Re: 1/7/12 Hobbs AMPS 416 / +5 256 / PMPS 54
Normal numbers for a
non diabetic cat is between 40 & 120. My guy that is in remission runs usually somewhere between 56-75, but he is OTJ so not on insulin but being controlled by diet alone. My Musette is insulin dependent, so a 54 in her at +2 is bad, because she is still going to be dropping for another 4 hours, so I want to feed and watch her closely to make sure she doesn't drop anymore. But that same 54 at her nadir or later is fine, because that means she should be rising by now so while I may watch her a little closer I'm not going to be terribly worried, the insulin is wearing off. However, if she gets a 54 at one of her preshots, I'm skipping the dose and lowering the next one unless she bounces really high then I'll shoot threw that bounce ( shoot the same dose on the high preshot number, & reduce on the following dose.) So I can try to get her back on her twice a day shot schedule, without having to skip a dose because of too low of a preshot number. Make Sense?
Oh wait I just saw where you got him completely off dry today, definitely reduce his dose tomorrow, you might even want to post either here, Health or Lantus-TR tomorrow morning to ask for dosing advice based on his amps #. Some cats will drop as much as 100 pts practically over night. And even though you didn't give him insulin tonight, still try to get a "bed check" in on him, just to make sure he is going up and not down...I don't think he will be, but he might, he is afterall still a cat.
Also don't be surprised if he runs a little high tomorrow he may bounce after that 54 tonight, because there is a good chance he went even lower if that was his pmps and you have lowered his carbs way down by removing the dry. So his liver may paniced, and you skipped tonight's shot so part of his shed was used up, but in this case that might be a good thing.
My Maxwell went from 485 when he was dxed to OTJ in about 2 weeks on a short course of Lantus and putting him on a low carb, canned diet. Hobbs could be headed that way as well. Here is where your meter becomes your best friend, and your greatest tool.
Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang