1/6 Rocket AMPS 270-small update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
hi all,
i will be quick as i need to post in different groups to get guidance on what i need to do today...

back from vet

i explained to the vet he is peeing more often and smaller amounts...based on the report from the urine culture she got...she said the Baytril may not be doing it's job and we don't know what we are dealing with

SO....

this afternoon at 5 pm i'm to take him to the hospital to get an ultrasound done...they will check his pancreas, kidneys and bladder....

vet thinks maybe tumors or maybe cysts in the bladder but she said she won't jump to conclusions until the ultrasound is done and we can go from there with a plan....be it meds or same ab he's been before...

that said...

here is the question i have

he gets insulin at 5 am/pm

this morning amps 308
+4.5 151

we will be heading out at 4:30 pm which means he will be at the hospital getting the u/s when he is supposed to get the insulin....i really don't want to skip the shot due to him getting the pred at 8 pm tonight which means if i skip the shot then most likely his AMPS tomorrow will be pretty darn high

another thing to consider is we don't know what sort of infection we are dealing with...i'm giving him subq but skipping the insulin may make him get DKA which he has never gotten but now i'm not so sure if it's a skip and a jump to it based on all that's happened to him...

WHEN DO I GIVE INSULIN? CAN I GIVE IT AT 4:30? IF HE GETS IT I CAN'T GIVE FOOD AS HE NEEDS NOT EAT AT LEAST PRIOR OF THE U/S.....

another thing to consider is the fact that he WILL get a mild sedative to get the u/s....he has needed it in the past...so i know he will get one today....

CAN ANYONE SHED SOME LIGHT INTO MY DILEMMA?

MUCH APPRECIATED

PRAYERS STILL NEEDED HERE...

last condo http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=60111
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket AMPS 308 +4.5 151-back from vet-have ???

Just an idea, Claudia, and I don't know how feasible it is....can you take the insulin with you and shoot him after the ultrasound? It will still be a late shot, but not as late as waiting until you get home.
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket AMPS 308 +4.5 151-back from vet-have ???

I had the same thought as Anne. It would be better if you could shoot within 30 min. of shot time. You could also bring food with you and feed after the test, if Rocket is awake enough to eat.
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket AMPS 308 +4.5 151-back from vet-have ???

he will get a mild sedative to do the u/s

would that make his BG drop? any idea on it?

he has had the sedative before and it takes a while to clear his system...and i have to up his subq for him to flush it....

if he is too groggy to eat even syringe fed...can i still shoot? i will bring all including food (prefilled syringes)....

would there be interaction between the sedative and the insulin?
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket AMPS 308 +4.5 151-back from vet-have ???

Claudia, I would think the sedative possibly might cause his bg to go lower but of course ICID. Hopefully, people who have had u/s done will weigh in. Great idea in bringing the insulin, glucometer and food with you. How did Rocket do at the vet? Was there much attitude? Praying for good results.
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket AMPS 308 +4.5 151-back from vet-have ???

not much attitude from him...though he got a little work out....but the vet managed to feel his belly and he didn't seem to fight as much....so perhaps he is still not doing too good... :(
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket AMPS 308 +4.5 151-back from vet-have ???

When Spitzer needed a dental, my vet had him fasting and told me to give half of his dose before the procedure.

So one possible option would be to split the dose around the appointment, if a blood test showed it would be safe to do. The subsequent regularly scheduled dose tomorrow would be skinny by 0.25-ish, to account for the overlap due to the 2nd half of the dose. Then back on track tomorrow evening.
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket AMPS 308 +4.5 151-back from vet-have ???

I would take the insulin with to the procedure and let them give it when they are done or decide it is safe and have them record the time they do it.

Giving it just before taking him to the procedure creates too many problems IMO. When they do the ultrasound they may decide they need to do some sedation to do further testing. You don't want to have just fed before the procedure IMO. I have had 2 cats in for ultrasounds, one was sedated for further testing and one was not.
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket AMPS 308 +4.5 151-back from vet-have ???

each time he's had an u/s he's been mildly sedated and last yr they aspirated the pancreas while he was still out of it....so if they need to aspirate again then i know the sedative used will do the trick....as he has never cooperated for any u/s in the past hence the sedative....

i also know that any BG under 300 they don't deem it prudent to give insulin....Rocket's reg vet doesn't want me giving insulin if he is 200 and below....but i know with the pred on board later on his BG will go up...

but now i'm conflicted in that would there be interaction from the sedative and the insulin and from the sedative to the pred?


BJM, i'm not sure i follow with the split dose...sorry...my brain isn't working today
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket AMPS 308 +4.5 151-back from vet-have ???

Rocket & his Mom said:
BJM, i'm not sure i follow with the split dose...sorry...my brain isn't working today

No worries - you've a lot on your mind.

If you did it, it would be
test and if safe, 1/2 dose before procedure
test and if safe, 1/2 dose after procedure
test and if safe, next regular dose skinny because of overlap from dose above
test and if safe, next dose after that, return to normal.
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket AMPS 308 +4.5 151-back from vet-have ???

Rocket, you are so beautiful, hoping everthing goes well for you today. we will be thinking of you and your mama bean.
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket AMPS 308 +4.5 151-back from vet-have ???

Sending good vibes for Rocket's u/s Claudia. Hope it turns out to be just an infection. Thinking of you both.
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket AMPS 308 +4.5 151-back from vet-have ???

I often took Tawny's insulin w/me when we were going back and forth to LVRC and in fact took her Lantus pen to leave there for them to use to dose her when she stayed in the hospital. I put the pen in a 32 oz styrofoam cup, put a small ice pack in there w/it, put the lid on it, and off we would go. Took her meter and my syringes too. 3 times I tested her, gave her her shot and fed her in a lobby full of people while we were waiting to see the vet, once I even dosed her on the front seat of my car. One time in the lobby she was still needing to be finger fed, I sat right there on the floor w/her and finger fed her after her test & shot and I didn't care what anybody thought.

b/c she's worth it.

Sending lots of healing vines to Rocket. Hope this works out perfectly for you and Rocket.
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket AMPS 308 +4.5 151-back from vet-have ???

Still at the hospital so will be quick (typing from phn)

Both masses have grown...that said vet was shocked to see him after a yr

Aspirate done on the pancreas mass
Nodules on/near liver...also aspirated

No cysts nor crystals in bladder

No abs to go home with

Pmps 17.4 mmol...sorry can't convert ...we r 1 1/2 hr late on insulin. Gave full dose. Gave 30 cc food via syringe.

We will await new urine culture and aspirate results

He (vet) said he was happy all things considered...so we'll see

I won't jump for joy til he stops shaking...he is pretty messed up from the sedative :(
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket -still at hospital but have news

((((((Claudia and Rocket)))))) Hope Rocket recoups quickly!
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket -still at hospital but have news

PMPS = 313

Hopefully, Rocket will calm back down once he's home and gets some food in his system to help offset the effects of the sedation.
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket -still at hospital but have news

Paws crosse for good test results. I hope he shakes off the sedative soon. Tess wants to know if it's OK for KTSS to come by.
2056.gif
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket -we are home from the hospital

we are home
it won't be an easy night...he is still not himself...and i knew that...the sedative takes a good 12 hrs to fully get out of his system...so hoping tomorrow a.m. subq dose will help him wash it off...

he is pretty wobbly and disoriented...i will be up all night making sure he doesn't injure himself...i gave him some water with a tuna ice cube i made yesterday for him...he drank it all up...so food and water in tummy

now i have to adjust all his meds...even the pred will have to wait an hr or so....

the deciding factor to release him from the hospital tonight was the fact that he slept a good 5 mins and wasn't shaky...but i think it was the pheno kicking in (i gave it to him soon after i fed him as that in itself was late as well)

please keep him in your prayers tonight....it will be a rough night for him...it has been a rough day for him as well.....

i will update as i know more....
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket -we are home from the hospital

Always thinking of you and Rocket, Claudia. I hope tonight isn't too terribly awful for either of you, and that he feels much better in the morning. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket -we are home from the hospital

We are sending healing energy for you and Rocket for a speedy recovery.
Liz
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket -we are home from the hospital

Just want to say I'm thinking of you. Hope Rocket is back to himself today. Hugs for both of you.
 
Re: 1/5 Rocket -we are home from the hospital

Hi ((((Claudia & Rocket)))),
How is Rocket doing today? We are continuing to send our prayers, to think healing thoughts, and today Rusty is busy making a new bouquet of healing vines to send to his pal, Rocket. Feel better, Rocket. Get some rest, Claudia.

Lots of hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi LL Family,
It was a very rough night for Rocket and for me....I hate seeing him like that even though I knew he needed the ultrasound to get answers as to what is going on with him....I still hate putting him thru that...
I fed him a couple of times thru the night and since shot time had changed it allowed me to give him some food and his subq at 3.30am...
I’m back to work today and i feel like a bag of you know what.....
AMPS 270
He ate breffis on his own and then about 45 mins later a small snack then I left...I will go check on him at lunch and see how he is doing. I’m awaiting an email from his vet with the u/s report and also hopefully we will have the results on the aspirates they did....
I truly hope he is ok while I’m at work....

Hope it’s ok i’m keeping yesterday’s condo....
 
I hope him eating on his own signals that he is feeling better. I am looking forward to the vets report on the U/S, hoping all is clear. Hugs to you both.
 
So glad he's home and feeling better!

sending healing energy, vines and snowflakes to your gorgeous guy, and some restful vines to you, Claudia!

celi & binks
 
Sending Hugs Love & Healing Prayers for You & Rocket...Hope he will be better tonite--
Believe me after last night, I got a small dose of what you go through Cllaudia--You are a Rock!
And Rocket is just our Hero-what an amazing boy--Love you guys Healing Prayers always for you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top