1/6 Tink AMPS 210 - nice PM cycles lately

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenM

Member Since 2013
Last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-2-tink-amps-323-2-327-green-last-night.130819/

Tink has me a bit baffled. This dose is doing much better than previous doses - we've seen green 4 out of 5 nights so far this year. However, we don't seem to be getting the same results during the AM cycle. Granted, I have more PM data. But the AM data I do have looks vastly different from the PM data. Anyone have any advice on how to get the two cycles to run more in sync with each other? Feeding cycles are the same - everything is the same. Well, everything except the numbers.

Then again... I guess I'm almost glad it's this way - because since he hasn't mastered the surfboard yet, greens kinda freak me out still. :) I think last night was his first cycle where he started out reasonable, had a reasonably smooth surf and didn't bounce. Knock on wood. Would like to see a lot more of this! Seems whenever we DO see green - it's a little roller-coaster-ish for my liking.
 
I think it's really common for night cycles to be lower. It still happens with Max and is why it frustrates me when I've read some vets feel their clients test too much. Max would have been overdosed early on if the advisors here didn't suggest night drops might be contributing to his bounces. Kudos to you.
 
Nights are way lower for us too. And my vet was rather flippant about me being nervous to push him into hypo by keeping a dose that looks too high right now.
 
This dose is doing much better than previous doses - we've seen green 4 out of 5 nights so far this year. However, we don't seem to be getting the same results during the AM cycle. Granted, I have more PM data. But the AM data I do have looks vastly different from the PM data. Anyone have any advice on how to get the two cycles to run more in sync with each other?
Welcome to my world. :rolleyes: Neko's 2013 SS looks a lot like that starting in March, for about 5 months, when I had all of 6 daytime greens. Low at night and bounce during the day And I am home so can get the data. It just takes time for them to get used to green. Neko still prefers low at night, but daytime greens are more common now. The other thing you've got going for you is Dawn Phenomenon. One thing that helped me was the switch to Levemir, but I think that's because Neko got flatter and spent more time in green.
 
And I'm still very much considering trying Levemir. I get that ECID - but it seems like all those who HAVE switched and been happy with the results were experiencing much the same thing we are. I was going to try to switch ASAP - but got low on insulin so got a new pen. So... now we've got another month or so before we have to decide. IF he continues as he is or gets even better, I might stick with Lantus - but I'm thinking honestly, even if he DOES continue how he is... it might be worth a try. His bounces have gotten MUCH less severe - but they still happen. And from what I can tell, they're happening because the Lantus drops him too fast.

I'm also a bit concerned that his +2 isn't necessarily showing whether or not he's going to drop. The sudden drop seems to come around +3 (and that's after eating at PS & +2.5) - making me think I may need to adjust my shooting schedule to enable me to get a +3 before work. Before I know it... I'm just going to forego sleep altogether. Hearing that Lev nadirs often happen around PS makes me even more interested in switching. I'm already testing (and am HOME) then anyway...
 
Lev nadirs are of course ECID. I've seen some as early as +6. Typical is +8 to +9. Neko is typically +9 to +12. And you'd have to learn all over again how Tink reacts to it.

If the bouncing is improving, that's a good sign too. Even on Lantus Neko was starting to flatten out a bit before I switched. Lev just seemed to accelerate it. If you do change your shooting schedule to get a +3 on Lantus, that might help let you know if you need to leave high carb food out.
 
On the bright side, I haven't had to break out hc in a LONG time (knock on wood). Although, as I throw in extra LC feedings... I wonder how long his waistline will allow me to do so. LOL A few tsp of hc might be better than a meal of lc.

Learning his reaction all over again... :arghh: THAT is the definite downside.
 
I think i'd hold on to the dose a little bit longer to see if she can bring down the day cycles on her own, but if you decide you want to fatten the dose, you'd have to support her nadirs to keep her from going below 50 for a little while.

overall he looks pretty good!

I've wished that i'd given Lev a try. If you don't see an improvement you can always switch back, but so many cats do great on Lev that i think it's worth considering.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top