1/6 Harley PMPS 321

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
This AM is starting out better than yesterday - at least no red. Kind of a high night but I think I was a little light on the 8 units. I am home the next couple days so I will see what happens. I may try a curve tomorrow. Have a good day everyone.

Pattie
 
Re: 1/6 Harley AMPS 339

Yes, going towards yellow.
Have a good productive couple of days off :-D
 
Re: 1/6 Harley AMPS 339

Pattie --

I can't remember the details from Harley's vet when you had him at the U. All I can recall is that the vet was surprised at his dose and the IAA diagnosis. How did that play out? I'm curious since Harley is on less insulin. To my eyes, it looks like he needs more than the 8.0u.
 
Re: 1/6 Harley AMPS 339

The vet at the U was not surprised at the IAA results. She said that most kitties was IAA positive. She felt the it was more of a chronic somogyi effect and not the IAA, which is why they lowered the dose when Harley got sick and went in. Everytime he is up in the 400's, they consider it to be somogyi effect from too much insulin - not too little. To be honest, I am confused with such conflicting advice. When I google IAA for cats, not much comes up as opposed to somogyi that has more information.

I am trying to find a vet that will work more closely with me about that so I can give Harley the best care I can. I am considering a consultation with Dr. Lisa to see what she thinks.

Pattie
 
Re: 1/6 Harley AMPS 339

I recently did another lit search on Somogyi when an IM vet that Marjorie/Gracie were consulting with suggested this was going on with Gracie. There really is very little legitimate research on this topic on either humans or cats. There's a lot of discussion, but the science, at best, provides very inconsistent data. There's virtually no research on Somogyi with long acting insulin, such as Lantus or Lev. I'll see if Marjorie has the link to her condo from that day and can post it for you so you can see the discussion. I tend to think that Somogyi has taken on the aura of an urban legend. I also think that some people, vets included, fail to differentiate between a bounce and the chronic rebound that is indicative of Somogyi.

I'm surprised at the vet saying that all cats test IAA positive. There have been any number of cats here who have tested negative. That seems like a big over generalization. I'd be very curious as to on what that statement was based.
 
Re: 1/6 Harley AMPS 339

This is why I am so confused Sienne. My main vet did not want to do the test because "cats rarely are positive" and the U vet, when told, said that she is not surprised. I have an appointment with her on the 12th and at that time want to transfer Harley to a FD specialist closer to home. Because of the difference in opinion, I felt a consult with Dr. Lisa was appropriate. I do not want to p--s off the U vet because I need her approval every summer to medically board Harley while I take a week off for vacation. If I lose the approval, I don't dare leave him alone for a whole week.

Pattie
 
Re: 1/6 Harley AMPS 339

Patty:

Sienne asked me to send you links to my condo where she discussed Somogyi. I'm providing you with two...the initial one with Sienne's great info and then follow up with others chiming in. I hope these help. Great discussions!!

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32089&hilit=+somogyi

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32156&hilit=+somogyi

eta: I have also consulted with Dr. Lisa. Great info on diet; unfortunately for Gracie, while a raw diet provides alot less fat (good), it doesn't provide enough carbs to control her and I have to mix it with other foods that are higher in carbs as she is a diver. Good luck!!!!
 
Re: 1/6 Harley AMPS 339

Good morning guys! I don't have anything in the way of the somogyi effect but I will say this low pink sure does look better then the red we just saw .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/6 Harley AMPS 339, +4 242; dose change from vet

Talked with vet and have decided to increase insulin to 8.5u and lower the budsonide to 0.4 ml every other day. Currently Harley is on 0.4 ml every day. I plan to start this tonight. She (vet) is starting to come around to your way of thinking.

Pattie
 
Re: 1/6 Harley AMPS 339, +4 242; dose change from vet

Hi, Harley and Pattie.. wishing you both a great afternoon & lots of luck with the dosecrease too ;-)
 
Re: 1/6 Harley AMPS 339, +4 242; dose change from vet

Yay!! Often you need to work the insulin around the steroid, No big deal but, FWIW, I know I would like to see Harley in lower numbers!
 
I did the dose change tonight with Harley. He went to 8.5 and budsonide 0.4ml every other day. He is very active and hungry tonight. I did buy some raw food for him and he devoured the sample. I hope this helps him.

Pattie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top