1/6 Magnolia AMPS 353

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sara & Magnolia

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

WCR: All's well. Ravenous. Meowy-wowwy.

I had hoped she would stay lower today since she dropped into the yellow last night, but I guess she's not ready yet. I'm anxious to meet with her new vet tonight, it will be so nice to have that support.
 
Hello!

It's hard to tell what is going on with Magnolia's BG. Any chance you can sneak in a few different spot checks?

I hope your meeting with your new vet went well.
 
I hope your vet visit went well! Looking forward to tonight's numbers, though I guess they will be influenced by vet stress.
 
Re: 1/6 Magnolia PMPS 261

Is it possible that kitties rebound the other way? As in, she went so high at the vet that she went much lower than usual for PMPS?

The vet visit went well. We had to wait over an hour because of an emergency surgery, but Magnolia sat patiently in her carrier. We love her new vet. She wants to be a bit more aggressive than I have been to get BG under control, we increased from 3.5 to 4 units with her PM dose (still following the protocol though, right?) She absolutely needs dental work done, but the vet advised against doing it until her BG is better controlled. It is such a relief to have the support of a vet with her treatment!

I can get more spot checks. Random times or specific times? It's really hard to get checks in during the week as I am at TBP most of the day, usually until 9pm lately. I had been driving home when I had breaks, but with the icy roads, I doubt I'll be doing that as much. My schedule is just nutty for the next 7 weeks. But if you have requests, I can try my best to get those times. :-D I'm home part of the day tomorrow, I can get a couple.
 
glad you have a vet you like!

The protocol would have had you go up by 0.25 units, since Magnolia has had yellow numbers on this dose (though there is also a spot that says you can increase by 0.5 when at a higher dose - we don't use that one a lot here, but it IS written there!). I would get some nighttime checks tonight since sometimes they like to drop when on a new dose - a +3 would be good, or before you go to bed.
 
Re: 1/6 Magnolia PMPS 261 + 2 275

I know I should have gone up .25, but I really want to listen to the vet. For now anyway. It was the loophole of the .5 I was referring to.

I just got her +2 and she is at 275. I'm getting ready to go to bed. Should I get another check tonight? I can try to stay awake for a +3, but I can't make any promises. She hadn't eaten since PM shot.
 
Re: 1/6 Magnolia PMPS 261

Sara TZ said:
Is it possible that kitties rebound the other way? As in, she went so high at the vet that she went much lower than usual for PMPS?

Vet stress can cause BGs to go either way - many kitties go up but some go down too. Sasha drops fast with vet stress, and it's not uncommon for her to hit the 40's or lower after a vet visit. Maybe you saw a little of this today. It's a good thing to track so you know how Magnolia reacts to a vet visit, and can go prepared if necessary (I have to travel with HC every time). I always take a test just prior to leaving for the vet's, occasionally take a BG there as well, and then again when we return home.

As far as testing - Any extra tests you can get in would be good. Lots of the picture is missing, and with an increase like that it would be great to have some staggered test times in whenever you get a chance.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top