1/7/24 Max AMPS 131 +3 94 +4 48 +5 46 +6 67 +7 89 PMPS 169

I cracked up when I saw the poop emojis on Max's spreadsheet.

Instead of a reduction, because he does still have yellows, have you tried giving him a higher % carb food in the morning to prevent his steep drops? I'm just brainstorming here, not giving you advice.
 
I cracked up when I saw the poop emojis on Max's spreadsheet.

Instead of a reduction, because he does still have yellows, have you tried giving him a higher % carb food in the morning to prevent his steep drops? I'm just brainstorming here, not giving you advice.

LOL yep poop emoji’s on the SS. Max is an IBD kitty and it’s just one more thing to keep up with, that helps me keep track.
Max is on a renal diet (Royal Canin) so he’s already on a HC diet. He’s kind of unique and just does what he does. Thank you for your opinion. I want those yellows gone too.
 
I know Max is different, but usually if someone reduces the dose the numbers will do the opposite of what you're trying to do. I think Max would flatten out in higher numbers. Can you try feeding the curve to keep his numbers from going into lower greens? That may help with bouncing. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I know Max is different, but usually if someone reduces the dose the numbers will do the opposite of what you're trying to do. I think Max would flatten out in higher numbers. Can you try feeding the curve to keep his numbers from going into lower greens? That may help with bouncing. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thanks Carla. Thats what I was thinking would happen too. I do feed the curve with him and I stop when he reaches nadir and starts coming back up. I wonder if he should still get snacks after nadir. I know generally you’re not supposed to, but I don’t know if that would help prevent a bounce or make the bounce higher. I think if he’s going to bounce, he’s just going to do it no matter what. I’m used to it by now. I think I’m going to leave him at 5.5 and monitor for now.
 
We don't feed higher carb food to keep a cat on a higher dose. You can try higher LC, say 8-10% if the cat is on an even lower carb diet. But relying on high carb food as the main food to keep a higher dose is not a good idea. In Max's case, he's dealing with another condition that means the higher carb food is part of what he needs on a daily basis.

I know generally you’re not supposed to, but I don’t know if that would help prevent a bounce or make the bounce higher. I think if he’s going to bounce, he’s just going to do it no matter what.
Snacks after nadir, especially if higher carb, which shorten duration, not directly cause a bounce. Losing duration means higher preshot and likely a steeper drop when the next shot onsets. It's that steep drop that can cause bounces if you can't manage the drop with enough carbs.

I vote for reduction. This is the second time below 50 on this dose. And he spend 2 hours below 50 today.
 
I vote for reduction. This is the second time below 50 on this dose. And he spend 2 hours below 50 today.

Okay thanks. I haven’t been feeding after nadir thus far. I was just curious about if feeding a snack after nadir would prevent the bounce. I definitely won’t do that then.

We will try the reduction. I hope it will stick though!
 
Back
Top