1/6 Lucy PMPS=167;+2=148

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

1/5 AMPS=293 (0.75u); +2=290; +5.5=184; +8.5=185
1/5 PMPS=218 (0.75u); +2=230; +5=218

1/6 AMPS=200 (0.75u); +2=166; +2.5=151; +3=149; +8.75=140; +10.5=169
1/6 PMPS=167 (0.75u); +2=148

Lucy ate the 1st breakfast fine by finger-feeding.
Her energy is still low, but she's eating and that's what's most important at the moment.
We have the 2nd appointment with the holistic vet today.
She's supposed get an acupuncture treatment.... Hopefully she stays still long enough.
She got acupuncture done many times earlier this year, and she behaved well but they were done at the vet, so I'm not sure how she'd be at home.

:?: I need to fast Lucy tomorrow morning for bloodwork.
We are getting her B12 and fructosamin tested, and I have to fast her for B12.
(Frustosamin, I don't care, but the vet wants to do it, and I'm also curious where she's at with all these yellows and pinks.)
I think Lucy is currently in the process of filling up her shed, and it's going slowly, so I really would like to avoid skipping tomorrow AM shot.
I got the first appointment of the day, 9am. I can get home at around 10am.
Her usual shot time is 7am.
I can't really move the shot time back slowly by 30min/day. It'll be 3 hours late if I shoot her after the appointment tomorrow, and that's too much to slowly get back on schedule.
But since she's currently NOT regulated tightly, I thought maybe I have room to not be exactly 12hr & 12 hr.
Do you think I can do this?
A) Tomorrow AM: 10am -->Tomorrow PM: 9pm --> Wednesday AM: 8am --> Wednesday PM: 8pm --> Thursday AM: 7am - or -
B) Tomorrow AM: 10am --> Tomorrow PM: 7pm (back on schedule right away if her BG is yellow). :?:


ETA: Please ignore above, I'm not doing these. But please see another :?: below.

I appreciate your suggestion/advice.

Sending vines to all in need!
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy AMPS=200 // fasting tomorrow

I would not shoot 3 hours early.
How long does she have to be fasted for?
Can you give her her shot at 9:00am or a few minutes before the appointment and then feed her as soon as you get home? That would save on hour of being off.

I hope the accupuncture appointment today goes smoothly.
I wouldn't mind trying accupuncture for J.D. Maybe someday.
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy AMPS=200 // fasting tomorrow

Dyana,
I thought about that too, but I don't want to shoot and later find that she won't eat.....
Her appetite hasn't really been reliable these days.....
Maybe I should just skip.....
I'm afraid that skipping may get her into pink and sick again.... :sad:
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy AMPS=200 // fasting tomorrow

How about the option A)?
Sort of 11hr interval for a couple of days....
As long as she stays higher blue - yellow?

She needs to be fasted for overnight, for 12hrs.
I got a vet tech call IDEXX to double check.
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy AMPS=200 // fasting tomorrow

Or would adjusting dose work instead of adjusting shot time somehow????
Maybe a little reduced dose tomorrow morning after the vet or evening?
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy AMPS=200 // fasting tomorrow

If you do the 11 hour interval, it's going to act like dose increases, one after another, after another.
I don't know, maybe you can do a slightly reduced dose tomorrow morning and depending upon her numbers, shoot at +10 (8:00pm) and then slowly change in 15 minute increments after that. Let's see what others have to day about that.
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy AMPS=200;+2=166 // fasting tomorrow

Thank you, Dyana.
It looks like Lucy's working the juice better now, so if she stays like this, I see that either A) or B) are NOT a good idea.....

Depending on how she does tonight and what her number is tomorrow morning, I will either:
C) Skip tomorrow AM.
D) Shoot after the appointment, and get back on schedule by 30min/day (15min/shot) until normal time.

If I take D), it will take 6 days to get back on schedule, so it's difficult with the work schedule, but I think I can manage.... if it's the only safe way.
If she is blue tomorrow morning, I may just skip.
If she is yellow, I'll see if I can do D).

What do you think????
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy AMPS=200;+2=166 // fasting tomorrow

I think C and D are better and safer.

I hope she isn't charging you too much for that fructosamine.

Keep coming down, nice and easy, Lucy.
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy AMPS=200;+2=166;+2.5=151 // fasting tomorrow

Hmmmm, curious....
Her number usually comes up in AM because of steroid....
I checked twice if she spitted the pill, but I'm pretty sure she took it.
I'll stay another 30 min to check +3.....
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy AMPS=200;+2=166;+2.5=151 // fasting tomorrow

I'm glad Lucy is still eating for you today. Sending good vetty vines for tomorrow's appointment. Good luck with whatever you decide on the morning shot.
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy AMPS=200;+2=166;+2.5=151;+3=149 // fasting tomo

Hi Mariko,
Glad to see Lucy sliding down for you! Sending vines for her appy to continue :-D
Hope you are able to figure out a safe way to get Lucy's labs done, without messing up your work schedule too much~
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy AMPS=200;+2=166;+2.5=151;+3=149 // fasting tomo

Looks like Lucy is giving you a nice slide today :-D Thanks for visiting last night after bedtime for me ;-) I'm glad she is eating, I hope the appt goes well! :cool:
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy AMPS=200;+2=166;+2.5=151;+3=149 // fasting tomo

I just hate those fasting appts....
Paws crossed that Lucy has a good appetite as soon as she gets home....
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy AMPS=200;+2=166;+2.5=151;+3=149 // fasting tomo

Sending fasting, appy, BW, vetty visit, and acupuncture vines your way!!! I hope that appointment goes super-fast, so you can get sweet Lucy home and fed. Try and get some rest tonight!!
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy PMPS=167

Thank you for your visit! :-D

Lucy's numbers are much better today.
Finally a blue cycle.
So... for tomorrow's fasting, I will definitely be NOT doing A) or B).
I will most likely skip tomorrow's AM shot, but I may shoot just a tiny bit, like 0.25u or less, if she is high, and then shoot at the normal time in the evening. <-- :?: Is this OK to do? :?:

Today's acupuncture appointment went fine.
She stayed still (good girl), but she kept growling.
And she kept looking up at my face in the eyes, as if to say "Are you allowing this????".
She ate the 1st dinner well, and is sleeping now.
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy PMPS=167

Even if she is high and you shoot a reduced dose, there's still no guarantee that she won't come down a bit without food. She will likely be ok but you know better how she does when the insulin onsets and she has no food. Her depot is not likely that big so you would probably be ok to shoot 0.25u on time and not feed until you get home.

Would she eat even a little food off your fingers at the vet once the blood is drawn? Or is it possible to take her syringe with you and you could shoot at the vet as soon as the blood is drawn? Not ideal but it would allow you to shoot just two hours later instead of three. Then you wouldn't have as much time to make up. If she is high tomorrow night, you could make up one hour and then make up the second hour slowly.

Glad the acupuncture went well. :lol: :lol: I can imagine the look in her sweet face.
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy PMPS=167

Good to see Lucy is showing more blues now. :-D :-D

The only thing I'd worry about with Lucy is that she likes to dive at +2. I wouldn't want her to do that without food on board. I like Marje's suggestion of taking the syringe with you and just shooting 2 hours later. When Neko had her dental, I only gave her .1U (<1/4 of her dose at the time), but they were late getting to her dental and she onsetted with only 1/3 of her breakfast in her and ended up going to 76 on the Alphatrak (below 50).

The acupuncture at home sounds so much nicer for Lucy - other than you allowing that to happen in her home! :o :lol:
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy PMPS=167

Hi Mariko,
Just had to check in on dear Lucy before I went to bed tonight. I'm glad to see she's finally hitting blue again. What gyrations we do with our schedules for our babies! Whatever you decide on the dosing, I hope it goes well for you both tomorrow.
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy PMPS=167

Just to clarify......when you said shoot 0.25u...you meant before the appointment? If you meant after the appointment, I would shoot a full dose. You don't want to stall and shoot a reduced dose because a stalled dose is like a decrease.

I'd either:

A) skip
B) take a syringe with a full dose to shoot after blood is drawn; I'd also take a syringe of food so you can get a little food in her tummy. This will put you about two hours behind.
C) shoot the full dose when you get home.

If you do B or C and she is high tomorrow night, you could shoot up to two hours early but no more. You would need to be able to monitor her on Wed because sometimes the effects of an early shot are seen in a subsequent cycle. You could shoot just one hour early and likely not see much effects on Wed.

The advantage of skipping is you can shoot whenever you want tomorrow night, you don't have to worry about the food issue and the insulin onsetting. When I had some fasting bloodwork done on Gracie, I just skipped. She got back on track within a couple cycles.
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy PMPS=167

OK, Thank you, Marje.
I was going to ask another question, but I think I'll just skip.

What I thought I wanted to do was:
Shoot a reduced dose when we get home (10am), and feed her.
Shoot full dose at the regular time in the evening (7pm).
I was thinking about reducing because I wanted to shoot at the regular time in the evening.
The AM shot will be 3hrs late (10am), but if I shoot at the normal time in the evening (7pm), it will be only 9 hours after the morning shot.
That is why I thought about reducing the morning dose.
It was to me a compromised version of skipping.
I kind of thought it kind of made sense, but I'm probably totally ignoring how depot works... :roll:
So this is totally a stupid idea, right?
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy PMPS=1

No, it's not a stupid idea. But you are forgetting the depot. As you stall three hours, the depot is draining. That's why it is ok to give the full dose and then shoot your normal dose at your normal time that night.

Good luck tomorrow. :-D
 
Re: 1/6 Lucy PMPS=167

OK, I thought that's what I was doing wrong. :lol:
Depot is a bit hard to really get a grasp of, so I forget to take that into consideration.

Thank you, again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top