1/7 Baby PMPS 121 +6 68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole & Baby

Member Since 2009
Happy Friday, furbaby friends! One year ago today was Baby's 1st ever insulin injection & for those of you who remember....... WHOA! What a Roller Coaster of a ride.. for those who don't.. Baby's starting dose was .5 & nieve bean (me) gave 5 units!!! We ended up in the ER!! :o What an induction into Lantus Land! Baby ended up on insulin for only 4 months so we were not here too long.. but being back after nearly 8 months off the juice is where we are today ;-)

Baby is doing furbaby fabulous.. I increased her to 1 unit last night & she is in healthy #s, I hope to see some green tonight - but I am not rushing anything & will take Blues for now :mrgreen: she is playful, cuddly, sweet, soft & just pretty darn perfect in my eyes!

Sadi has had two Amoxi Tabs & an allergy pill, I went to Whole Foods to get the l-lysine because I was too impatient to wait for shipping.. anyway I got the capsules & think I will put some on her food.. but not sure that she needs it because she does not have URI symptoms, only congested breathing :?: anyway.. Sadi is pretty darn perfect too!

We did not post our #s this morning.. but here we are now.. have a fabulous afternoon/evening! We shoot at 1am & 1pm.. so we kind of are on a CrAzY schedule!

Yesterday
 
Re: 1/7 Baby PMPS 121

I was wondering where Baby's condo was!!

Happy one year since dx, Baby...and hoping you get back to the falls SOON!!

and hope the Lysine helps Sadi the Kitty-Lady!

you must work a brutal schedule, nicole...
 
Re: 1/7 Baby PMPS 121

Hi Nicole,
Baby is looking so good, and good luck with the dose. I hope Sadi starts feeling better soon, too! My Pharmacy made a mistake when Maggie was first diagnosed. My Vet gave instructions to give Maggie 2 units, and the Pharmacy stated to give 20 units twice daily. A friend who once had a diabetic cat caught the mistake when I happened to call her. Can you believe it! The script stated it was for a cat, too. You would think they would have double checked with the Vet. I hope you all have a good weekend.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby PMPS 121 +4 32

Nicole & Baby said:
Feeding HC, see you in 15mins ;-)

That +4 did seem a bit low! Hope she comes up a bit for you.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby PMPS 121 +4 32 (15mins later 43)

Thanks, Beth!

***Newbies*** I have enough data to control the curve with Baby & that is why I am calm. Baby is being fed appropriate carbs & I will continue to test the 40s in 15min increments until I can get her surfing higer #s. Everything is OK ;-)
 
Re: 1/7 Baby PMPS 121 +4 32 (+15 43 +30 49)

For anybody paying attention, just following up to let you know she is Ok.. 49 now & I am here to monitor, test & feed as we approach +5
 
Re: 1/7 Baby PMPS 121 +4 32 +5 60

:YMHUG: Beth, Karrie & Celi :YMHUG: thank you!

**My plan for now is to go ahead & stick with this 1 unit even though she dropped below 40, I would like to see her drop below 40 again before I shave her dose since she is a kitty returning from The Falls.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby PMPS 121 +4 32 +5 60

Thanks, Barb.. it would seem that I fed her the exact right combo & amount for now.. we shall see how the next few cycles play out ;-)
 
Re: 1/7 Baby PMPS 121 +4 32 +5 60

Nicole & Baby said:
My plan for now is to go ahead & stick with this 1 unit even though she dropped below 40, I would like to see her drop below 40 again before I shave her dose since she is a kitty returning from The Falls.

Not such a good plan and not one that is based on our protocol. Longer term FD kitties have to drop below 40 (not 50) to earn a dose reduction so it's already harder by virtue of where the bar is set. A 32 warrants a reduction. If you want, shave the dose, providing you will be able to monitor.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby PMPS 121 +4 32 +5 60

Sienne and Gabby said:
Nicole & Baby said:
My plan for now is to go ahead & stick with this 1 unit even though she dropped below 40, I would like to see her drop below 40 again before I shave her dose since she is a kitty returning from The Falls.

Not such a good plan and not one that is based on our protocol. Longer term FD kitties have to drop below 40 (not 50) to earn a dose reduction so it's already harder by virtue of where the bar is set. A 32 warrants a reduction. If you want, shave the dose, providing you will be able to monitor.
Sienne, I appreciate your input - if my plan isn't good then I will change my plan. I will shave her dose by 1 drop tomorrow & SLOWLY (like via Tortoise Travel) take de/docreases for Baby because I want to keep her on the juice as long as possible to keep her healing. ;-) thank you for your feedback
 
Lisa... I am anxious to use the lysine.. you said lysine treats? What are those? I just learned about this stuff & I wanted to use Sienne's link but was too impatient to wait for shipping. But here are my questions:

1. Is it safe to give just for congestion?
2. I know to give 1/8 teaspoon on food - do I just break the gel capsule open & sprinkle?
3. What are the benefits of this?

I have my bottle ready to open.
 
Nice job on the low numbers, Nicole! Shaving the dose sounds like a good plan. Good luck with the dosecrease!

I also use capsules, Nicole. Mine are 500 mg, the usual dose is 250mg twice a day. I open the capsule and sprinkle on the food. It's an amino acid...perfectly safe to use. If you are in doubt, call your vet. That is always the best thing to do anyway!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby PMPS 121 +6 68 **Lysine Questions

what are the ingredients? make sure it doesn't contain propylene glycol.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby PMPS 121 +6 68 **Lysine Questions

Hi Nicole,

Just stopping in to say hi. What a beautiful cat baby is cat_pet_icon . Sounds like you are having a good evening. Take care!
 
Nicole & Baby said:
Lisa... I am anxious to use the lysine.. you said lysine treats? What are those? I just learned about this stuff & I wanted to use Sienne's link but was too impatient to wait for shipping. But here are my questions:

1. Is it safe to give just for congestion?
2. I know to give 1/8 teaspoon on food - do I just break the gel capsule open & sprinkle?
3. What are the benefits of this?

I have my bottle ready to open.


http://www.entirelypets.com/lysinetreats.html
these are what I use Nicole and no they are not really FD friendly since these are dry they used to be like a moist treat and they changed but he loves them and they do not seem to make much diff with his numbers its not like he gets a huge amount
 
Re: 1/7 Baby PMPS 121 +6 68 **Lysine Questions

Thanks, Laurie & WCF! I did call the Vet today.. she kinda wondered why I would use them when neither of my cats have Herpes.. but :idea:
Mine are like Laurie's 500mg each
Ingredients: L-Lysine (as L-Lysine HCI)
**Other Ingredients: Rice Powder, magnesium stearate, cellulose

If ingredients are safe, I am going to sprinkle a 1/2 capsule daily.

**Thanks, Lisa too.. I will check out the link!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby PMPS 121 +6 68 **Lysine Questions

Hi Nicole & Baby and Happy DX anniversary. We hope you'll be back at the Falls very soon (although we will miss you!). Good luck with the dose shave.

Have a lovely evening,
Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top