1/7 Elmo AMBG 108, +3 73, +11 128. PMBG 106...no shoot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth 73

Member Since 2016
Good morning....Test/Feed/shoot or no in 45 minutes...will post PS then to see if he goes up ...thank you in advance for your help / advice :):bighug:
 
Well, Elmo isn't making this easy.

With TR, the goal is to shoot low to stay low. Most of us veterans who have followed TR would shoot any number above 50. Given that Elmo hasn't seen any green pre-shot numbers, I can understand if you'd be nervous shooting low numbers. Right now, it looks like Elmo has been sitting in normal numbers. However, there seems to be a larger than expected difference between your AlphaTrack numbers and human meter numbers. (At normal range numbers, there's around a 30 point difference between AT and human meters.)

I actually can't believe I'm going to say this but it may be worth doing some comparison tests between your AT meter and your human meter to see if there's still a difference that we can attribute to the meter. At one point, the Freestyle meters were giving abnormally low readings due to a difference in the strip technology. This may have been corrected (since it was a while ago). Another option may be to pick up another meter. Many people here use Walmart's Relion brand meter. The strips are among the least expensive available.
 
Well, Elmo isn't making this easy.

With TR, the goal is to shoot low to stay low. Most of us veterans who have followed TR would shoot any number above 50. Given that Elmo hasn't seen any green pre-shot numbers, I can understand if you'd be nervous shooting low numbers. Right now, it looks like Elmo has been sitting in normal numbers. However, there seems to be a larger than expected difference between your AlphaTrack numbers and human meter numbers. (At normal range numbers, there's around a 30 point difference between AT and human meters.)

I actually can't believe I'm going to say this but it may be worth doing some comparison tests between your AT meter and your human meter to see if there's still a difference that we can attribute to the meter. At one point, the Freestyle meters were giving abnormally low readings due to a difference in the strip technology. This may have been corrected (since it was a while ago). Another option may be to pick up another meter. Many people here use Walmart's Relion brand meter. The strips are among the least expensive available.
I will take the AMPS with both meters here in a few minutes and post both as such ...worth a try
 
His last dose of vetsulin was Wednesday morning 1/4 and we skipped the evening dose ..we were to start Lantus Thursday morning but were advised to hold off ...so he has had no insulin since vetsulin Wednesday morning ( .25 minus one drop dose )
 
I do think there's something "off" with the difference between the two meters. Generally, it would take 5 - 7 days to see a response to Lantus but you've not been giving any insulin since the "switch" to Lantus, it's not a reflection of the change to a different insulin. My concern is that the lower numbers are due to the meter, especially since the AT numbers are so much higher. The difference between an AT and human meter can be greater at higher numbers but seeing this much of a disparity is unusual at this range.

I agree with your observation that the AT number you're seeing is consistent with all of the other data you've collected. While it's possible that it's the AT meter that's "off," there's no way to know for sure. Would it be completely out of the question for you to pick up a new human meter? It may be helpful to have a "tie breaker" so you know which numbers are trustworthy.


 
I do think there's something "off" with the difference between the two meters. Generally, it would take 5 - 7 days to see a response to Lantus but you've not been giving any insulin since the "switch" to Lantus, it's not a reflection of the change to a different insulin. My concern is that the lower numbers are due to the meter, especially since the AT numbers are so much higher. The difference between an AT and human meter can be greater at higher numbers but seeing this much of a disparity is unusual at this range.

I agree with your observation that the AT number you're seeing is consistent with all of the other data you've collected. While it's possible that it's the AT meter that's "off," there's no way to know for sure. Would it be completely out of the question for you to pick up a new human meter? It may be helpful to have a "tie breaker" so you know which numbers are trustworthy.

No, I will definitely go get a Relion as soon as store opens....glad to do that as will answer any questions and add to my peace of mind .....should I go ahead and skip and feed for this morning til I get the meter in a few hours ????
 
This is another one of those, "I can't believe I'm saying this..." statements -- I'd skip. (I pretty much never tell people to skip.) I'm concerned that if the FS is the accurate meter, you might need to stay home to monitor if you shoot.
 
Last edited:
This is another one of those, "I can't believe I'm saying this..." statements -- I'd skip. (I pretty number never tell people to skip.) I'm concerned that if the FS is the accurate meter, you might need to stay home to monitor if you shoot.
Thank you ...other than Sunday's , I am here all the time ....I think getting the Relion is a good idea so will do that later...better to compare human to human meter ....and while I do not like hypo numbers I have unfortunately had to deal with several on vetsulin so we are prepared and experienced in that area ...again, thank you !
 
Are you using AT strips in the AT meter? I know some folk use FS strips in the AT meter.

I agree with Sienne that the difference seems 'off' , I used a Free Style lite for a while and it compared well with the Vets lab readings. Perhaps there's a problem with calibration with one of the meters.
 
Are you using AT strips in the AT meter? I know some folk use FS strips in the AT meter.

I agree with Sienne that the difference seems 'off' , I used a Free Style lite for a while and it compared well with the Vets lab readings. Perhaps there's a problem with calibration with one of the meters.
Yes, used FS Strip in FS and AT strip in AT....going to go get a backup Relion later today ...that will give additional peace of mind
 
Also at last visit to new vet( almost 2 weeks ago) he suggested trial OTJ and to get a Relion meter( I had already purchased the FS Freedom Lite)..he felt Elmo's AT numbers warranted a trial OTJ while I wanted to go ahead with Lantus to give more healing time ....I did not discuss my plan to not do a trial OTJ....some things are best left not discussed;)
 
Got the Relion Confirm and strips at our little local WM ( you were right on, Dyana:))... will use the FS and Relion at next BG. Am curious but don't want to disturb his napping in the sunshine so will test when he wakes up.:cat:
 
This is another one of those, "I can't believe I'm saying this..." statements -- I'd skip. (I pretty much never tell people to skip.) I'm concerned that if the FS is the accurate meter, you might need to stay home to monitor if you shoot.
Hello Sienne...purchased the Relion and just did a side by side with my FS...Relion 84...FS 81...so mystery solved...I am glad you suggested to do this ...I'm happy to have a human meter backup.....
 
I would call this OTJ Trial Day 3 :) Congratulations and hope it continues.
Thank u, Karen....going to need ur eyes on his + 11 and PMPS.....I feel like such a newbie, needing my hand held :rolleyes:. Would be so bewildered if not for this wonderful board full of loving, knowledgeable kitty lovers. :bighug::bighug:
 
Elmo +11 128.... may be influenced by 1 1/2 snack given at 4:30 ??.....will be checking PMPS in one hour ...
 
Elmo +11 128.... may be influenced by 1 1/2 snack given at 4:30 ??.....will be checking PMPS in one hour ...
Could be and unless he sky rockets I wouldn't be in a rush to start insulin with these numbers. Keep checking around +3 or +4 after "no shot time" to see if food brings him to green like it has been. I'll likely be in the middle of meds/ TFS during your next test.
 
Could be and unless he sky rockets I wouldn't be in a rush to start insulin with these numbers. Keep checking around +3 or +4 after "no shot time" to see if food brings him to green like it has been. I'll likely be in the middle of meds/ TFS during your next test.
Thank u, Karen...so you are saying no shoot unless he goes way up at +12 ??? Good to have this input now ....this is all very interesting.. we were (and are) all ready with Lantus , syringes, human meter, all stickies read and notes taken...what an adventure and dance Elmo is taking us on :bighug::cat:. Again, thank u for checking on us and your advice:bighug::):cat:
 
Meant 1 1/2 t snack at + 9.5 .....would that influence +11BG ???
It's very possible. With his numbers the last few days I won't be one who is comfortable suggesting you start insulin unless his numbers trend upward for more than a few days. So far so good and remember there is also meter variance allowed upto 20% on any meter you use.

ETA: Someone else might be comfortable with you shooting but it won't be me :)

I would erase some of the stuff in your title. Just put the AMBG 108 +3 73 +11 128 PMBG x - Dose Advise? or something like that.
 
It's very possible. With his numbers the last few days I won't be one who is comfortable suggesting you start insulin unless his numbers trend upward for more than a few days. So far so good and remember there is also meter variance allowed upto 20% on any meter you use.

ETA: Someone else might be comfortable with you shooting but it won't be me :)

I would erase some of the stuff in your title. Just put the AMBG 108 +3 73 +11 128 PMBG x - Dose Advise? or something like that.
Thank u, will do :)
 
And I am definitely not comfortable giving it for first time on a PM cycle...I agree with your opinion...thank u for sharing it...
 
Taking PMPS BG in 30 minutes...he ate a +9.5 snack which might have influenced the +11....this is day 3 no insulin ..shoot or no shoot..not very comfy giving Lantus for first time on pm cycle
 
The difference between the FS and Walmart meter is really the same number (81 vs 84) - in fact, remarkably similar. Several of us (@MrWorfMen's Mom) (@jayla-n-Drevon ) and others have used FS and AT, and even some anecdotal comparison with FS and Relion. The FS meters are comparable with Relion (or other human meters I guess). For those who have actually done the comparisons between human meters (mostly Relion) and AT2, the difference between the two can be considerable (well 0ver 100 points) in the higher (yellows and higher) ranges, but also into the blues and greens as well, to a lesser extent (maybe the greens and low blues is where you might see a 30 point difference). For some reason, meters appear to be a very sensitive topic on this board, but I wanted to clear up any misunderstanding about FS reading lower than other human meters - this is not the case.
 
The difference between the FS and Walmart meter is really the same number (81 vs 84) - in fact, remarkably similar. Several of us (@MrWorfMen's Mom) (@jayla-n-Drevon ) and others have used FS and AT, and even some anecdotal comparison with FS and Relion. The FS meters are comparable with Relion (or other human meters I guess). For those who have actually done the comparisons between human meters (mostly Relion) and AT2, the difference between the two can be considerable (well 0ver 100 points) in the higher (yellows and higher) ranges, but also into the blues and greens as well, to a lesser extent (maybe the greens and low blues is where you might see a 30 point difference). For some reason, meters appear to be a very sensitive topic on this board, but I wanted to clear up any misunderstanding about FS reading lower than other human meters - this is not the case.
Thanks, Carol...I'm glad to have gotten a Relion today..good back up human meter..the FS is comfy to me after the AT in hold and function but liked the relion when used it today too. Good to know FS is reading correctly and good to have the Relion as backup. As I've said , thos dog gone AT strips have really gotten into my "she " money...cost is insane
 
Yes it was and yes we did :rolleyes:.....this is crazy ...how is Elmo's little bro ??:bighug::):bighug::):bighug::cat:
Yayaya! Elmo and Beth! I'm praying and rooting for you guys to be OTJ!!! Fingers/Paws crossed. This is amazing and so exciting for you guys! We are over here rooting for you both!

Keep it up Elmo!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top