutively: 177, 189 @10 a.m. (withheld his shot) and so then it would of been +14 (I know) 12:00 Noon ReliOn, consecutively +2: 51, 382, 364 -- so I took readings from the TrueResult (to compare to the 51, 382, 364) and got 192, 201. I am getting quite a bit flustered with these flippin' glucometers...
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
this one?

updated shopping list less than 10% (dr lisa's new values)
by rhiannon and shadow » Mon Oct 22, 2012 1:45 pm
what are the three digit numbers at end of each for?
 
please please please please please pick a meter and stick with it! Either one, we'll work with it, but only one.

If you keep doing 2-5 tests every time, you will drive yourself crazy sooner rather than later, I promise. Not only that, but you will go broke paying for all those strips!

THAT is why your head is spinning. That is also probably why people are not able to help. My head is spinning too.

If you have been using Relion mostly, then I think this is what you have today:

+12 ~ 177
+14 ~ 382
+17 ~ 419 (at vet)

PS was at +18 ~ shot 1.5u (did you test before shooting?)
+3.5 ~ HI/429

See how much more clear that is?

I think the only thing to pay attention to is whether, when you get those numbers that seem out of whack on the Relion, is there anything different about those tests? Sometimes too much blood or too little blood can make the numbers wonky, or sometimes the strip will sip extra slowly for some reason and those tests don't seem as accurate. The 51 was for sure a bad test.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
I think the only thing to pay attention to is whether, when you get those numbers that seem out of whack on the Relion, is there anything different about those tests? Sometimes too much blood or too little blood can make the numbers wonky, or sometimes the strip will sip extra slowly for some reason and those tests don't seem as accurate. The 51 was for sure a bad test.
I see...never thought of that...I am going to stick to the Reli-On, however, I am down to 2 Reli-On strips (will buy more at Walmart tomorrow afternoon) but I have at least 20 strips for the TrueResult...I plan on testing him more than twice between now and getting the Reli-On strips, so I am thinking that I should just use the TrueResult until I get back from Walmart? If I get a low, low reading, I can then use one of the remaining Reli-On strips. On another note, I was told that the TrueResult is okay with low numbers, but loses accuracy/reads low on BG of 200 & over...???
 
Asides from our tests that you did showing the discrepancy at higher numbers, and the vets reading which confirmed that, and that article we found which also said the discrepancy , do a search on this forum... A lot of people here don't trust the trueresult but at the end of the day it's up to you..

I think there is enough doubt on it to put the trueresult away and not use it. You will always be questioning it and a lot of people here use the relion to be confident it's a good meter.

Fyi I have a bayer contour which I trust. I also have a freestyle lite which has the same issues as the trueresult. I still have some strips for it which I keep for emergencies.. Because if its middle of the night and I think one of my cats is having a hypo, I know I can trust it at least at low numbers. But for day to day and the rest of the time I use the contour,
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Asides from our tests that you did showing the discrepancy at higher numbers, and the vets reading which confirmed that, and that article we found which also said the discrepancy , do a search on this forum... A lot of people here don't trust the trueresult but at the end of the day it's up to you.. I think there is enough doubt on it to put the trueresult away and not use it. You will always be questioning it and a lot of people here use the relion to be confident it's a good meter.
I know the trueresult is basically very unreliable and I did go out and purchase a Reli-On & strips last week and then accidentally dumped the bulk of what I had left in the sink this AM. Then had to take extra tests. Now, I have just 2 Reli-On strips left and cannot in any way get to Walmart until tomorrow p.m. I plan on doing more than 2 tests between now & when I get back from walmart and that is why it seems I am choiceless to have to use the TrueResult until I got those strips (and keep the 2 remaining relion strips if i get a low reading on the trueresult this evening/tomorrow morning)...
 
I think that sounds like a smart idea, Kat ;-) Add in your Remarks the tests that were done using the TrueResult.
 
kat, nice to meet you! i've been reading through your thread and it's made me dizzy! :lol:

you don't know me from adam, but i have quite a bit of experience with lantus and levemir and have been around here since 2006. i'd like to make this easy and as uncomplicated as possible because you've had so much thrown at you today, so just a few comments...

1. the shooting schedule your vet recommended for tomorrow is fine. you know we like to shoot every 12 hours, but sometimes it just doesn't work out that way when real life gets involved. we do the best we can. it'll probably throw gobbles' numbers off for a few days, but stuff happens. please do make sure you test often since the dose was increased by a half unit rather than the usual quarter unit we normally suggest, ok?

2. fyi: since you were able to monitor today there wasn't any reason why you shouldn't have shot on time... as sienne posted further up the thread.
Sienne and Gabby said:
We use 150 as the "Post and ask what to do" number (whereas on Health, they use 200). If you're going to be home and can do a bit of monitoring, it would be fine to shoot.

In case you should need it, do you have high carb food and strips?
i'm very sorry you were told otherwise. this is an open board where anyone can offer advice or opinions. it's difficult for someone new to the group to know which voices are backed by more experience than others.

3. in november 2012 Consumer Reports rated the TrueResult 9th in their rankings. our webmaster posted the link: http://felinediabetes.com/glucometersNov12.pdf.

yes, some FDMB members have had some problems with any meters with the word "true" in their name, BUT over the last few years manufacturers of meters/strips have been making improvements to their blood glucose reading systems by changing the methodologies used to measure glucose in blood. personally, i have more faith in Consumer Reports findings than that of a handful of caregivers on the FDMB.

use the strips you have until you can get more strips for the relion... if that's the meter you want to use. like others have said, pick a meter and stick with it or you'll drive yourself crazy!

4. breathe. this doesn't have to be so hard. you're doing great! make sure you get a before bed test every night so you have an idea where gobbles is at and if you have to plan on a little more testing that night.



just my thoughts...
 
RE: Gobbles' insulin increase: If you look at his SS, you will note that I "fattened" it starting on 1/2 PM ending on 1/6 PM...so he got 9 shots that were "fattened". For the life on me, these increases brought his dose up to 1.25. Now keep in mind I'm a newbie, so yes, by the way I look at the needle, his increase was about .25 I'm sure most would agree that it is extremely to gauge .25 increases. Yesterday he was increased to 1.5, which I CAN gauge on the needle. And i know to "increase slowly"....I am doing my BEST with him....and keep hearing about the dose increase SO just count my 1.0f as .25 increase because THAT is what it was, okay?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top