1/6 Gracie PMPS 99 +1 161 + 181 +3 169 +4 154 +6 221

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33683

Recap:
AMPS: 317 1st cycle sk1.25u (increase)
+2: 289
+4: 305
+10.5: 293
PMPS: 236 2nd cycle sk1.25u
+1: 237
+2: 154 gave drop karo w/food
+3: 138
+4: 136
+5: 137
+7: 176
AMPS: 164 3rd cycle sk1.25u
+1: 130 gave tiny drop karo w/food
+2: 66 fed 6% w/larger drop karo


HAPPY FURSDAY! We are so happy to see Rocket improving and hopefully Claudia will get some rest. Sending more healing vines his way and to all others who need them.

WCR: 4Ps in place. Gracie definitely picks up the pace in romping around when her numbers are down. We started a new experiment last night to try and control the dives by adding a bit of karo in her food as soon as she dropped 70. It worked a little TOO well last night but she cruised blue all night..YAY! This morning, I backed off how much karo I gave her and it was too little to slow her this morning so I had a 64 drop in one hour...a little fast this early but I'll keep checking her. We're at a point that I see other cats are where one dose is a little much but the shaved dose just doesn't quite get them there....what a quandary!

I'm glad we took the chance to get out and play earlier this week while she was high. Today we really WILL get those Xmas decos down. :lol: :lol: Have a great day!
 
Re: 1/6 Gracie AMPS 164 +1 130 +2 66

Good morning guys! That sure was a nice blue surf last night ... Her numbers today are looking impressive too ... keep up the great work guys! have a great day!
 
Re: 1/6 Gracie AMPS 164 +1 130 +2 66

Morning!! Nice day yesterday for Gracie - nice lively flat surf. YAY! Looks like she will be busy this morning - mom: need more karo! it's a conspiracy! It is so nice though to see her in the blues and greens. Have a good safe surf this morning Gracie!

And I hear you on the dose quandary - I'm feeling the same way about Mannie....

Gracie!!! Much to do today: KTSS is on call - Ralphie needs a spa, and Rocket could use some TLC, and Blackie is still out of sorts, and Tess's mom is sick, and Binks! Did you her about Binks??? He got stuck in the slider! OW! So he needs us too.... Grab your stuff, and your ladles and soup pots and off we go. I think when our visits are complete we need to find a warm sunny beach for some chillaxin', and some grillin' and stuff. You in?? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 1/6 Gracie AMPS 164 +1 130 +2 66

Look at you Go Gracie!!! Beautiful numbers today-- Hope you are all well & warm & safe!
Get those decorations down already!! BTW Copper has taken over the cube :lol: :lol: :lol: He "hides" in it :lol:
Hugs to all of you!! Have a great Fursday!

Gracie, Me wanna go somewhere warm, wanna come wif me to see the boys?? WE could go wif the KTSS__ Let me know if you can come--Hugs from Moonie :cool:
 
Re: 1/6 Gracie AMPS 164 +1 130 +2 66

Go Gracie!!!

I can't believe what a teeny tiny drop of karo will do. Impressive. I think you guys are onto something :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/6 Gracie AMPS 164 +1 130 +2 66 +3 58

Very nice cycle going here! I like how the karo works for Gracie, I'm glad you have adopted this strategy. :-D
 
Re: 1/6 Gracie AMPS 164 +1 130 +2 66 +3 58 +4 58

Devon: we were happy to see that blue surf!!! And I was surprised to see such a great AMPS today.

Michelle: we really don't know what the answer is; we'd like to hold her at this dose until we see her consistent with blues/greens but don't know if that is manageable and it wouldn't be following protocol but reducing her to 1u has failed every time....I know you share our agony :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Roni: We've been working on the decos, testing, posting amidst two wild kittens who are insistent upon helping in between their wrestle matches. So glad Copper likes his cube!!

Anne and Celi: yes, she is and yes we also love cycles like this. We got the big drop stopped with karo and have had to do some food manipulation but we're still fine tuning.

Karrie and Laurie: so far so good. We would love for her to be like other kitties and just get those nice numbers without manipulation but we're in between doses...one not enough, one a little too much; I'd rather give a smidge too much and have nice flatter, blue/green cycles and try to get rid of the bounces/dives before taking her down. We'll see :lol:

We've not given her nearly as many carbs as before and we haven't fed in an hour so she is surfing the high 50s on her own now....please keep it up baby girl!!!
 
Re: 1/6 Gracie AMPS 164 +1 130 +2 66 +3 58 +4 58

:-D Marjorie, Mike & Gracie.. hi! Gracie is liking her new dose & I am thrilled with the better #s, yay for all of you! I hope you are having a great day & getting the Christmas decorations put away ;-)
 
Re: 1/6 Gracie AMPS 164 +1 130 +2 66 +3 58 +4 58 +5 42

Hey Nicole..Thank you! We are glad to see her in the healing range again.

So she didn't want to surf on her own so at +5 I had to give her some 14% gravy with a little karo and she's now at 64 at 5.5. Will try again to see if she'll surf...
 
Re: 1/6 Gracie AMPS 164 +1 130 +2 66 +4 58 +5 42 +6.5 56 +7.

It's been two hours since we gave her a little gravy so we're just going to let her surf here still and see where she wants to nadir as obviously, she isn't nadiring at +6 :roll:
We're here and monitoring and will feed if she goes any lower.

Note to other newbies: this is just us working with Gracie; please do not do this with your cat....we have alot of data and know how Gracie responds.
 
Re: 1/6 GracieAMPS164 +1 130 +2 66 +4 58 +5 42 +6.5 56 +8 50

We would appreciate some input from the wise ones here please. If we take Gracie up a drop or so in dose, she does this where she just continues to drop and doesn't seem to have a nadir; I'm betting that if we didn't feed this +8 or later, she'd keep dropping. Doesn't this seem like this dose might be too high for her? She's at sk1.25u. We didn't feed this for a couple hours to see if she'd go back up on her own but she isn't. She doesn't seem to do much on 1u...four cycles with nothing but pink and high yellow, we raised her and had a fifth cycle of the same as her shed filled. I think the reason Mike and I wanted to increase her is that at those high levels, she gets quiet, doesn't play, doesn't chirp at us, pees more, etc. At the normal levels, she acts like herself...playing, headbutting, chirping, interacting, etc.

We're sort of caught in between here and not sure what to do....I know it is our decision but if we could at least get some thoughts as to what her current pattern indicates....too much insulin, late nadir, etc., some help interpreting her SS, then it would help us. Thank you so much..our sincere gratitude.
 
Re: 1/6 GracieAMPS164 +1 130 +2 66 +4 58 +5 42 +6.5 56 +8 50

GRACIE!!! ma bean no gud fur answers...but I GOTS MA CANNIP DBD IN DA MAIL!!!! IS ONA TV...AND I LUBS IT!! T'ANK U, T'ANK U, T'ANK U FUR GEDDIN MA BEAN TO ORDERS IT!!! DEM TORTIE GURLS EBEN WATCHUN IT!!
BINKS
 
Re: 1/6 GracieAMPS164 +1 130 +2 66 +5 42 +6.5 56 +8 50 Help

Recap of day:
AMPS: 164 sk1.25u
+1: 130 fed .5 oz 6% w/drop karo
+2: 66 fed .5 oz 6% lg drop karo
+2.5: 58 1/2 tsp 14% gravy/drop karo
+3: 58 fed .4 oz 6% w/14% gravy
+3.5: 51 1/2 tsp 14% w/gravy/drop karo
+4: 58
+4.5: 57
+5: 42 fed 1 tsp 14% gravy/drop karo
+5.5: 64 fed .26 oz 1% snack w/drop 14% gravy
+6.5: 56
+7.5: 52
+8: 50 fed 2 tsp 6% w/14% gravy
+9: 52 fed 1 tsp 14%

please see question above; will not feed after +10 unless she drops into 40s.
 
Re: 1/6 GracieAMPS164 +1 130 +2 66 +5 42 +6.5 56 +8 50 Help

how long til PMPS Marjorie? 3 hours?
Let's see if you get any input before then k?
have you had a chance to review your previous replies from the past week or so? Maybe something will stick out that was missed?
 
Re: 1/6 GracieAMPS164 +1 130 +2 66 +5 42 +6.5 56 +8 50 Help

WOW - look what I miss when I am gone.... and I know I am not one of the wise ones.... but - too much juice in my opinion, too much work to keep her in good numbers. I really don't know on the dose... if a 1.25S is too much, how about a F1.0 ?? well - at least this will bump you up in que.

Good luck. Wish I could help...
 
Re: 1/6 GracieAMPS164 +1 130 +2 66 +5 42 +6.5 56 +8 50 Help

Hi, I know you know that my words don't mean anything as far as advice - I am not qualified.. but one thing (& take it for what it is worth) I was surprised when you increased to 1.25 the other day.. because the 1.0 was not given a true chance, you were trying the food experimentation & adding drops of Karo (I understand the intent behind this) which may or may not have attributed to the yellows that she surfed then pinks.. just a thought ;-) I have no doubt it will all get lined out (((Marjorie)))
 
Re: 1/6 GracieAMPS164 +1 130 +2 66 +5 42 +6.5 56 +8 50 Help

of course you know there are many answers... I think if Gracie were mine and if I could monitor like you do, I would want to try to get her to put together 2-3 green cycles on a dose before reducing (preferably 2-3 in a row, but that's getting too demanding I'm sure!). She clears her bounces quicker on the higher dose than the lower one, usually. Just my opinion. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/6 GracieAMPS164 +1 130 +2 66 +5 42 +6.5 56 +8 50

We really appreciate everyone's thoughts and input.

Ronnie: we'll check back in with a +11 here shortly (6:30 MST). Yes...we've read through but there was not a specific answer for when she does this and doesn't nadir or she has a late nadir...we don't know which.

Michelle: I know; it appears the sk1.25u may be too much but it was the last good dose; of course, when I look back, I didn't give her enough time on the f1u so I probably need to give her one more cycle in green like Libby suggested, see what happens tonight, and reduce her tomorrow morning. That will give her three cycles in normal numbers.

Nicole: she's never held her reduction to 1u and I know things change but I think I moved her too quickly off the f1u when perhaps that cycle where she went low was influenced by the sk1.25u before it. We just hate to see her feeling bad when her numbers are up for 5 cycles...she's like a different kitty. I know eventually we'll be able to reduce to that dose and it will hold.

Libby: we'll see what her PMPS is tonight and if we can shoot it, we'll give her a chance to do another good cycle at this dose before reducing her. I have found what you said before to be true...even if we reduced her tonight, her shed is full so we'll still see action so might as well give her another go round at this dose if her PMPS will allow it. I think we will feed higher carb from the onset.

We'll check back in shortly with +11. Thank you to all again.
 
Re: 1/6 GracieAMPS164 +1 130 +2 66 +5 42 +6.5 56 +8 50

Oh my Gracie, what lovely numbers. :-D
No advice from me, Marjorie, I'm just enjoying all this. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/6 GracieAMPS164 +1 130 +2 66 +5 42 +6.5 56 +8 50

Lots to learn from Gracie's condo today, Marjorie! I would stick with Libby's advice.
It seems as if you don't have any problems measuring those fats and skinnies. Care to share your expertise? :smile:

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/6 GracieAMPS164 +1 130 +2 66 +5 42 +6.5 56 +8 50

Good luck with the dose Marjorie - Gracie wants to keep things lively. What pretty numbers though!
 
Re: 1/6 GracieAMPS164 +1 130 +2 66 +5 42 +6.5 56 +8 50 +11 8

Barb: in all other walks of life, decision-making has not been hard for us; now, with Gracie, it's a bear!! :lol:

Ella :lol: :lol: I'm doing the same as all of you...just eyeballing!! Actually, I find the monoject syringes let me pick out reference lines and then I try to use the drop system, too, as long as my drops are always the same size. It's tough...I still don't know how people shoot below .1u!!

Ann: thanks....she does keep things lively. Mike and I have to laugh that this is someone's idea of a cruel joke....we never wanted to have kids cuz we liked being footloose and fancy free and here we are in our 50s up all night like having little kids only we're 30 years older than most when they have kids!! :lol:
 
Re: 1/6 GracieAMPS164 +1 130 +2 66 +5 42 +6.5 56 +8 50 +11 8

You forgot to add Marjorie, that these kids never grow up either!
 
Re: 1/6 Gracie PMPS 99

YAY....a rising number with no food in two hours!!! I'm so relieved!! I shot the sk1.25u so we can try and get at least two green cycles back to back; chances are if we have to reduce tomorrow, we may get one then, too, just because of shed as long as she doesn't bounce. We did feed 10% food but hopefully since she was on the rise, we will get a food spike...oh wait, we're dealing with Gracie...all bets off!

Anne: you are SOOO right!! At least if they are all healthy, we can have our great DPS and go away for a while but I wouldn't do this to anyone right now and we have an awesome DPS :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/6 Gracie PMPS 99

Beautiful cycle and great handling of the food manipulation. I've always thought of Karo as a last resort, but you may have something here as a way to control drops without over carbing. Thank you for doing this experiment.
 
Re: 1/6 Gracie PMPS 99

YAY!, and good girl Gracie! Giving your mama a rising green ps. You rock! Sounds like a good plan Marjorie - I hope Gracie has a great cycle. Sure is nice pmps - unlike some other kitty I know, who will remain nameless. :lol:
 
Re: 1/6 Gracie PMPS 99 +1 161

She's UNPREDICTABLE :lol: :lol: :lol: Well...this could be a food spike because we thought we were going to have a repeat of this morning so we gave her higher LC food. ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile The other night she went up to 140 and I told Mike she'd wouldn't come back down but she did. So we'll see what the little stinker has up her sleeve. Here I've been sitting in the recliner nailbite_smile nailbite_smile waiting for +1 since she's had so many tests today and boom...in Gracie style..up she goes.

Ann: I have thought the same thing as you...karo as last resort. But we were giving her so many darn calories to keep her up so we decided to work from the top down. I think if we get her dose adjusted so it's the right dose, this will really help flatten her out; I'm with Michelle that we still may be at too high of a dose...next few cycles will tell but .....of course, Tess is much more carb sensitive than Gracie so it might not work for her but if you try it one cycle than it's only one cycle that is affected if it doesn't work.

Michelle: No kidding!! There is nothing that makes me more nervous than shooting a low dropping number; mostly because I know Gracie is going to have to have alot of pokes and we're going to have to be creative with keeping numbers up.

Libby: can you believe this girl? So glad I shot the same dose. Of course, she could turn around...she is the queen of that :lol:
 
Re: 1/6 Gracie PMPS 99 +1 161 +1 181 +3 169

Michelle: you love mystery, suspense novels? That's what a day in a Gracie condo is like! :lol: :lol: Headed slowly back down...which is good!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top