1/6 Lucian AMPS 303, +9/199 PMPS 384

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
I swear I don't know what to do with him. Waiting for the vet to get the ProZinc and we'll try that.

Yes, I fattened his dose, but I know better than to raise it. If he starts rising, I'll have to bring him back down and continue to use the R until we can figure out something else.

Anyone that has used Prozinc type insulin, can I get it made at a local compounding pharmacy?
 
Re: 1/6 Lucian AMPS 303

Fingers crossed for a good day for Lucian! When Max was first diagnosed a couple years ago, I had to beg for PZI/ProZinc instead of vetsulin. Anyway, my vet did prescribe the PZI and it came from a local compounding pharmacy sent to the vet. There were some on the forum that thought the brand name was better than compounded, but I didn't know that until after the fact and Max did great on the insulin with the diet change.
 
Re: 1/6 Lucian AMPS 303

Right now, vet is waiting on a 100U free sample for Lucian, can't remember which one, either PZI or Prozinc. As soon as it gets here, we'll try that. Lucian may be one of those cats that responds better to it.

Granted, he did better on Lev than Lantus, up until Nov. He was doing so well, but it all went downhill. Have no idea why, had all the tests run, nothing to show a reason for it, which is why the vet wanted to take him off completely for a couple days and see what he'd do. Resisted that option for a couple weeks, but finally broke down after him not showing any improvement.

So the next possibility was him not responding to the Lev any more. We'll see what happens.

I know most think I should raise his dose. Been there done that. He just went higher. Since my vet is actually working with me instead of against, I'm doing all I can and trying out various possibilities. I think, that between the 2 of us, we'll come up with something. As the vet says, 'You know him better than I do". She does see his SS regularly, so that helps.

I have fattened his dose for a few days now, but am very leery considering how it went before. Could be his dose is so precise, I can't find it. Either way, whatever the reason, I have to find something that will work for both of us, keep him in good numbers at a dose I can provide.

Keep fingers crossed for us.
 
Oh I know it must be so frustrating because you just want to make him feel better and it consumes you. Hang in there. Lucian is lucky to have all your loving attention.
 
I can't imagine how frustrating it must all be, especially when you're doing everything you can. Lucian is so lucky to have someone trying so hard for him. Like Robin said, hang in there. I sometimes wonder why my sweet Max had to get sick at all. I have a friend with two cats and a dog, and they barely ever need to go to the vet. I've been a little jealous. Why does she get so lucky to have healthy pets, and I don't. I came to the realization one day that maybe I have Max, who needs a lot of extra care, because I'm the one person willing to do it out of love. I got him as a rescue, a few years before the diabetes diagnosis, but, obviously someone gave him up. I can't imagine it, but I'm lucky to have him. Maybe Lucian has you cause you're willing to fight so hard for him cause you love him, and that's why he is so lucky.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top