1/7 Blackie pmps 260 Pancreatitis!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Happy Furday, LL
Blackie is looking much better today. I just have to say that I thought the FD rollercoaster was bad, but its nothing compared to the CRF rollercoaster. I was very depressed yesterday about Blackie, but today I am hopeful. :-D And I have a correction to make - yesterday I said he had lost .2 oz per day and I wrote that wrong. He was losing .4 oz per day. But, yesteday he regained .2 oz. It was a great idea of Caroline's to weight him daily at the same time to make sure he was getting enough food.

I restarted the Mirtazapine last night and it did its job. It does make Blackie very affectionate and a little wobbly shortly after I give it, but after that he's more his normal self. It really helps his appetite and I'm also sprinkling a very small amount of Fortaflora on his food to get him to eat too. I closed his food box and I started feeding him on top of the box. This keeps the dogs out of the food, but doesn't stop the civie's. For the next few days I'll keep doing this and keep putting him in his LB after eating to see if we can retrain him to use the food box for eating only. I'm also going to order some of the SAM-e that Linda recommended and see if that helps.

Thank you for all of the vines and prayers and support. It really does mean a lot to Blackie's beans.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33754
 
Re: 1/7 Blackie amps 301 +2 295

Go Blackie! Eat, eat, eat! Fuds are good. It is nice to read that he feels and looks better today. what a relief! I hope you can get the LB thing resolved. How frustrating that must be. Good luck!
 
Re: 1/7 Blackie amps 301 +2 295

Ele...i am humbled by your positive attitude. you are such a good example for us!

keep up the eating, blackie-man!
 
Re: 1/7 Blackie amps 301 +2 295

I'm so glad you regained some of your hope, I know this is a worrisome and stressful time. Hang in there, we're all here for you.
Happy to hear Blackie ate and is more like himself. Sending continued Healing vines
 
Re: 1/7 Blackie amps 301 +2 295

Big :YMHUG: to you and Blackie today!
I believe Yesterday was a bump. They happen, unfortunately. When ever I got stressed out I would *try* and remember that even when we are healthy we have good/bad days (more hungry, less hungry, tired, bounding with energy, good/bad mood, etc). Sometimes there is no explanation as to why. Then you consider the little critters dealing with health issues, and yes they are also going to have those unexplained good/bad days, right???? I know easier to say...harder to believe and not worry.

You are doing the best you can. And certainly Blackie is doing the best HE can.
You are diligent and taking great care of that boy. He will miss you so much when you are gone. But remember, YOU need the vacation to rejuvenate and care for him as best you can!

Hope the day continues to go well.
 
Re: 1/7 Blackie amps 301 +2 295

I'm glad things are looking up today. I know how hard it will be to leave your baby, but Carolyn is right , you NEED the vacation. :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/7 Blackie amps 301 +2 295

Hi, Ele & Blackie.. we all get upset at times it is allowed ;-) it is now Friday & you are hopeful :thumbup
Sending a healthy appetite to Blackie! Have a great day!
 
Re: 1/7 Blackie amps 301 +2 295

DSIL went over and fed Blackie at +4 and he ate all the food. :-D

I also had a talk with Blackie last night and told him how I was feeling and that I just wanted him to feel better. I've also been telling him about our trip. I know he'll miss us, but I think my SIL will do great.
 
Re: 1/7 Blackie amps 301 +2 295

Hi Ele, I'm so glad that Blackie ate better today. :-D I'm just as glad that you sound more optimistic today. :smile:
Sending good eating vines to Blackie....eat sweet boy, eat. :smile:
 
Re: 1/7 Blackie amps 301 +2 295 +6.5 238 Pancreatitis!

I just heard back from the vet. Blackie's fPLI test came back at 33.8 and normal is 0.1-3.5. I know this doesn't really help us since we are doing almost all of treatment already, but at least it lets me know why he wouldn't eat. I had emailed the vet about the Mirtazapine side effects and the litter box issues. He said that Mirtazapine has been used to help cats with dementia (cognitive dysfunction syndrome), but that with all of the health issues, it is really difficult to say what is causing the litter box issues. His suggestion is that we slightly decrease his dose of Mirt and see if the wobblyness stops, but he continues to eat.

We haven't been giving Blackie anything for pain and he doesn't seem to be in pain. When I tried the Buprenex, it made him so spacy and sleepy he wouldn't eat. If anyone has other pain med ideas, I would like to hear them.
 
Re: 1/7 Blackie amps 301 +2 295 +6.5 238 Pancreatitis!

So sorry Blackie has p'titis, but at least, as you said, you know why he didn't want to eat. Great that he ate everything at +4! Hope he continues to improve, and sending all that positive healing stuff!
 
Re: 1/7 Blackie amps 301 +2 295 +6.5 238 Pancreatitis!

Pancreatitis is extremely painful and dehydrating. I would medicate for pain - cats are very good at hiding this.
 
Re: 1/7 Blackie amps 301 +2 295 +6.5 238 Pancreatitis!

ouch! and giving you a bump...

still sending healing vines your way...
 
Re: 1/7 Blackie amps 301 +2 295 +6.5 238 Pancreatitis!

I would discuss options for pain management with your vet. Bupe is often the preferred medication around these parts but not all cats do well on it. (A friend of mine's cat gets very agitated on opiates.) There are, no doubt, other options. I'd talk to your vet because pancreatitis is really painful. I'm linking Jojo's post on pancreatitis.
 
Re: 1/7 Blackie amps 301 +2 295 +6.5 238 Pancreatitis!

wow Ele - so sorry to hear this, but at least you now have an answer. I have heard that it is painful, I too would discuss pain meds with your vet. I have no clue, never having dealt with p'titis. Mannie and I send many healing vines.

Blackie?? You gots the P thing? Are you OK? I am sorry you are sick. Can we come and visit you, bring you some KTSS stuff, soup and things? Tobey is really good at massages, maybe that will help you feel better. Lubs you! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 1/7 Blackie amps 301 +2 295 +6.5 238 Pancreatitis!

Ele, forgive if you think I'm overstepping, but as Karrie said, cats are very good at hiding pain.
Having seen pancreatitis in two dogs, I know it can be very painful.

When my Samantha cat had saddle thrombosis, she was trembling and her eyes were dilated. Doc said "see her shaking, that's pain". She was quiet, doing nothing to indicate to me that she was in pain.
She hid it well.
Please reconsider giving Blackie pain meds. I can't suggest anything, as I have no experience with it.
I'm so glad he is doing better and eating.
 
Re: 1/7 Blackie amps 301 +2 295 +6.5 238 Pancreatitis!

Ele & Blackie said:
We haven't been giving Blackie anything for pain and he doesn't seem to be in pain. When I tried the Buprenex, it made him so spacy and sleepy he wouldn't eat. If anyone has other pain med ideas, I would like to hear them.

Have you tried reducing the dose? I have found that low doses of Bupe are effective and non-sedating (for instance, my civie is on an 8 hour dose for her weight, but I am giving it every 12 hours ... with Bupe a larger dose extends the duration of pain relief). You have to experiment a bit to find a dose that works.
 
Re: 1/7 Blackie amps 301 +2 295 +6.5 238 Pancreatitis!

Ele I think I would try to find a dose of Bupe that works for Blackie if you can :?: Do Lous Mom who I lost at a young age( not to pancreatitis) but she went thru a terrible time with this and I sure hate to hear that Blackie is going thru this now sending a ton of healing vines his way and lots of support and (((HUGS))) for you both
 
Hi Ele and Blackie. We are so sorry to hear this diagnosis. But with the proper medication Blackie will get better. I hope that you can find a pain medication that will work for him and not cause other problems. The lower dose may indeed work. We are sending prayers and thinking good thoughts, sending healing vines, too.
Today seems to have been a good day for Blackie. Maybe his pain wasn't too bad. But listen to those who have been in your shoes and do try to find a dose that will lessen any pain Blackie may have.

Hugs, many hugs,
Ella
Blackie, the KTSS will be over with some chicken soup. We want you to feel good!
Rusty
 
Re: 1/7 Blackie amps 301 +2 295 +6.5 238 Pancreatitis!

Karrie and Maverick said:
Pancreatitis is extremely painful and dehydrating. I would medicate for pain - cats are very good at hiding this.
fully agree. see PJ's description of her own pancreatitis flares here. also note her observation on pain-induced nausea, a little below her first post.

Dr Margie Scherk's paper on pancreatitis: "Analgesia is of critical importance in the comfort of the patient, but also in the progression of the disease/inflammation through the negative physiological effects of pain. Pain causes disease and prevents healing."

agree with Linda about trying lower dose of buprenex. Cheryl/Winnie used to start at a lower dose, then add to it in the same cycle - within the hour i believe - if it wasn't taking effect. easier to add than to give too much (eta: to start with). i know all about the zonking effects of buprenex; Meowzi was wide-eyed and zonked all of last night b/c i knowingly gave her, with vet's blessing, a higher dose than we usually do. but from experience, we know she's done fine on a lower dose.

See also Idexx Labs' Treatment Recommendations for Pancreatitis. discuss SAM-e (denosyl or denamarin) with vet. steroids are an option, although we chose not to try that first, unless Meowzi didn't improve (she did. i focused mostly on pain meds and fluids during the crisis).
 
When Muffin had p'titis, she was on Denosyl and bupe. I think the bupe, and I gave her pepcid as well, helped her to eat. I was a bit wary of the Denosyl at first, but apparently it did the trick. Of course, she had a very mild case, her spec fpli came back at 4.4. Even with the very mild case, I'm certain there was pain involved.
 
I'm sorry for Blackie's diagnosis, but I'm glad you have a diagnosis and that it's not the CRF. Pancreatitis flares are treatable. ((((Ele and Blackie))))
 
oh Ele, I'm so sorry to hear about Blackie. I have a soft spot in my heart for black kitties. And right before your trip. It is hard enough to leave our sugarbabies long enough to have a vacation, trying to trust someone to take care of their food and insulin needs. But when they're sick to boot, it really makes it hard.

When Shadow had P'titis, I had no idea how painful it was and I never knew to ask for pain meds and that bothers me to this day. I just thought she was really subdued.

Good luck with Blackie, girl, we're thinking about you and sending you lots of positive mental energy.
 
Ele: sorry to hear about the pancreatitis but at least you know what is causing the symptoms you've been seeing and can make adjustments. Like others, I would opt for a lower dose of bupe and see how he does. And remember that he is doing as well as he is because of you!!! (((Ele)))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top