? 1/7/26 Benny, AMPS 536, +2 486, +4 414, +6 255, New Dose Wonkiness?

Katie & Benny

Member Since 2025
Happy New Year everyone!

Today is a Curve Day for Benny so I’ve included his numbers so far. We should finish up his curve at 6:45EST. We finally upped his dose to 1unit in the evening three days ago so we are now working on an even playing field morning and night. Since the increase, we have seen quite some wonky numbers return and I just want to confirm with you all that this looks like new dose wonkiness? He behaves normally, no lethargy, always ready for his meals, just the urinating has increased again to about 10 times within a 24 hour period. He especially has to go to the bathroom between +9 and his dinner. Within those 4 hours he is peeing every half hour but once he gets his dinner, he is settled for the night. His BG numbers seem to be revealing why he has to urinate so much at that time.

I don’t think I left an update after his first check up since being discharged but he did great! Bloodwork came back clear, his sutures from his skin infection are looking good, only thing was that he lost a bit of weight since being discharged (I think they said he was 2.7kg and at his checkup he was 2.3kg). I was blaming it on the amount of fluids he was on for a 10 day hospital stay. We now have a baby scale at home and weighed him today and he is 2.8oz! Benny on his way to a big boy Spring!

Thank you again as always to everyone on here for leaving advice, a reply of encouragement, or just liking a post. The support through a rollercoaster of a holiday season has been much needed and appreciated.
 
Hi Katie, the SS you have for 2026 seems to be of a different format and detail that has some issues, and we can get that fixed for you quickly. Could you please send a private message to @Marje and Gracie and she can update it to the format that we use.

As for your question, no, this isn’t new dose wonkiness anymore, that’s usually seen on the second day of the increase Info - New Dose Wonkiness (NDW) and Failed Reductions

Good to see some consistent am and pm doses; I know you are following dosing by vet, but after 4 days on 1u based on nadirs not being anywhere near blues or greens, you may want to consider an increase to 1.25u. The lowest nadir is still well above 200.

I’m so glad the infection is clearing up nicely and that ketones tests continue to be okay (anti-jiinx).
 
Thank you for linking my last post and letting me know about the spreadsheet, @Christie & Maverick. I believe I have it all updated and corrected but let me know! We just did a pre bed-time BG check and he has gone up to 638. He does seem to be a little quieter since his insulin 2 hours ago. I’m thinking of possibly adjusting down to .5 units tomorrow and then we can work on titrating up possibly to .75? Benny’s numbers are looking like possibly Somogyi effect to me.
 
Somogyi has been disproven. It was a concept started about 100 years ago based on a small, non peer reviewed study on humans and early fast acting insulins. Recent studies with cats and long acting insulins, specifically Lantus, show it's not a thing as long as you are home testing sugars and increasing safely, which you are. Paper here: Rebound hyperglycaemia in diabetic cats.pdf

At this point, Benny needs that increase as Christie mentioned. Reducing his dose would just put him into worse numbers. He is still on a relatively small dose. Increasing his dose will improve his nadirs and also help to reduce those higher numbers too.

His fairly recent history of DKA makes it even more essential to try to get him into better numbers as quickly and safely as you can. Have you been home testing him for ketones?
 
Back
Top