1/6 Maggie +3 78; +3.5 76; +6 96; +8 135; PMPS 151

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33644

Morning - All P's in place, even lb, although it's small and a little hard! I feel almost certain I missed a green if I could have gotten up once more and checked her. I was so super tired. I have tendonitis again in the shoulder and neck, and it's so hard sleeping when it decides to rear its ugly head. Need some ~O) ! Michelle & Mannie, I may see you at Starbucks this morning for one of those mocha thingy coffees! I think I may have done a skinny .50 last night, and there was even a tiny bubble in the syringe. I'm thinking she can decrease to a skinny .50. Any thoughts? She's doing so well this second time around. This AMPS is with food two hours earlier.
 
Re: 1/6 Maggie AMPS 111 - Thoughts?

Good morning Ann. Maggie is doing very well. As far as lowering the dose I am not sure that is a good idea right now.
Since Maggie was OTJ once she needs to work harder for those reductions. She has a lot of blue on her ss which is good but there should be more green.

See what other's think. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/6 Maggie AMPS 111 - Thoughts?

No help on the doses. I'm jealous of your starbucks mocha thingy. I'm drinking home brew and its not the same. They were going to open a starbucks in our town last year but put that on hold :(

Do you have a diagnosis of tendonitis? I'm going to be asking to see a specialist for my neck - it went into my back and shoulder last month. A friend told me to look up facet pain and it really decribed what I was dealing with to a tee. I'm worried about seeing someone making it chronic vs just flareups though.
 
Re: 1/6 Maggie AMPS 111 - Thoughts?

I agree with Miriam. Even with the AlphaTrack, there are still numbers that are higher than what I'd want to see for a reduction.
 
Re: 1/6 Maggie AMPS 111 - Thoughts?

I agree as well. Her numbers are beautiful! Still, she only has 3 days so far in the greens (when taking the AT into consideration), and hasn't dropped below 70, so she hasn't earned the reduction yet.
 
Re: 1/6 Maggie AMPS 111 - Thoughts?

Okay, thanks Miriam and Sienne. I just hate to see her getting too low, even though I know it's needed in order to earn a reduction. The lows scare me for some reason. I guess I am a wus!

Hi Karrie. Yes, I do have a tendonitis diagnos and have had three or so steriod shots in the shoulder, and they work very well so that I could do physical therapy. There's a limit of three a year for me. Good luck with seeing a Specialist. Ouch the neck area is so painful!
 
Re: 1/6 Maggie AMPS 111 - Thoughts?

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
I agree as well. Her numbers are beautiful! Still, she only has 3 days so far in the greens (when taking the AT into consideration), and hasn't dropped below 70, so she hasn't earned the reduction yet.

Hmmm...I see I am outnumbered here :sad: just kidding! Thanks Laurie!
 
Re: 1/6 Maggie AMPS 111

Morning Ann and Maggie! Was that you that I saw this morning as I was leaving SB, with my mocha ~O) ?? :lol:

Ow on the tendonitis. I have it in my elbow - can relate - flareups though so not too bad.

Nice amps for Maggie today. No dose expert here, but I would agree with the others. Green for you today Miss Maggie?
 
Re: 1/6 Maggie AMPS 111; +2 86

Well, you Beans were right about Maggie Pie having some greens. Just when I wanted to get an early start. this is only +2 and not even her Nadir. I have time for an out the door check and ...maybe leave some high carb food for her?

Okay Binks - Maggie just had a bg of 86, so she's on her way to meet the Binkster for golf lessons!

Michelle - I haven't made it yet to Starbucks, but hope to do so as soon as I can get my act together. Now I'm getting hooked on Starbucks. I usually have a straight, black coffee but want to try one of the sweet dessert coffees! Wish we lived closer.
 
Re: 1/6 Maggie AMPS 111; +2 86

Me tinks dat Maggie may be working on that reduction, lol! Work Maggie Work!

Hope you feel better soon. No fun being in pain, nope, not at all.
 
Re: 1/6 Maggie AMPS 111; +2 86

Good morning guys! Sounds like maggie heard the rumors of not having enough green on her SS and wanted to show off what she can do .. nice job guys! I hope she surfs the day away for you .. sorry to hear about your shoulder/neck area .. hope the pain goes away soon .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/6 Maggie AMPS 111; +2 86; +3 78 Question

Hi Mocha,
Thanks so much for the good wishes, and yes, she heard everyone and now look at the showoff. I think Maggie just earned a dosecrease, right! I don't think I even got a full .50 dose in her this morning, as I saw a little bubble. I hate to see her go too much lower, so maybe I will do another check before I leave and then leave out some hc. She's not as bouncy or playful today!
 
Re: 1/6 Maggie AMPS 111; +2 86; +3 78; +3.5 76 Question

Surprise! Two 70's in a row, so dosecrease tonight. I am going to leave some hc food for her before I leave, and I shouldn't be gone too long! Note to self - pick up more hc food! I am running out of Alpha Trak strips but did order some a few days ago. I have my back-up Relion and also an Accu-chek.
 
Re: 1/6 Maggie AMPS 111; +2 86; +3 78; +3.5 76

Morning Ann! Nice surf going there for Maggie!! I hope that soon you'll be seeing nothing but green!!

Ouch on the tendonitis...sure hope it gets better. I'm sure a few peppermint mocha lattes would definitely not hurt!!! :lol:
 
Re: 1/6 Maggie AMPS 111; +2 86; +3 78; +3.5 76

Thanks Marjorie & Gracie! Yes, she's on a green surf. I just left out some hc food out for her since I have to leave shortly. I wonder how much to give her? Boy, did she ever gobble it up. She's acting like i never feed her! I guess this is their junk food, like the fries are to us. Yes, I think the peppermint mocha latte will help me. :smile: Have a good day. I'll be by later to visit condos.
 
Re: 1/6 Maggie AMPS 111; +2 86; +3 78; +3.5 76

Since Maggie isn't a newly diagnosed kitty, and has come back from the falls once, she really needs to work for those reductions. I would not reduce unless she fully meets the protocol guidelines. The guidelines from the Tilly protocol are:

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!

She has only dropped below 80 twice on two separate days (which is equivalent to below 50), so she does not meet that section of the guidelines. I know it seems picky, but I really would not give her any slack. Keeping her on the dose longer will give her more time in the healing range, and therefore a better chance of getting a strong, lasting remission this time.

I certainly don't blame you for giving HC today if you need to leave! Safety comes first.
 
Re: 1/6 Maggie AMPS 111; +2 86; +3 78; +3.5 76; +6 96

Hi Laurie,
Thanks for the above information. Maggie didn't shoot up as much as I thought she would as I added FF grilled salmon and shrimp with gravy mixed in with some of her lc food. I'm a little confused as I've been following the Companion for Animal Health, University of Queensland University protocol. The Tilly is for human meters. On page 4 of the University of Queensland protocol it has the protocol for the Alpha Trak. I think I am confused. I'm not thinking straight and will go back and re-review. thanks for your patience.
 
Re: 1/6 Maggie AMPS 111; +2 86; +3 78; +3.5 76; +6 96

Hi, Ann & Maggie.. wonderful #s!! Your girl is gorgeous in green.. just like Gabby! Please send the memo to Baby :mrgreen:
Wishing you both a Happy Friday Eve!!
 
Re: 1/6 Maggie +3 78; +3.5 76; +6 96; +8 135

I guess the 135 bg was the carbs I left for her when I had to leave. I never saw her eat so fast!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top