1/6 Whiskers AMPS 275 PMPS 367

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cheryl & Whiskers (GA)

Member Since 2010
Good Morning,

I'm so glad Whiskers is down a little this morning :mrgreen: . Maybe this is a good sign that the new lantus is helping. I have to leave soon.
 
Re: 1/6 Whiskers AMPS 275 Yeah!!! we are under 300 and yell

Nice yellow AMPS! It looks like the new juice is helping. :smile:

It will help you later if you make a note in the comments about when you opened the new insulin. Then you can look back and see how many days it has been if you start to get wonky numbers.
 
Re: 1/6 Whiskers AMPS 275 Yeah!!! we are under 300 and yell

Yeah baby!!! And it's not that far from blue!!! Let's go Whiskers girl!!
 
Re: 1/6 Whiskers AMPS 275 Yeah!!! we are under 300 and yell

Hello everyone,

I will list on the spread sheet when new insulin is opened thank you.

Have a great day cat_pet_icon .
 
Re: 1/6 Whiskers AMPS 275 Yeah!!! we are under 300 and yell

Hi, Cheryl & Whiskers.. YAY for YELLOW.. Hello! ;-)
I just love the hope of a new Lantus Pen & BUAful #s! Wishing you both a great day & thank you so much for offering input on Sadi's vet visit.. I really appreciate the support.
 
Re: 1/6 Whiskers AMPS 275 Yeah!!! we are under 300 and yell

Hi Nicole,

I wanted to thank you for your advise on an earlier post. I was able to get a prescription for one lantus pen (as opposed to a box of 5, so expensive that way). My vet called it in to one of our local hospital outpatient pharmacy's, and as you said since they go thru so many boxes in the hospital, they are willing to dispense just one pen (which is a hugh cost savings,and retail pharmcy's don't seem to want to do this). I would never have thought to do this without your suggestion. And it worked at the first hospital I called!!! Maybe this info will help others trying to keep costs down as well.

Thanks again. I hope that you, Baby, and Sadi have a great night cat_pet_icon .
 
Re: 1/6 Whiskers AMPS 275 PMPS 367

I hate to be a naysayer but, this just doesn't seem to be working for us. I know I'm going to get flack just for thinking it. But she is back up to 367 tonight, and based on her symptoms, constant thirst, always urinating, always hungry. She has urinated on the bathroom floor for the last 5 days, at least it tile and not the bedroom carpet. We get one good number get our hopes up and than it is dashed by the more high numbers. I'll keep trying, but would like to see some improvement, and we just haven't.
 
Hi Cheryl,
Im sorry. I know this is so frustrating for you! :YMSIGH:

Im sure you might be familiar with this. But I always found it good to look at when frustrated, or unsure to increase/decrease dose:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

"General" Guidelines:

* Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).

* Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

* Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.


Increasing the dose...

* Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.


There are circumstances such as ketones present, an unusually low preshot number, a caregiver leaving the cat with a sitter, relatively high flat curves, loss of appetite, infection, a schedule change, ability to monitor, etc. which may call for adjustments to these guidelines.

You have been on this dose for quite a while (12 days?).

The urinating outside box, history of UTI (history often repeats itself in this case), and high BG's makes me wonder.... Any chance you can get her in for a urinalysis? Please do check for ketones

WHen you see Whiskers in mid to low 200's on a +2 or +3, could you also try to get a +5 or +6? She is probably going lower and then bouncing into pink or red by ps. But we dont know w/o those tests.

I know you have your hands full and are doing the best you can. Dont hesitate to put "dose advise" in your heading when you need some extra eyes/input on what may be going on with whiskers.

:YMHUG:
 
Hi Carolyn,

Thank you so much. We won't give up just venting. Thank you so much for the guidelines. I will check all the times you suggested when off this weekend. I'm going to take a swab from her ear as she has brown gunk in them and always had. I saw Nicole posted awhile back about Baby having similar ear symptoms, so I spoke to the vet the other day about the ears and he said bring a sample in he'll do lab test. I will also do the urine sample as well, will probably have to bring her in for that, unless someone know how to get a urine sample from a cat without taking it into the vet.
The vet has checked for ketones and she hasn't had them. I just got some ketones stips so will do a test at home. Thank you Carolyn for all your advise. Have a great night. :YMHUG:
 
I will also do the urine sample as well, will probably have to bring her in for that, unless someone know how to get a urine sample from a cat without taking it into the vet.

good morning Cheryl,
just a quick note, unfortunately, for this, you may have to take Whiskers in, if you can.

Read this link when you can, if you haven't already, from Dr Lisa's website http://catinfo.org/?link=urinarytracthealth, lots of good info on this subject
A urine culture and sensitivity is not accurate from a free-catch sample due to contamination issues....

'Free-catch' urine samples (urine voided onto an exam table or into a litter box) should not be used for a C & S due to the issue of contamination which will often give a false positive result. In other words, bacteria will grow on the culture that may not even be in the patient's bladder or kidney.

And definitely, do try to check for ketones at home, adding a bit of water into the food can too. Again, this info is in the link I gave ya.
 
In addition to the points that Carolyn and Ronnie made, it's entirely possible that Whiskers dropped lower than the 275. Without a spot check, we don't know how low. When a cat has been in higher numbers and has gotten used to being in higher ranges, a drop into blues or even low yellows may trigger a bounce. Spot checks help you to know what's going on and provide at least a tiny bit of insight into why the numbers look the way they do. It's also the rationale for not sticking with a dose overly long if it's not helping to pull numbers down -- you don't want Whisker's body to treat those higher numbers as "normal."
 
Hello everyone,

I do remeber now reading that we must go to the vet for a sterile urine sample via needle. Thanks for posting that information. After the vet visit and checking BG this weekend, unless she goes very low on the nadir, I think according to the protocol she is due for a dose increase.
Thank you everyone.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top