Skye & Jackson
Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-9-371-pmps-354-3-260-4-253-6-216-204.272656/
We finally broke through!
In a slight conundrum this morning though. I know 1.75 units is too much for him now (except when trying to break glucose toxicity). And I’m 85% sure it will crash him. He has crashed almost every time recently I’ve shot that dose in blues. But he hasn’t yet earned a reduction. I just know, from experience, that he probably will.
I know it’s not recommended, that playing with a dose outside of guidelines isn’t recommended - but I’m trying an experiment based on what I’ve learned his body does (I think) so far. I’m aware that it may backfire, but I have the urge to know. Considering the 1.75 depot that’s now active, and the fact that Jack is riding fairly level right now (not showing a bounce at the moment; he actually rose a bit and then came back down slightly pre-shot), I really don’t want to drive him down further this morning as hard as I expect another dose of 1.75 or maybe even 1.5 will. So I’m giving a single dose of 1.25 units in an effort to stave off the crash. If all goes well (either dropping anyway, or staying in decent ranges) he’ll get 1.5 tonight when I can watch him better through the wee hours. If he does actually ricochet back up high instead, well then it can be back to 1.75. But with the depot also in play, I don’t think he will bounce that high, if he hasn’t already. We shall see.
Based on last time, I think his best dose for the time being is going to end up being 1.25 units… I think the last crash on that dose may have been influenced by remaining depot from the previous dose(s), since it was pretty much back to back with the reduction before that… but that’s getting ahead of myself. Just speculating about the future, there.
For now, I’ve given the shot. Crossing fingers.
On a lighter note, Jackson has definitely figured out this schedule thing. I slightly (just 15 minutes) overslept his usual breakfast time. So he walked all over me to wake me up.
We finally broke through!
In a slight conundrum this morning though. I know 1.75 units is too much for him now (except when trying to break glucose toxicity). And I’m 85% sure it will crash him. He has crashed almost every time recently I’ve shot that dose in blues. But he hasn’t yet earned a reduction. I just know, from experience, that he probably will.
I know it’s not recommended, that playing with a dose outside of guidelines isn’t recommended - but I’m trying an experiment based on what I’ve learned his body does (I think) so far. I’m aware that it may backfire, but I have the urge to know. Considering the 1.75 depot that’s now active, and the fact that Jack is riding fairly level right now (not showing a bounce at the moment; he actually rose a bit and then came back down slightly pre-shot), I really don’t want to drive him down further this morning as hard as I expect another dose of 1.75 or maybe even 1.5 will. So I’m giving a single dose of 1.25 units in an effort to stave off the crash. If all goes well (either dropping anyway, or staying in decent ranges) he’ll get 1.5 tonight when I can watch him better through the wee hours. If he does actually ricochet back up high instead, well then it can be back to 1.75. But with the depot also in play, I don’t think he will bounce that high, if he hasn’t already. We shall see.
Based on last time, I think his best dose for the time being is going to end up being 1.25 units… I think the last crash on that dose may have been influenced by remaining depot from the previous dose(s), since it was pretty much back to back with the reduction before that… but that’s getting ahead of myself. Just speculating about the future, there.
For now, I’ve given the shot. Crossing fingers.
On a lighter note, Jackson has definitely figured out this schedule thing. I slightly (just 15 minutes) overslept his usual breakfast time. So he walked all over me to wake me up.

