1/6 Fred AMPS 298, +7 408

Purrberry

Member Since 2020
Last thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...1-5-94-14-5-202-amps-435.257506/#post-2897227

My apologies! I wasn't getting email notifications, so I didn't see the later responses to the last thread.

5/17 last year you shot a 74, albeit a reduced dose.

@Wendy&Neko That did happen, you are correct. The reason I forgot about it (blocked out??) was that it was the petsitter who did it, not I. Though I will never forget all the panicked phone calls back and forth on that trip! I remember the low incident, but I remembered it being a blue. And I was on Lantus back then-he dives much more on Lev. But, point absolutely taken. I should have at least done a reduced dose.

The Lev usually kicks in at +4 ish. When I look at where he was at +4.5 (202 AT) the other night, I'd STILL have been nervous he'd go too low from there! But likely not from a reduced dose.

Your spreadsheet indicates a nadir of 59 last night, isn't that a reduction for you
That was on a human meter. I did a check in case the Alpha Trak had gone off the rails or something. So it was not an AT 59.

Fred did well last night! I am happy!
@Suzanne & Darcy He did! I was too; we haven't had blue at night in forever. Mom was a little nervous! But today, not so good. :-(( I fear he is having another panc flare. I don't actually think he ever got 100% over the last one, to be honest. He's been SO picky with his wet food since his flare in late November. He has eaten this homemade raw for literally 10 years, and now he treats it like poison unless it is doused in FortiFlora and chicken PureBites. I've been concerned about it. He happily eats his dry (of course :rolleyes:), but today, I noticed he was even hedging on that. Then I was rather shocked to see his +8, considering how well he's been doing. Perhaps there's a bounce factor in there as well, but I fear the flare. :-(

I tried desperately to get 1/2 a Cerenia in him, and I MAY have done. But he is so wise to all my techniques, now. I kind of shoved it in the side of his mouth, and I didn't see it anywhere after, but I'm not really seeing much improvement in his demeanor. He ate dinner, but again, reluctantly.

Just when you think you're getting somewhere.... *sigh*
 
That was on a human meter. I did a check in case the Alpha Trak had gone off the rails or something. So it was not an AT 59.
Since you are doing custom dosing, could you put your reduction point in the subject line or the spreadsheet? With dry food in the picture, we wouldn't suggest a reduction point as low as the 50's.

Looks like his body isn't used to low blues, hence the bounce. :rolleyes:
 
Last thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...1-5-94-14-5-202-amps-435.257506/#post-2897227

My apologies! I wasn't getting email notifications, so I didn't see the later responses to the last thread.

5/17 last year you shot a 74, albeit a reduced dose.

@Wendy&Neko That did happen, you are correct. The reason I forgot about it (blocked out??) was that it was the petsitter who did it, not I. Though I will never forget all the panicked phone calls back and forth on that trip! I remember the low incident, but I remembered it being a blue. And I was on Lantus back then-he dives much more on Lev. But, point absolutely taken. I should have at least done a reduced dose.

The Lev usually kicks in at +4 ish. When I look at where he was at +4.5 (202 AT) the other night, I'd STILL have been nervous he'd go too low from there! But likely not from a reduced dose.

Your spreadsheet indicates a nadir of 59 last night, isn't that a reduction for you
That was on a human meter. I did a check in case the Alpha Trak had gone off the rails or something. So it was not an AT 59.

Fred did well last night! I am happy!
@Suzanne & Darcy He did! I was too; we haven't had blue at night in forever. Mom was a little nervous! But today, not so good. :-(( I fear he is having another panc flare. I don't actually think he ever got 100% over the last one, to be honest. He's been SO picky with his wet food since his flare in late November. He has eaten this homemade raw for literally 10 years, and now he treats it like poison unless it is doused in FortiFlora and chicken PureBites. I've been concerned about it. He happily eats his dry (of course :rolleyes:), but today, I noticed he was even hedging on that. Then I was rather shocked to see his +8, considering how well he's been doing. Perhaps there's a bounce factor in there as well, but I fear the flare. :-(

I tried desperately to get 1/2 a Cerenia in him, and I MAY have done. But he is so wise to all my techniques, now. I kind of shoved it in the side of his mouth, and I didn't see it anywhere after, but I'm not really seeing much improvement in his demeanor. He ate dinner, but again, reluctantly.

Just when you think you're getting somewhere.... *sigh*
This is awful that he’s not feeling well. I’m sad for Fred. Poor boy. And yes, you had been making progress. Can you give him pain medication? Buprenorphine?
 
Fortunately, he doesn't seem to be in pain when he gets these flares. The vet confirmed last time that he doesn't guard his tummy or anything. It's more the nausea and inappetence and lethargy. I did manage to get 1/4 a Cerenia down him today-this time, I'm sure. It's not much, but it's something.

We had another adventuresome night last night. Good numbers for Fred, very bad for my sleep. I have an important day today...it wasn't the night for that to happen! I did see he was breaking a bounce; stupid not to reduce a bit, but I was trying to stick to my New Year's Resolution of keeping him steady! Had to break that this AM and am glad I did, as he didn't eat all afternoon.
 
Back
Top