1/7/12 Hobbs AMPS 416 / +5 256 / PMBG 54 / +2 75 /+4 149

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/7/12 Hobbs 416 / +5 256

Mid-cycle: 256
I gave him 1.5 units this morning
1/2 can food (1/4 can of K/D, 1/4 can of DM - going to store to get something better soon)
No dry food today
 
Re: 1/7/12 Hobbs 416 / +5 256

No dry is great. Maybe with no dry you will need even less insulin.
 
Re: 1/7/12 Hobbs 416 / +5 256

Yeah I'm switching him to EVO 95%. He's already begging for food though and dinner is several hours off!
 
Re: 1/7/12 Hobbs AMPS 416 / +5 256 / PMPS 54

That's right no insulin tonight and you might want to consider shaving down Hobbs dose tomorrow morning by another .25u which I believe without going back to look at your spreadsheet would take you down to 1.25u since I believe right now you are shooting 1.5u. The idea is to keep adjusting his dose until you can shoot on a consistent 12/12 schedule.

While 54 is a perfect number for a non-diabetic cat not taking insulin, you don't want that for a preshot number because that means skipping a shot, and having some of his shed drained. Once you have a lot more data from testing it will be easier to predict if you can shoot low to stay low, and just how low you can shoot without risking hypo. Right now it is safer to skip and reduce down the dose tomorrow than to risk him falling to low overnight.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/7/12 Hobbs AMPS 416 / +5 256 / PMPS 54

So 54 is an OK number? I thought 100-199 was ideal? I thought 54 was kind of low and that I should be concerned. :?
 
Re: 1/7/12 Hobbs AMPS 416 / +5 256 / PMPS 54

If he always ranged somewhere between 50 - 120, he wouldn't need insulin, so its a lovely number if you were checking to see if insulin was needed, or if you were checking about +5 - +7 hours after a shot.

During the day, glucose levels will go up and down with food, digestion, and activity levels. Usually eating will raise it some and a normal pancreas would bring it down. An uncontrolled diabetic can't bring it back down.
 
Re: 1/7/12 Hobbs AMPS 416 / +5 256 / PMPS 54

Normal numbers for a non diabetic cat is between 40 & 120. My guy that is in remission runs usually somewhere between 56-75, but he is OTJ so not on insulin but being controlled by diet alone. My Musette is insulin dependent, so a 54 in her at +2 is bad, because she is still going to be dropping for another 4 hours, so I want to feed and watch her closely to make sure she doesn't drop anymore. But that same 54 at her nadir or later is fine, because that means she should be rising by now so while I may watch her a little closer I'm not going to be terribly worried, the insulin is wearing off. However, if she gets a 54 at one of her preshots, I'm skipping the dose and lowering the next one unless she bounces really high then I'll shoot threw that bounce ( shoot the same dose on the high preshot number, & reduce on the following dose.) So I can try to get her back on her twice a day shot schedule, without having to skip a dose because of too low of a preshot number. Make Sense?

Oh wait I just saw where you got him completely off dry today, definitely reduce his dose tomorrow, you might even want to post either here, Health or Lantus-TR tomorrow morning to ask for dosing advice based on his amps #. Some cats will drop as much as 100 pts practically over night. And even though you didn't give him insulin tonight, still try to get a "bed check" in on him, just to make sure he is going up and not down...I don't think he will be, but he might, he is afterall still a cat. :-D

Also don't be surprised if he runs a little high tomorrow he may bounce after that 54 tonight, because there is a good chance he went even lower if that was his pmps and you have lowered his carbs way down by removing the dry. So his liver may paniced, and you skipped tonight's shot so part of his shed was used up, but in this case that might be a good thing.

My Maxwell went from 485 when he was dxed to OTJ in about 2 weeks on a short course of Lantus and putting him on a low carb, canned diet. Hobbs could be headed that way as well. Here is where your meter becomes your best friend, and your greatest tool.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/7/12 Hobbs AMPS 416 / +5 256 / PMPS 54

OK +2 after eating/ was up to 75 so I'm a little less worried now. I might check him at +4 too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top