1/6 Phoenix AMPS 290, +6 133... Is this what I should be seeing?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi there :cool:
Do I just need to be patient and wait to see where the 1.25 dose settles?
Yes, that is correct.
From the TR protocol:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
The numbers will guide you.

Looks like Phoenix is getting used to testing. The key for us was a treat after every poke. It's amazing how in a relativity short period of time treats can turn even a growling hissing tom off the streets into a cooperative kitty!

It is recommended, for safety, that you get at least one mid cycle test on the overnights . Many kitties will run lower numbers on the overnights. A 'before bed' test is a good place to start.
Along with keeping your kitty safe during any given cycle , the accumulated data from the overnights will help you make safe dosing decisions.


You are doing great.Hang in there!
 
Thank you! She is getting use to it most the time. She just likes to wiggle and shake her head just as I get a nice drop. The treats definitely help!

I will try to get a nightly reading, at least a +4. I didn't realize numbers could run lower at night.

Thank you!
 
heehee i remember a couple of times accidentally hitting the vein, and OF COURSE punkin would shake his head to get the wet drop off - making the place look like a bit of a crime scene with blood spatters all over!

There are some cats that typically get all of their dose reductions in the night cycle. it's because day cycles are affected by the Dawn Phenomenon. Doesn't mean you have to test all night every night, but getting a before bed test will help you see where Phoenix might be headed.
 
Haha yes I did that the other evening and it was a mess! I'm going to try to start getting +4 readings in the evenings. Over the weekend I'll get up and get a +6 or 7 to see where she is.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top