1/6 Lee Lu - AMPS 485, +10.25 569, PMPS 509, +2 381

Status
Not open for further replies.

pandabur

Member Since 2014
Angry red again? What's going on here?

She did pee outside the box last night, but it was just outside the box on the mat, so I completely see that to having her butt outside the box and just missing it, not "inappropriate".

So, a couple ideas:
Food - maybe the bigger Friskies cans are a diff formula and higher in carbs (most unlikely)
Food - maybe the 2% carb variation is affecting her BG
Insulin - maybe the insulin in the pens is not as effective - she started creeping up around mid Dec, and I got new insulin 12/20 (highly unlikely, although is there a way to test the insulin?)
Health - maybe she has something else going on - UTI, etc.

As Julie pointed out, I have increased the dose almost double in the last 2 weeks.

I think ruling out the UTI is going to be the next best step. I can take a day off from work and bring her in. Her #s will be higher from stress but at least we can (hopefully) determine that. If they cannot get urine, can they use blood?

UGH.
 
IMHO the vet visit is #1. If there is something health-wise going on, then none of those other things will work.

If your vet uses an ultrasound-guided needle to pull the urine (many do) there doesn't need to be much there for them to find a sample. Lucy always pees in the carrier so she never has enough. They usually give her fluids and keep her a few hours until she makes more urine. They might send you home with a cup and some special litter to catch a sample. That's not the best, but if they can't get urine another way then at least it's something. You shut her in a bathroom with the special litter until she uses it. There are always ways.
 
Hi Amanda,
Reading over your post from yesterday, I agree with Julie and Libby that the most likely candidate in your "ideas list" is a UTI. I don't think they can use blood to determine a UTI. They use cystocentisis (a needle into the bladder) to draw out the urine so that they can do a C & S (culture and sensitivity) to determine if infection is present (they grow a culture from the sample), and, if so, which medication will best cure the infection. A vet visit will probably be stressful to Lee Lu, but it is only for a few hours. At least then you will know for sure.

Sending lots of healing vines,

Ella & Rusty
 
Another idea brought to my attention is that the dose is actually too high, that I did not give it enough time before increasing again.
Le Sigh. I know its a combo of things. I'm sure a vet visit is in order, that I've been impatient with the dosing (waiting just the shortest amount of time recommended before increasing), and not knowing her nadir via mid-cycle testing to see what's really going on.

Libby - that's what happens with Lee, she'll pee in the carrier then its wait-wait-stress-wait for another sample. At this vet is only 4 blocks away.
 
Hi Amanda, with Kay's first increase, it took her 8 cycles to show me her real numbers. I know how heartbreaking it is to see those high numbers and the urgent feeling of wanting to do something, anything to help our babies out, but patience really is key and you might possibly be passing her sweet spot dose. Hopefully, the vet visit will rule out any illness and it'll turn out that Lee Lu just wants less juice! :)
 
At least she pees in the carrier. Tess has a reputation of letting lose when the vet picks her up to take her back for the test!
ohmygod.gif


Remember too that a UTI can be caused by infection or inflammation. There could still be inflammation even if no bacteria is found. Our vet checks the sample to see if there are bacteria present (they can do that w/ a microscope), if that is positive then they send it out for C & S to see what the bacteria is and which AB will work best on it. Much cheaper if you don't need the extra step.
 
Looking at her ss, it looks like the pink tests began showing up on 12/16 at pmps. She was on 0.65u at that time.

After that point, you tried reducing her dose to 0.5f, then increased it to 0.75u and to 1.0u. The new insulin was started on 12/20, after the pink numbers had already begun, and you did still have some blue and yellow numbers after the new insulin was started.

All of that together makes me think that this doesn't have to do with the new insulin.

Punkin was a pretty anxious cat, but his blood sugar never went up at the vet's. Some cats do, some don't. Regardless of whether it increases Lee Lu's or not, your reason for being there is to check for a infection, I assume, which wouldn't change based upon whether or not she's stressed.
 
Sigh, +10 was 569. Can't get into the vet till Monday. I'm going to decrease the dose back to 0.75u and hold till Monday, as I think I overshot her sweet spot. This is reminiscent of her higher dose curves back before we moved to Lantus. She's acting fine otherwise.
 
PMPS was 509, +2 was a nice 381. OK, so went from to black 500s to pink 300s in 2 hours.
reduced the dose to 0.75u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top