1/6 Todd AMPS 171, PMPS 381 (Possibly Upping Insulin Dose)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ToddyTiger

Member Since 2010
Another pretty good number this morning.

Took Todd to the vet early this morning for his urine test. We should have some info by tomorrow, but it takes a few days for them to grow anything, so we probably won't know much until Sun or Mon. I'll let you know what they find out. I also got a copy of his last set of labs from last week, which I will post up here in a little bit. She saw some gunk in his ears, so she gave me some ear drops for him. I'll start those shortly. I know he'll hate it. heh

I showed our vet Todd's SS, so she could see what he has been doing since we upped his Lantus to 2.0u 9 days ago. She feels perhaps we should up it again to either 2.5 or if possible, somewhere between 2.0u and 2.5u, and then give it another week or so. She wants to see his numbers staying consistently below 300. Thankfully we're staying below 500 now, which is great.

What do you guys think?.. This morning I gave him the 2.0u. I don't want to up him without some more input. Though he probably could do with it, since before he got sick, he was getting 2.5u.


yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33693


Sarah
 
Re: 1/6 Todd AMPS 171 (Possibly Upping Insulin Dose)

Hi, Sarah & Todd too.. Happy Friday eve.. uggh.. eardrops.. Baby just finished a 10 day RX :-D
I dunno about any increase in your dose, others will offer input on that..but wanted to drop thru & check on you.
 
Re: 1/6 Todd AMPS 171 (Possibly Upping Insulin Dose)

Thanks Nicole! Kitties really hate ear drops, so this will be no fun for either of us. :/ Could be worse though, could be eye drops!



Just made a (crappy) spread sheet for Todd's labwork. You can find the link in my signature. :D Hope it helps.
 
Re: 1/6 Todd AMPS 171 (Possibly Upping Insulin Dose)

That is a nice AMPS for Todd today. I can't advise on dosing either but hopefully soon someone with experience will see your condo.
 
Re: 1/6 Todd AMPS 171 (Possibly Upping Insulin Dose)

wish i could help, but it's difficult to comment on your vet's suggestion to raise the dose without a little more data.
the last two nights... how low did todd drop on the current dose?
were the two blue amps (yesterday and today) numbers caught on the rise or were the numbers going down?
 
Re: 1/6 Todd AMPS 171 (Possibly Upping Insulin Dose)

That is a good question.. I guess what I should do is a curve first and then decide.
 
Re: 1/6 Todd AMPS 171 (Possibly Upping Insulin Dose)

FYI, I usually find various spot checks over several cycles to be even more useful than a single curve (though curves can be useful too). What many of us do is grab spot checks whenever we can - when you first get up in the AM, before you leave for work, as soon as you walk in the door from work or errands, right before you fall into bed, etc. It's the pattern of numbers over a period of time that can really tell the story. Curves are good too, as long as you are doing them in a cycle that isn't affected by a bounce.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top