1/6 Rocket PMPS169 +5.25 76 +5.5 81 +6.5 83 +7 99 +9 122

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
hi all,
he ate much better throughout the night with me bringing the food to him...from yesterday afternoon and on he got a total of 12 temptations....of course crushed and added as topping to entice him to eat..it worked

but now he is at amps 216 and since i saw him drinking more water than normal in the wee hours (i did not test him as i wanted to wait to amps)....

i gave in and gave a skinny 0.5u....SS updated....will email vet here shortly....

overall he is more alert considering he was high for a few days on meds....i will give fluids shortly and then pheno....

as of this morning breffis is fully eaten but no temptations added...only his reg food and liver dust....he ate it all with me holding the dish...

we will see what now...and see if vet is on board starting insulin again....i didn't give much...but hopefully enough that he will come down or at least this will help his pancreas until vet reads email

that's that for now...i managed to sleep some....and he sure slept like he hadn't ever....he is still a lil nervous when noises are heard but i'm still certain that is due to the bupre....

will keep you posted....
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33681
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216-gave insulin

(((Claudia))) It sounds like Rocket is doing much better. I am glad to hear that he is eating even if you are holding the bowl.
That higher number is most likely due to all the Temptations. The dry takes longer to clear the system. I am sure he will be right back down to his usual green.
I hope you can rest a little easier today knowing that Rocket is improving. :smile:
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216-gave insulin

so giving the lil insulin was ok then, right?
i'm still tired and questioning everything i do now.....
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216-gave insulin

Claudia I think you did the right thing. You are around to monitor and you are take very good care of Rocket. :smile:
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216-gave insulin

Claudia, this really is a good report this morning. Sounds like Rocket is feeling better and is eating....but also sounds like he is getting a bit spoiled with the bowl holding thing ;-) :lol: But, hey, if that's what it takes to motivate him to eat, then by all means....perhaps I should send you a silver or gold plated spoon for the next round of spoilness :lol: :lol:
Not sure how carb sensitive Rocket is, but it does take a little longer for the hard food/snacks to get out of the system. But, he may surprise you. Spot got into the drooler kibble a few weeks ago and was up to 300, but that cleared out of his system sooner than I thought it would. He was back down to regular numbers in no time. I don't think you did any harm giving such a small amount of insulin, I'd just do a few tests on him to make sure all is ok.
Have a great day...and keep on eatin' Rocket!
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216-gave insulin

I'm seeing great improvements in Rocket. Keep it up Rocket!!!!!!! Glad you got some sleep too Claudia. Its a lot on your plate and being sleep deprived makes everything so much harder to deal with. When Maverick had his crisis two years ago I actually went to the doctor. I felt like I was going to crumble into pieces. I didn't have anyone that could help me with Maverick (outside of some amazing people on a forum).... but she told me to take 1/2 hour a day for just me. To regroup so I could be stronger. It was the best advice I ever got. I started riding a bike. Anyways.... don't forget about you. Even a bubble bath once a day. Rocket will feel you being more relaxed also.

Keep it up both of you!!!!
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216-gave insulin

Hopefully, whatever the worst of this has passed. Now it's a matter of figuring out what was going on. It's so good to hear that Rocket is eating. I think the insulin was a good idea.

I may have missed it, but did you ever find out whether the level of phenobarb was too high?
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216-gave insulin

Hi Claudia, This is really good news this morning! So glad that Rocket is eating and getting some good sleep. Now you can relax a little and get some more sleep yourself. I'm glad you gave the small dose of insulin. It will help to get him back to normal levels after eating all those Temptations!

See you later. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216-gave insulin

Good Morning Claudia. It's so good to hear that Rocket is eating some. You sound so much better youself today.
I've been staying out of the way, and not commenting, because I know nothing of the health issues you're dealing with, with Rocket. I have been reading it all. I'm very impressed with the email communication your vet is offering.
I pray you're able to get some good rest today. :smile:
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216-gave insulin

Hooray!! so good to hear he is feeling better, and that you got some rest!

been a horrendous time for the two of you...
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216-gave insulin

flip_cat flip_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat cat_pet_icon :YMHUG: :YMHUG: So very happy to hear this report Claudia sounds like Rocket is feeling better hope things keep improving for him sending more healing vines for today
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216-gave insulin

Good morning guys! What a difference in your post .. I'm so glad Rocket is eating better for you .. I agree with Sienne, hopefully the worst has passed and he is on the mend ... but again, don't forget to take some time for yourself too ... try and have a great day, ok?
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216-gave insulin

(((Claudia)))....we are so happy to hear this great news!!!! Now maybe you can also get a little more sleep since he has eaten and is doing better. All your devotion to him is paying off and we continue to send healing vines for you both!!
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216-gave insulin

Me too (I have been reading and watching and hoping for a turnaround - but not getting involved as I couldn't offer any real help). But I am SO glad to read today's report that Rocket is doing better (and you too Claudia - !)

I too am VERY impressed with your Vet! That is very unusual you are very lucky to have a vet like that!
It must be very hard to deal with so many meds so I hope you & the Vet can figure out what happened, so it won;t happen again...

Hoping you cntinue to have a MUCH better day today - KEEP EATING ROCKET! And I hope you can rest up a bit, and get your own strength back!
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216 +3 149-negotiating with vet still

i have sort of had cat naps myself....still a bit tired but hopeful

i'm still negotiating with the vet...she wants to stop insulin until it reaches 300....i told her he is drinking more water on his own even though yesterday for the whole day he got roughly 250 cc of fluids...she doesn't know i gave the insulin just yet...but it's dumb she wants it to go that much higher...we'll see

she also wants to stop the aluminum hydroxide and Calcitriol for a month...recheck his kidney values then and assess if both are needed....from my readings/research he does need the AH...perhaps not at that high level he was getting or maybe introducing it to him slowly and gradually upping it if need be.....i'm not convinced as per her that it does little to cats with CRF....

she had said his pheno levels were within therapeutic range...but i don't have a number...i asked her to provide that....

waiting for her reply

at +3 149....i fed him a lil bit at +1 and +3.....he is wanting to go outside now but i won't let him....

is there anything else i shoud be asking her? thoughts on that?
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216 +3 149-negotiating with vet still

I'm sooooo glad he's eating!! That's such great news. It's so very stressful when your cat won't eat.

I don't see why you would withhold insulin when he's clearly outside of the normal range of BGs... esp since he's chomping away on food now. If he gets too low, he'll take a few temptations!
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216 +3 149-negotiating with vet still

I am so HAPPY to hear Rocket is eating!! Hope you have turned a corner here--It is all because of you & your love for Rocket!!
Hope this treatment will bring dear Rocket back to wellness--Take care of yourself too Claudia--He needs you & you need to feel well--
Big Hugs--You made it better!! Blessings to you both!!
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216 +3 149-negotiating with vet still

I am very happy to hear that Rocket is eating again. And that you are getting a little rest. I hope this improvement continues. I don't know why your vet would want to stop the AH for a whole month. I know that I have seen a difference in Blackie's phos level since we started the AH and high phosphorus makes kitties feel bad. On the calcitriol, I don't know. We haven't been using it that long. Sending more vines and healing prayers for Rocket.
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216 +3 149-negotiating with vet still

Nice report on Rocket today. Sending more prayers and hugs...
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216 +3 149-negotiating with vet still

Great news today Claudia. I know you're still worried sick, but it does sound like maybe Rocket's turned a corner. Very nice on the 149, I think you made the right choice giving a little insulin. Hugs to you both, and still keeping you in our thoughts and sending healing vines white light and positive energy.
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216 +3 149 +6 77

he ate his snack at +4.5
now +6 77.4 so gave a lil snack...he ate most of it...no kibble in it...just liver dust with FF reg food

he is alert and wants to be around...i let him on the balcony for 20 mins after his +4.5 snack...but it's windy here so brought him in....he had a nap and i decided to test now...what a surprise from where we started this morning....he is now sunbathing on his bed by the window

haven't heard yet from the vet.....
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216 +3 149 +6 77

What a pleasant turn around for you and Rocket!! When they start acting like themselves again, doesn't that just totally make you all warm and fuzzy! And knowing that all your hardwork, is worth it!The thought of it alone makes me all warm and fuzzy! :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon dancing_cat
I hope things continue to get better!! I am happy he got to get some balconey time! But yes, the breezes they are starting up today! Supposed to be up to 60km/h here today!

Thoughts and hugs to you guys! Keep up the good work and HAPPY Rocket eatting his nums w/o dry kibble!
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216 +3 149 +6 77-negotiations finally do

finally finished negotiating with the vet...for now....

we are to resume the insulin at the 0.5u dose....i'm to keep her informed with his numbers and see if changes are needed (if he goes too low and the shaking starts then we know the culprit is that as no other meds are in place besides the pheno and LRS)

i'm to stay off the AH for 1 week...she wanted a month but i told her NO too dangerous with his food being high in phos as is....and his phos level was 5.26, CRE 3.16 and BUN 70.03....

we are to recheck his kidney values in 1 month (i will probably get it done sooner than that)....off AH a week and resume at a lower dose...i asked her how much...i'm awaiting her reply on that...

she still didn't give me a number on the pheno...i will call later and ask the vet tech to have my report ready for pick up...i like having stuff like that handy....she said they let grow the urine culture until today and was negative...

she said continue with the LRS bid at 150 cc each time for a few days...if not absorbed then don't give....

i have asked her if we are stopping the Calcitriol to let me know why (if at all possible an explanation) his reg Ca is high and has steadily gone up....

so for now in a week i will slowly start introducing things back to his schedule....the most important one the AH....

i have left a message with Purina Fancy Feast here in Canada (not holding my breath they will call back) regarding the phos content of the type of food he is currently on....

if i need to transition him to another type of food low in phos i would like to know if anyone in Canada has had success and what foods they are....my American friends...the sort of foods you guys mention it's not available here so i must go with what i can find in this country.... :sad:

believe me i have taken that list with me shopping and have not found more than half the stuff mentioned....

i'm interested in low carb low phos....to help him with his kidney and diabetes....

so that's that for now....
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216 +3 149 +6 77-negotiations finally do

Hi, Claudia & Rocket.. happy to hear things are slowly but surely getting better :YMHUG:
Good Luck with finding the food you need & I hope each day continues to get better for both you & Rocket.
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216 +3 149 +6 77-negotiations finally do

Claudia, I am so glad Rocket is doing a little better and eating some. It must be such a relief to see him enjoying things a little today and even wanting to go outside. Keep up the good work but don't tire yourself out too much. Rest is so important when caring for someone who is sick. I work with very frail older adults and often, the caregiver gets very sick because they never get any rest or break from 24 hour caregiving. So please please find time to rest and recharge yourself. Sending prayers your way!
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216 +3 149 +6 77-negotiations finally do

Outstanding that you got to a reasonable agreement with the vet and that Rocket is doing so much better!!! I would also be really hesitant about stopping the AlOh for a month with those numbers...they aren't terrible but phosphorus can get out of hand quickly. Good decision!!
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216 +3 149 +6 77-negotiations finally do

nice to see your hard work, dedication, and vigilance bring some results, isnt it?
nice job...
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216 +3 149 +6 77-negotiations finally do

Claudia & Rocket said:
if i need to transition him to another type of food low in phos i would like to know if anyone in Canada has had success and what foods they are....my American friends...the sort of foods you guys mention it's not available here so i must go with what i can find in this country.... :sad:

believe me i have taken that list with me shopping and have not found more than half the stuff mentioned....

i'm interested in low carb low phos....to help him with his kidney and diabetes....
..

I tried the following foods, which are available in Canada. The values below are from personal notes; I have not recently checked these against J&B's list.

Phosph is expressed in mg/100 kcal, and carbs expressed as percent of calories.

Wellness kitten: phosph 216/carb 5
Wellness turkey: phosph 200/carb 4
Wellness chicken: phosph 219/carb 4

Evo 95% venison: phosph 146/carb 2
Evo 95% beef: phosph 171/carb 2

Merrick Cowboy cookout: phosph 203/carb 5

Bear Man would not eat any of the above.

I fed him some higher phosphorus/low carb Friskies varieties (Chef Dinner and Seafood Supreme), in the phosph 260's, which he would sometimes accept.

Two Fancy Feast higher carb varieties:
FF Wild Salmon Florentine: phosph 241/carb 11
FF Shredded Wild Salmon Fare: phosph 252/carb 9.
Both were palatable but disagreed with his IBD.

I tried three canned renal foods, all high carb. He would not eat any of them. There is a Royal Canin chunk variety, which my cats would not touch. Bear would eat k/d dry, and I ended up feeding him a combo of low phosph/high carb k/d and high phosph/low carb Fancy Feast. I'm not recommending this, just sharing my experience. Bear Man accepted very limited foods, and my main priority was to keep him eating. I would say that the Wellness foods are your best bet, if Rocket will eat them (none of my cats will).
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216 +3 149 +6 77 +9 128

i have tried Evo and wellness to no avail...this is how he ended up with the fancy feast kind

he would also eat and was eating the dry k/d when he was dx with diabetes 2 yrs ago...so tried many cans back then to switch him from dry to wet....and since he was on AH i thought it was ok the FF

will try again and see how the change goes

i will not give AH for 1 week only...i tried mixing the NF with the FF and got that +9 128 so i fed him only FF as a snack an see how he does for pmps so i went to bed...slept for 2 hrs...

getting closer to his pmps

will report shortly....thank you for all your help Linda i will surely look into trying those again....see how it goes

thank you all for your well wishes too
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216 +3 149 +6 77 +9 128 PMPS 169

pmps 169
just fed him and he ate almost 1/4 of the FF can....not quite....but on his own....

this not using the AH makes me oh so nervous!!!!
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216 +3 149 +6 77 +9 128 PMPS 169

I'm glad you have good news about Rocket... you are a dedicated moma bean. so many meds... Rocket is lucky to have you... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216 +3 149 +6 77 +9 128 PMPS 169

Hi Claudia, You probably know the list of the phosphorus content of foods found on this website, but I'll send the link anyway. The charts do not give carbs, but you can work them against Janet & Binky's list:
http://www.felinecrf.org/canned_food_usa.htm

Stu always liked the By Nature 95% turkey & turkey liver. It's not the lowest in phos., but not that high, either. And it is a "pate" like food. It is made in Canada, even though the company is in New Hampshire.

Sending good thoughts your way tonight!

Ella
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket AMPS 216 +3 149 +6 77 +9 128 PMPS 169

Thank you everyone for pulling together and helping Claudia and Family pay for some of these unexpected vet bills.

:-D
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket PMPS 169 +2.5 139-not eating again :(

thank you so much Sarah...much appreciated and we thank you all from the bottom of our hearts....i'm really touched....

at +2.5 139...not wanting to eat....i have offered food and nothing...he looks so tired...not sure if it's cause his phos may be going up rapidly...hard to say...not sure if i'm over analyzing that

Ella,
i've been looking at the list and trying to come up with foods that are ok carb and phos wise...hard to do...also they have to be pate...so been spending most of the night making a list and i will go tomorrow to see if i can find any....as i said some brands are only in the US....

off to spoon feed....maybe baby food....we'll see

will keep you posted.

once again thank you so much for the prayers and well wishes...we are not out of the woods i'm afraid :sad:
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket PMPS 169 +2.5 139 +4 86-frustrated:(

+4 86...spoon fed some of his food....not quite a tsp....

this is oh so frustrating....i'm sooo mentally drained....he looks so tired though...the meds are probably still in his system even getting his subq fluids....or am i grasping at straws here? i don't know what to think anymore
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket PMPS 169 +2.5 139 +4 86-frustrated:(

Can't give any advice but wanted to stop by and say hi!! Hope Rocket starts to feel better soon!! I know this thing is soooo frustrating!! At least you are getting good numbers while all this other stuff is going on. Hope you guys have a better day tomorrow!
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket PMPS 169 +2.5 139 +4 86-frustrated:(

Hi Claudia,
Phosphorus is not usually treated until it hits 6. Rocket is still below that, and has been for a while. I dont have experience with calcitrol. It sounds like a binder is helpful or needed when using it (just getting this from your posts). If you are stopping the calcitrol for now, than a binder shouldnt be absolutely necessary at the moment. Or is there a reason due to the calcitrol that Im not understanding? I cant imagine phosphorus would start climbing drastically in a few days unless Bun/Creatinine is rising as well. He is staying pretty steady with overall renal values (thats awesome!!!).

It seems there is a lot of focus on his crf. My gut says there is something else going on. Are you open to that possibility? I hope there is a way for you to figure it out. I really do! If you had all the money in the world and the best vets at your side, what would you want and/or be willing to do to figure this out?

Didnt he eat well when you gave the cypro yesterday? Did you give it today? Are you offering kibble and temptations? Baby food?
You can try to look for the perfect food for all conditions, but if he doesnt eat any of them it does no good. It bears repeating what Linda/Bearman said last night....Just get food in him, whatever he will eat. Any chance there is a place with good rotissarre chicken??? :mrgreen:

I hope your evening improves. It was good to hear he was doing better earlier today! Thats a sign of hope, for sure!
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket PMPS 169 +4 86 +4.75 79-root of problem found

going low is what causes the shivering
he is at +4.75 79....i offered food and not interested then i picked him up to sit with him in the living room then i noticed he was shivering....so that's when i tested him...same sort of shivering i've been seeing in him....he ate the chicken dust ...i offered food no luck....the shivering is still there....will test in 15 mins....i gave the zofran as the drooling is also bad....
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket PMPS 169 +4 86 +4.75 79-root of problem found

this is good news, tho, yes? now you know why he's shivering...
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket PMPS 169 +4 86 +4.75 79-root of problem found

will email vet tonight...i know she will say to stop insulin again...

perhaps the pheno needs to be upped in order for him to be stable in both the trembling and the diabetes....

dose question then for tomorrow am....whatever number he is at...then i think i will give just less than 0.5u....buying me enough time to hear back from the vet....his dose is at 5:30 am so i won't get to vet until later that day....

thoughts on that?
comments????

i gather he may be going up as he is on the coffee table all belly up and seems relaxed....quite different than 20 mins ago....so maybe he will be ok being above the 80s....how can i help him achieve that?

testing in 5 mins....he is awake now...so better go to him
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket PMPS169 +4.75 79 +5.25 76-root of problem fou

he ate a lil bit
+5.25 75.6 so will be a long night....no kibble given
i think the zofran has kicked in as he has stopped drooling....and it may make him a lil sleepy too....so he is shivering a lil bit and one can see his head moving too...

very upsetting indeed but at least now i can have more answers once i hear back from vet....
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket PMPS169 +5.25 76 +5.5 81-root of problem foun

+5.5 81
eating on his own now....shivering has gotten less

emailed vet

looks like a long night for us here
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket PMPS169 +5.25 76 +5.5 81-root of problem foun

man...you and rocket are having a time of it, girl!

still thinking positive thoughts for you!
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket PMPS169 +5.25 76 +5.5 81-root of problem foun

Hello Claudia,

I'm sorry it has been such a roller coster for the two of you. You have a lot of people rooting for you guys, and people who seem knowedgable it many of the issues you have in front of you. I can only send support and prayers. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/6 Rocket PMPS169 +5.25 76 +5.5 81 +6.5 83- problem fou

+6.5 83
he slept for an hr...i just fed him after testing and he ate with much gusto but not all....but almost the whole serving....he is now in the bathroom laying there....his ears are pretty warm to touch....

testing in half hr to see where he is at....the shivering has stopped....
 
from his +7 to now +9....he's been laying in the bathroom...sleeping...
have tried many times to get him to bed with me....he stays in bed prob 5 mins then gets up and goes straight to the bathroom....

+9 122
no shivering

i don't know what to do....this is very upsetting...this is not him at all....it is much cooler in the bathroom than anywhere else....he is sleeping not really looking to drink water or the like....so hard to decipher...

doesn't wanna eat either....
 
:YMSIGH: it bothers me too when they seem to sleep in uncomfortable spots when they could be cozy but its probably best to just let him sleep where he wants to & allow him to rest. I'm happy to hear he ate some & the reason for shivering has been identified too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top