1/7 Atlas AMPS 381, PMPS 300 ????????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Good Morning Relaxed Lantus!

I was hoping some wiser eyes might review Attie's SS. I have been trying to bring him back into regulation since his illness and it is quite the struggle between work and getting in tests. So I didn't want to fuss too much dosing wise until I could watch a bit better.

In doing my own review of his SS from just before his illness, through his long illness, to today...I am very torn as to what to think. I am trying to keep in mind that much of his low numbers during his illness was due to him not eating or not eating very much.

I feel I have two choices with this huge bounce staring me in the face this morning...

Keep pushing forward on the dose as Attie has gone back to liver training school (basically the illness undid everything)

or

He is in smogyi or is being overdosed as the numbers seem to mildly rise each dose increase and I should drop him back to his dose from 11/1/11 of 0.5u

Plus we had to change food companies as Nature's Variety will be out of raw rabbit until at least late January or longer. So we are feeding Primal Raw. Checking the label it does seem they have more veggies/fruits in their blend so I am not unconvinced to rule the food issue in/out either. We tried the Nature's Variety canned rabbit, but it just gave Attie the runs, so he has to have raw.

We have already shot this morning at the 2.0u with a bounce this high to shoot through the bounce. So I am looking for thoughts regarding this evening's dose.
 
Answering my own questions...

Atlas illness: URI defined as a Rhinotracheitis (feline herpes)

Extended and severe complications present.

Suspect influence of the herpes on the pancreas:

Exocrine Pancreatic Diseases in Cats
Prognosis: traumatic injury to the pancreas resulting in death due to necrotizing of the pancreatitis

Thoughts: Atlas' diabetes may have been brought on by feline herpes. Evidence is his current out of regulation status. The feline herpes will cause eventual failure and death due to necrosis.

Further concern or evidence is Atlas continues to lose weight. Down to 13.5 lbs. He is eating, but likely not digesting his food properly.
 
Hi Beth,

Hope Attie is feeling better.

I looked back at the spreadsheets for both 2012 and 2011. He may actually need more insulin because he is still feeling sick. Once his coughing and sneezing are gone and his appetite is back, I suspect you can lower the insulin back down to 1u and adjust from there based on BGs.

Claudia
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top