1/6 Kay AMPS=146 +6=95 PMPS=266 +6=62 - elevated bg from ear drops

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mel&Kay

Member Since 2014
1/5 Recap:
amps = 249
+6 = 173
pmps = 169
+5 = 51
+6 = 45
+7 = 83

Ah, the enigma that is Mr. L - panics when he sees 56, yet doesn't bat an eye at 45! :rolleyes: Cheeky! :D I was pleasantly surprised to arise to a bounce-free morning; it's the lowest she's ever gone without one. Progress!

Despite 20/10 vision and a 5X magnifier, it was still a bit tricky getting the 0.1u just right. Of course, in all my excitement shooting a new dose, it wasn't until AFTER shooting (while practicing for the next shot) that I remembered illuminating below the syringe, not above, helps to see things much clearer. :facepalm: Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

WCR: all 5 P's and crazy zoomies this morning (for an 18yo :p).

Vines to all the the sugar kitties and hugs to all you devoted, selfless beans (you're all awesome!).
 
Honestly (and I can't imagine a .1u dose LOL), I think the key to the .1u dose is that you can replicate it each time. And it's .1u so it's a taste of the insulin. But I don't microdose in the real sense so I could be wrong! :-)

Looking good though! Nice that she didn't bounce!!
 
Thanks for dropping by Elise and Suzanne. :)

All hail the mighty caliper! I'd be lost without it. Definitely a must-have in my FD arsenal.
 
:joyful::joyful::joyful: looking good and no
smiley-bouncing.gif
Anti jinx! I agree on the calipers, so much easier than counting drops!
 
WOOT! Congrats on the catching that low last night and the reduction.

I find having something white below me as a background also helps see things. That's the only time I'm happy we got a white sink. :rolleyes:
 
Thanks, Ann and Wendy! Wendy, I use my magenta phone case as a background-it makes it really stand out, hehe. ;)

Vetty visit this afternoon. Kay was prescribed Quadritop ointment for a plugged ear so I expect her BG to be elevated over the next few days since it contains corticosteroids. The 266 @pmps proves this. It slipped my mind that I should've requested something steroid free. :facepalm:
 
Kay is doing so fantastically - I'd call the vet and ask if there is any option that is steroid free. Steroids can bring about diabetes in a non-diabetic cat so if there is any other option, i'd take it. The vet should've known to avoid steroids with her.

If you absolutely have no other choice, then you'll have to increase the dose to compensate. It may be a set-back though, in the blood control you've achieved.
 
Will do, Julie. I agree vetty should've known better. :banghead: DF actually brought her in since I've been feeling under the weather, but he's not well versed in FD. I did write her a note, but left out the most important part - no steroids. :( Plus I presumed a topical steroid wouldn't affect her bg much. Lesson learned. :confused:
 
Sometimes there is no other option, then you have to just manage it. But sometimes there is another choice - which would help her BGs and all the progress she's made.

how nice that your dad could bring her in! go dad!
 
Good to know. Hopefully, there's an alternative because she's been doing so well and I'd hate for her to have a setback, but then it means it was an oversight on vetty's part... we'll see tomorrow. I do have the best dad in the world.
 
There must be some alternative. . . .

I asked that it be noted in BKs chart - "No Steroids"

Right next to "No Vaccinations", "No Metacam" and "No Covenia"

Still, I remain vigilant. Although noted - I know it could be overlooked
. just part of the human factor:cool:
 
I understand everyone makes mistakes, but this vet has had a diabetic kitty in the past and is up to date with current FD treatment. I don't mean to rant; I'm just a little upset (mostly at myself). :(

Besides steroids, are there other medications diabetic kitties should take caution with?
 
Metacam is one all kitties should avoid - Vyktor has a big note on his file (I insisted that they put it in huge letters!) that he's not to be given that too
 
Besides steroids, are there other medications diabetic kitties should take caution with?
Covenia is often used by vets, often because they assume pet owners would rather not pill their kitties. The problem is it stays in the system for at least 2 weeks and if there should be any sensitivity, there is nothing you can do to stop it! Whereas, any other antibiotic could be discontinued if a problem should arise. This happened to me, luckily Tiger did not have any adverse reaction, but naturally I knew nothing about how dangerous it could have been, until I read it here! :nailbiting:
 
+6 = 62

9 hours post ear drop and it appears the steroids have worn off (if it was the cause of her elevated BG to begin with).

Thanks for the info about which meds to avoid. Again I'm reminded that there is still so much to learn. Ruth, that is scary; I'm glad Tiger is ok!
 
If Zymox is available, there are two types -- one with and one without steroids.

The antibiotic is Convenia (cefovecin) -- Sandy misspelled the name. It lasts for 2 weeks which means if your cat is allergic, you can't get it out of the cat's system.

Metacam carries a black box warning for renal failure in cats. Most of the non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs are very hard on the kidneys.
 
I have a bottle of organic ear cleaner I'll use instead. Ingredients are: Organic Infused Mullein Oil and Witch Hazel, Organic Essential Oils (Calendula & Rosemary). Instructions say I can used it 2-3x daily. Hopefully it'll be enough to get rid of that nasty plug. I knew something was up when she wouldn't let me test one of her ears and she would scratch/paw at it whenever I tried. Ok, btb for a couple more hours.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top