1/7 Bubba,+3-196,+4-195,+7-214,+11-207,PMPS 207,+3-229, +4.25-269

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nice start for Bubba. I hope you get a blue/green surf today. Do you put Neosporin with pain relief on his ears after you test?
I put Neosporin with pain relief and sometimes I use aloe vera sunburn gel for it's healing ability and the numbing from the lidocaine. Even still his poor little ears......
 
I used to use one ear for about 5 to 7 days and then switch to the other ear. Do you switch ears?
I alternate with each poke or two. For the longest time he would NOT let me poke his right ear for some reason but now I can. Go figure. If you enlarge his Profile picture, you can see his left ear is very red :blackeye:
 
+3 and barely blue.......hope he'll turn and go back towards the blue but, I did expect him to bounce and he did come back to the blues after the yellows last night.......I need to get out the patience pants.
 
+3 and barely blue.......hope he'll turn and go back towards the blue but, I did expect him to bounce and he did come back to the blues after the yellows last night.......I need to get out the patience pants.
Being a late nadir kitty when do you see onset with him??( I seem to remember you/ or someone saying that, ignore me if I have Bubba muddled with another kitty) Is it not later? If so he probably will be heading back down:) Looks like he cleared the yellows pretty sharpish, hope he continues to head down for a surf later.:cool::cool::cool:
 
Being a late nadir kitty when do you see onset with him??( I seem to remember you/ or someone saying that, ignore me if I have Bubba muddled with another kitty) Is it not later? If so he probably will be heading back down:) Looks like he cleared the yellows pretty sharpish, hope he continues to head down for a surf later.:cool::cool::cool:
His nadir has been at the beginning of the cycles or +1 and +12 and sometimes around +9-10. Although yesterday, he had the onset at +3 and went down from there so, I don't know whether he is changing up his nadir pattern to be more the norm. Guess we shall see in a couple of cycles. He and George have had their share of pokes the last few days. :blackeye: All for a good cause.
 
His nadir has been at the beginning of the cycles or +1 and +12 and sometimes around +9-10. Although yesterday, he had the onset at +3 and went down from there so, I don't know whether he is changing up his nadir pattern to be more the norm. Guess we shall see in a couple of cycles.

I guess it's his job to keep you guessing, I have been scratching my brains with BFG at first he seemed to be 'normal' but now he can nadir anywhere between +2 or +12:confused::confused: makes planning tricky, though usually there are clues in the previous cycle as to what he might be doing (except for when he throws a curve ball of course:rolleyes:)

. He and George have had their share of pokes the last few days. :blackeye: All for a good cause.
I know poor poppets, seems that Bubba is very tolerant though (as is George) and nurse Forest seems to be giving him some TLC.
 
I wonder if he is double dipping when you see a nadir at +12. Max doesn't seem to have done it but others have.

I just took a look at the ss and although lower, the later numbers are within the meter variance so essentially likely the same.
 
I wonder if he is double dipping when you see a nadir at +12. Max doesn't seem to have done it but others have.

I just took a look at the ss and although lower, the later numbers are within the meter variance so essentially likely the same.
When you say double dipping is that like carry-over? If you look back at before he started on Lantus (prior to Dec.1) it is real evident that his nadir was at the end ( of course real evident in hind-sight, LOL)
 
Looks like Bubba is "resting" today, or at least the first part of the cycle. Hope that means the bean got a nap.

@tiffmaxee - some cats have a late onset and a later nadir on Lantus. When Neko was on Lantus, I typically got a +4 where most people get a +2. And her nadir was also in the back half of the cycle, up to as late as +13. The low of the double dip at the end of the cycle doesn't go as low as the low of the main cycle. Bubba seems to take his time getting going in the cycle too. :)
 
Looks like Bubba is "resting" today, or at least the first part of the cycle. Hope that means the bean got a nap.

@tiffmaxee - some cats have a late onset and a later nadir on Lantus. When Neko was on Lantus, I typically got a +4 where most people get a +2. And her nadir was also in the back half of the cycle, up to as late as +13. The low of the double dip at the end of the cycle doesn't go as low as the low of the main cycle. Bubba seems to take his time getting going in the cycle too. :)
Momma bean went BTB for a couple of hours and feeling a bit sluggish today. Almost like after a marathon let down. Bubba is doing what he likes best, eating and sleeping. It will be interesting to see what his +11 and PMPS gives me. He is getting a bit of a pokey break today.

How long does it take to know if the reduction failed? Am I correct in thinking that the bounce cleared since he came back down this AM? I am having a bit of trouble understanding the double dip thing.
 
Not sure if it will help but this is the description/example taken from the New to the group sticky

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus cycle:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar or lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
A double dip is when a cat has a normal downwards cycle (harder to see in a later nadir cats, easier to see if you don't let the preshots constrain your vision), then has a smaller dip after that, but not as low as the first cycle.

We know the reduction has failed if they don't get back to green when the bounce has cleared. Their numbers can bobble around a bit during the bounce. Do you have an idea how long it usually takes Bubba to get over his bounces? When Bubba had a green on the AM of the 4th, it was the 5th cycle after that when he returned to the greens. Given how long he was green yesterday and that he was lower than the previous time in green, I'd expect he'd easily take that long before really ditching this bounce. But that's just one data point.
 
Do you have an idea how long it usually takes Bubba to get over his bounces?
It's hard for me to know exactly as he had been sooooo flat for so long and this going into blues and greens is such a new thing. Guess I need to give it a good 5-6 cycles to see. Fingers and paws crossed.....
 
Not sure if it will help but this is the description/example taken from the New to the group sticky

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus cycle:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar or lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
It will be nice if he ever gets that predicable. But, I am not holding my breath, LOL.
 
I see a nice flat +11. I think we'll know by morning if this dose has a chance of holding. He's flat and only low 200s, which is pretty darn good for a bounce but I know you want the blue/green back (so do I).

Even if the reduction doesn't hold, it's no big deal. I know you've said you looked at Lucy's spreadsheet. She had a couple of false starts but eventually learned to hold reductions. Most cats don't get it right the first time, though of course some do.
 
I see a nice flat +11. I think we'll know by morning if this dose has a chance of holding. He's flat and only low 200s, which is pretty darn good for a bounce but I know you want the blue/green back (so do I).

Even if the reduction doesn't hold, it's no big deal. I know you've said you looked at Lucy's spreadsheet. She had a couple of false starts but eventually learned to hold reductions. Most cats don't get it right the first time, though of course some do.
I am surprised also that it is only low 200's. If he is still in 200's by AM do I take him back up to 5units?
 
Bobbie - I just want to say that you have done such an excellent job with Bubba. Last night, I stayed up to 2am reading your journey since the beginning of December. I kind of "checked out" in December so I had a lot to cover. Anyway, it is much better to read your posts than any popular murder/mystery novel and I couldn't wait to see what the next day would bring. I thought it was so interesting jump starting Lantus with the R. That was so amazing. I wonder if this procedure is somewhere in the medical books. If not or even if so, you should be used as an example. Maybe you and Bubba can even do guest appearances on something like the Dr. Oz show???? Anyway, just wanted to say "great job" to you, Bubba, Jill, Libby and all the others here that has helped you. I am so happy for you and Bubba.
 
Bobbie - I just want to say that you have done such an excellent job with Bubba. Last night, I stayed up to 2am reading your journey since the beginning of December. I kind of "checked out" in December so I had a lot to cover. Anyway, it is much better to read your posts than any popular murder/mystery novel and I couldn't wait to see what the next day would bring. I thought it was so interesting jump starting Lantus with the R. That was so amazing. I wonder if this procedure is somewhere in the medical books. If not or even if so, you should be used as an example. Maybe you and Bubba can even do guest appearances on something like the Dr. Oz show???? Anyway, just wanted to say "great job" to you, Bubba, Jill, Libby and all the others here that has helped you. I am so happy for you and Bubba.
Thanks so much Cindi. All the help via Jill and Libby with being so knowledgeable with Ketones and lowering the BG has been such a gift to us. He was so stuck! I am so grateful!
 
He had cancer. With you being an optometrist, you will find this interesting. A few years ago, we notice dark brown flecks appearing in the iris. First a couple, then it escalated. I mentioned it to the vet and he said that orange cats sometime have this happen. Also dark patches on their lips and inside the mucus membranes. However, it needed go be watch because if they became raised and velvety looking, this could be a sign that it has turned cancerous. And that is what happened. June 14th, it was DX by an ophthalmologist vet that it had turned into a potentially malignant condition called Diffused Iris Melanoma. The only way we could be positive was to remove the eye and have it biopsied. It was a very difficult decision to remove a functioning eye that was not causing him no pain but, it was very likely that it was malignant. I lost a lot of sleep over it and it freaked me out. So, we had the surgery performed on Oct. 29th , 2015 and the biopsy was exactly what the eye vet said. Removing it is not 100 % because cells could have escaped via the drainage passage but it sure gave him a really good chance and if malignancy spreads research shows it is years later that it goes into the liver. We got all this bad news 2 weeks after the FD DX. It has been very draining..... But, he is a fighter and so am I. ;)
 
Poor Bubba, I missed all that it happened before I joined the forum, George was officially diagnosed in October.

It was definitely the right decision, and it seems like you spotted it very early on, so that will have reduced the risk of it spreading, and given him a fighting chance.

He is doing so well and has come a long way since June, he is such a trooper (and so are you);)
 
Poor Bubba, I missed all that it happened before I joined the forum, George was officially diagnosed in October.

It was definitely the right decision, and it seems like you spotted it very early on, so that will have reduced the risk of it spreading, and given him a fighting chance.

He is doing so well and has come a long way since June, he is such a trooper (and so are you);)
Thanks Gill, we are plugging away.
 
Interesting on the orange cats and the eyes. Tricia's Cinco (also orange) lost his eye due to cancer.

OK Bubba, time to turn it around and slide down to a nice low blue please.
 
Wow, that's interesting, wonder if it was the same kind of cancer.
When there are changes in the iris that are spotted and not raised they are called melanosis. Most do not undergo malignant change. It is when the become raised and velvety, that they become suspicious to malignant change and usually are. The risk of metastasis is always a possibility. We are very hopeful that we were ahead of the game as his biopsy "was contained to the iris, no cilliary involvement and no vascular involvement" but that said, we know there are NO absolutes in medicine. We just hope we have bought him another 5-6 years to grow old with us.
 
Interesting on the orange cats and the eyes. Tricia's Cinco (also orange) lost his eye due to cancer.

OK Bubba, time to turn it around and slide down to a nice low blue please.
Hopeful, as his +3 was 229, and his PMPS was 230. Fingers and paws crossed. He will probably be in the blues again before the morn.
 
@Jill & Alex (GA) and @Libby and Lucy , just got a + 4.25 - 269. Since today's cycle he has gone steadily up. If he continues into the yellow into tomorrow morning, should I take back up to 5 units? Just thinking ahead as y'all won't be around when I shoot at 5:30 AM EST. Guess I will get a good night's sleep tonight. ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top