1/7 Duriel AMPS 398,+8 364, +10.5 338

Status
Not open for further replies.

Durielle

Member Since 2012
Relieved she has not gone hypo like on Jan 3,4,5. Now just worried about her high 300's and 400's. I will give it time, and keep testing... could it be that she sometimes needs .5, and other times .25?
 
Re: 1/7 Duriel AMPS 398,+8 364

Hello there, nice to meet you and this is the first time I think I have visited your condo. What a great name for a cat - very unusual - how did you choose it?

So to answer your question... Nope. the key to Lantus is consistency. 0.5IU was too much for her and she went low. You caught it, and reduced the dose which is perfect!

Now give this new dose some time to settle in and the bounce to clear... Currently she is probably still reacting to the hypo - her liver is panicky and causing her BG to stay high. So by waiting she should come down naturally .. this can take 48 hours.

We usually wait 6-10 cycles depending on the BG levels before making a change for this reason.. so wait it out and dont worry.. lets see what happens tonite and tomorrow.... (Link to protocol : http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581).


Wendy
 
Re: 1/7 Duriel AMPS 398,+8 364

Welcome to Lantus Land. I didn't get a chance to welcome you and Duriel yesterday. What is your name please? :-D

We ask that members provide a link to the previous day's condo in the current day's condo. Here is Duriel's 1/6 Condo. Also, we like to have a Profile for your kitty linked in your signature block. It gives us quick access to important info that we need to know about Duriel which will help us help you. Thank you :-D

When a kitty is first diagnosed, the BG has probably been high for a bit and the liver has acclimated to that high number. Once the insulin starts to work and numbers come down, the liver still is acclimated to higher numbers and reads those lower numbers as the need to protect the body. Numbers don't have to be extremely low....as you think Duriel's might have been....but lower than what it is used to or if the BG takes a fast drop. Both of these actions can cause the liver to release counterregulatory hormones which cause a rise in the BG. We call this "Liver Training School" as the liver has to "retrain" itself to get used to new, lower numbers. We call this rise in the BG based on the release of hormones from the liver a "bounce". Bounces can take up to 72 hours (and some times longer) to clear. When a cat is bouncing, you aren't able to see what their true nadir looks like so you have to ignore the bounce numbers and allow it to clear and see where the nadir falls. If it's green....perfect! If it's not, an increase is probably necessary.

What is extremely important is that you not be tempted to dose on the pre shot number. We dose primarily on the nadir with only some consideration given to the preshot. So you just want to hold the dose steady until the bounce clears and then we can reevaluate and see if the dose needs to go up or down.

We generally (there are a few exceptions but Duriel isn't one right now) don't do sliding scale dosing with the long term insulins like levemir and lantus. Lantus likes dosing consistency so just hold this dose until she clears the bounce.

We're here to help so don't be shy about asking questions.
 
Wow, thanks for the great info! I'll just keep watching how the scores go over the next while. It's nice to know that she (so far) only needs .25u.

I will follow-up on completing her profile, so her basic stats can be know. My name is Jorge. It's great to have your advice and support, and it's nice to meet y'all too!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top