1/7 Archie AMPS 472, +2 257 - Getting so tired of these high bounces

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmb

Member Since 2017
Previous thread http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-1-archie-amps-639-3-169.189165/#post-2103968

Hi, we've been sticking to the 1Unit, but I'm getting so tired of seeing his levels >500 and then dropping so much that he bounces right back. Any suggestions?

I wish we had followed our gut on 12/30 and lowered the dosage, but because the hospital said they told us NOT to test, and we didn't hear back from our normal vet until a couple of days later we just stuck with the prescribed dose. Ever since the blues are a rare occasion and then almost always followed by black.

I know that over time he should adjust, but how will he ever adjust to lower BG if he doesn't spend time in the lows and bounces right back??! Sorry for venting, but it's so frustrating.
 
Have you had a chance to read through the two dosing strategies described in the yellow stickies? Tight Regulation (TR) is the more aggressive, testing-intensive approach, Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) is somewhat more cautious and requires testing on a different schedule. Both give firm rules for dose increases and decreases, and have been used successfully by many many kitties and caregivers to achieve regulation and (sometimes) remission.

Archie has been on this dose for over a week now, so it's definitely time for a re-evaluation. Read through the stickies and come back with any questions! When you decide which strategy you want to follow, put it in your signature with the other info, and then people reading your condo will know how to advise you on any dose changes.

It does take time, and it's frustrating at first. Hang in there!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top