1/6 Nemo AMPS no test, +1 119, +2 64, +2.5 50,+3 57,+4 63, +5.5 71, +6 69, +8 78,+10.5 93

UMMMMM.....you shot at +11? I was under the impression you had stalled because he was lower than you wnat d to shoot.

Is he keeping his food down? If so, I’d feed him a couple of good sized tsp of food and test at +2.

Link to earlier condo
 
Last edited:
UMMMMM.....you shot at +11? I was under the impression you had stalled because he was lower than you wnat d to shoot.

Is he keeping his food down? If so, I’d feed him a couple of good sized tsp of food and test at +2.
Sorry no I shot at +12. I'll get this down one day..I hope!
He is keeping food down. I'll feed him and do +2
 
It’s pretty early for that much of a drop. I’d give him a couple tsps of HC gravy and retest in 30 minutes. I’ll be here.

He’s safe.....this is a safe number on a human meter and he did just onset but we have a lot of cycle to go so you best catch it now.
 
It’s pretty early for that much of a drop. I’d give him a couple tsps of HC gravy and retest in 30 minutes. I’ll be here.

He’s safe.....this is a safe number on a human meter and he did just onset but we have a lot of cycle to go so you best catch it now.
Ok gonna feed him now and update my SS will test in 30.
 
Also...can you please fix the subject line after you feed him and update the SS so we have all the right numbers? Thanks...that helps members keep an eye out.
 
In a PM requesting help, you stated that you first tested him at 11:30 and got the 123. Since you shot late last night at about 1 a.m., then 11:30 this morning was +10.5. That’s correct. You then tested 40 mins later at roughly +11.25 and got the 133 but you shot at +12. Since you didn’t retest before you shot, let’s put the subject line like this so it’s really accurate:

1/6 Nemo +10.5 123, +11.25 133 AMPS no test, +1 119, +2 64

You can copy and paste that if you like. Standing by for next test.
 
Also...can you please fix the subject line after you feed him and update the SS so we have all the right numbers? Thanks...that helps members keep an eye out.
He's now down to 50. He's finishing up his canned. Should I give him some dry? I'm thinking to check in another 30 min
 
In a PM requesting help, you stated that you first tested him at 11:30 and got the 123. Since you shot late last night at about 1 a.m., then 11:30 this morning was +10.5. That’s correct. You then tested 40 mins later at roughly +11.25 and got the 133 but you shot at +12. Since you didn’t retest before you shot, let’s put the subject line like this so it’s really accurate:

1/6 Nemo +10.5 123, +11.25 133 AMPS no test, +1 119, +2 64

You can copy and paste that if you like. Standing by for next test.
Ok changes to what you had and he's down to 50. He just finished half can of HC gravy, should I give him some dry too
 
He was almost done when I tested...He's a slow eater. But he licked the plate clean!
It takes about 30 minutes from the time they finish eating until the BG is affected. Go ahead and give him a little more gravy...a tsp...no more. But let’s test him 30 mins after he finished the half can because that should hit his system and hopefully we will see the BG rising.
 
It takes about 30 minutes from the time they finish eating until the BG is affected. Go ahead and give him a little more gravy...a tsp...no more. But let’s test him 30 mins after he finished the half can because that should hit his system and hopefully we will see the BG rising.
Ok sounds good. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!
 
Actually that’s good because you’ve stopped the drop and gotten him flatter.

Do you think he will eat a couple tsp MC food? It’s still early so I just want to keep him flat and keep him from dropping without giving him more HC.

Please retest 30 mins after he’s done eating. Thank you!
 
Great. Let’s switch to LC (low carb) food. My suggestion would be to give him thirty minutes, feed him LC food (couple tsp), and test him 30 minutes from that so you’d be back here in an hour.

Will that work?
 
Which is how many hours since you shot?

If you add anything to the cell other than the BG (for example “@ +4.5”), which we all do, you have to manually color the cell by clicking on the cell that you want to color, then going to the toolbar and clicking on the icon that looks like a pitcher and then selecting the appropriate color based on the color coding in the SS bar. Also, to record tests that are not exactly on the hour from when you shot, we do it like this:

Example: say you shot at 12 pm
If you test at 15 minutes after any hour from that, we record it as .25 so testing at 3 pm +15 minutes would be recorded as +3.25.
If you test at 30 minutes after any hour from that, we record it as .50 so testing at 3 pm +30 minutes would be recorded as +3.5.
If you test at 45 minutes after any hour from that, we record it as .75 so testing at 3 pm +45 minutes would be recorded as +3.75.

If you test in between those minutes, just round it either up or down so if you tested at 3:10 pm, just make it +3.25.
 
Which is how many hours since you shot?

If you add anything to the cell other than the BG (for example “@ +4.5”), which we all do, you have to manually color the cell by clicking on the cell that you want to color, then going to the toolbar and clicking on the icon that looks like a pitcher and then selecting the appropriate color based on the color coding in the SS bar. Also, to record tests that are not exactly on the hour from when you shot, we do it like this:

Example: say you shot at 12 pm
If you test at 15 minutes after any hour from that, we record it as .25 so testing at 3 pm +15 minutes would be recorded as +3.25.
If you test at 30 minutes after any hour from that, we record it as .50 so testing at 3 pm +30 minutes would be recorded as +3.5.
If you test at 45 minutes after any hour from that, we record it as .75 so testing at 3 pm +45 minutes would be recorded as +3.75.

If you test in between those minutes, just round it either up or down so if you tested at 3:10 pm, just make it +3.25.
Ah so that's how you do that. I will fix all that as soon as my computer stops being a jerk! Lol.
It has been +4.5
 
Let's give it a try to let him go until +6 to test again. If he’s hungry, it’s ok to feed him a tsp of LC; in fact, it might not hurt just to keep him surfing here in green. But I wouldn’t give more than a tsp unless he hasn’t had all the food he normally would eat. We try not to feed after mid cycle if possible because it can put the brakes on the insulin action so if he’s hungry or hasn’t had all his normal portion of food, I’d feed now.
 
Let's give it a try to let him go until +6 to test again. If he’s hungry, it’s ok to feed him a tsp of LC; in fact, it might not hurt just to keep him surfing here in green. But I wouldn’t give more than a tsp unless he hasn’t had all the food he normally would eat. We try not to feed after mid cycle if possible because it can put the brakes on the insulin action so if he’s hungry or hasn’t had all his normal portion of food, I’d feed now.
Ok thank you! I'll give him alittle food, he didn't eat alot last feeding. Talk in an hour and a half
 
Ok thank you! I'll give him alittle food, he didn't eat alot last feeding. Talk in an hour and a half
Sounds good.

BTW, good job on the subject line and also on the SS. It is important to keep the subject line up-to-date because those helping will just scan down the line and see what the numbers are and if anyone needs help. If they think he’s still at 57, they might pop in only to find we are well past that. If you need more room, just take out from +10.5 through 133.
 
Sounds good.

BTW, good job on the subject line and also on the SS. It is important to keep the subject line up-to-date because those helping will just scan down the line and see what the numbers are and if anyone needs help. If they think he’s still at 57, they might pop in only to find we are well past that. If you need more room, just take out from +10.5 through 133.
I'm confusing myself. Lol. If we do a +6 that's actually now. Do you want me to do that and then give him alittle food
 
So he's now at 69 at +6. He's also not really hungry. I even mixed in alittle baby food, no carbs.
So he’s holding steady and he “should” start to come up at some time. Even though it’s after midcycle, at any point you can get him to eat even a tsp of LC would be good.

There are a couple ways we can go forward:
—if he’s doing ok with testing, you could test at +7 and see if he’s on the way up and we caught the nadir
—if he’s tired of being poked, we could go until +8 esp if he will eat a small LC snack.

Thoughts?

We should talk about tonight just because I won’t be around when you shoot although I will be around for a while longer but I have plans in two hours so I won’t be here longer than that and that would get you to +8.

I will see if Bron is around or maybe Gill since she is in Spain.
 
So he’s holding steady and he “should” start to come up at some time. Even though it’s after midcycle, at any point you can get him to eat even a tsp of LC would be good.

There are a couple ways we can go forward:
—if he’s doing ok with testing, you could test at +7 and see if he’s on the way up and we caught the nadir
—if he’s tired of being poked, we could go until +8 esp if he will eat a small LC snack.

Thoughts?

We should talk about tonight just because I won’t be around when you shoot although I will be around for a while longer but I have plans in two hours so I won’t be here longer than that and that would get you to +8.

I will see if Bron is around or maybe Gill since she is in Spain.
My little man is very tired of being poked and he wouldn't eat, he just licked alittle. So let's do the +8 and ill see if i can get him to eat some in a bit. Does that sound good?
 
My little man is very tired of being poked and he wouldn't eat, he just licked alittle. So let's do the +8 and ill see if i can get him to eat some in a bit. Does that sound good?
Yes....let’s hope he will keep coming up. I’ll see you at +8 and we can talk about dose quickly before i head out.
 
Yes....let’s hope he will keep coming up. I’ll see you at +8 and we can talk about dose quickly before i head out.
You are a God send! I can't thank you enough for everything!:bighug:Nemo really thanks you!!
 

Attachments

  • 20190106_175843.jpg
    20190106_175843.jpg
    65.3 KB · Views: 40
Great number!!! He’s had a really great day.

So I’m on the way out...I was just waiting for that test. Another very experienced member, @Sandy and Black Kitty, will check in with you and hang out in case you need any help.

My thoughts on dosing for tonight, which I also shared with Sandy and she agreed, is that you might want to stick with 0.25u. He didn’t earn a reduction from 0.5u but between the vomiting and him not really being gung ho on eating, I think it’s best to be cautious. It’s easier to increase the dose if, once the 0.5u depot drains, it’s clear he needs more insulin. Sound good?

Have a great evening. You both did super today.

Thanks, Sandy :kiss::kiss::kiss:
 
Great number!!! He’s had a really great day.

So I’m on the way out...I was just waiting for that test. Another very experienced member, @Sandy and Black Kitty, will check in with you and hang out in case you need any help.

My thoughts on dosing for tonight, which I also shared with Sandy and she agreed, is that you might want to stick with 0.25u. He didn’t earn a reduction from 0.5u but between the vomiting and him not really being gung ho on eating, I think it’s best to be cautious. It’s easier to increase the dose if, once the 0.5u depot drains, it’s clear he needs more insulin. Sound good?

Have a great evening. You both did super today.

Thanks, Sandy :kiss::kiss::kiss:
Thank you so much!! I'll feed him a little later and maybe he'll be more hungry and ill do the .25. Have a wonderful evening and thank you for helping us!!!! Huge hugs
 
You have had quite a day :cool:

PMPS is at 1:00am eastern, correct?
Hi Sandy! Well he's had more the day, my brain just hurts. Lol Actually that was just last night. After Marje got back to me i decided not to skip his insulin again, and that's what time it was. I usually feed and then shoot between 11 and 1130pm. I found out today that I don't have to wait to give him his insulin 15 to 30 min aft et he eats like my vet told me. So I figured I'd do his test at 11pm and then feed him and give him his insulin while he's eating. Sound right?
 
Hi again Sandy.
So he's 93 at +10.5. That's the highest he's been all day! So I'm gonna give him his .25 while he's eating and then I'll recheck at +2.
 
Back
Top