1/6 Chyna AMPS 385 +7 329 PMPS 333 +3 335

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Morning LL! BG=UGH :evil: . Are we ever going to see anything but flat pink and red? We're up to 3 units...this is depressing :cry:
Yesterday: Chyna 1/5

I am back to work after vacation so no time this morning...as usual I'm running around :roll: . I don't wanna go! Chyna isn't moving around much, between her arthritis and these yucky numbers...poor girl. I should find out pricing today on the Cartrophen from the vet, I hope I can afford it! Maybe that will help her BGs? We had a little poo, more pee, eating all fuds...purring and preening. Love my girl! cat_pet_icon

I will try visit condos, if I can! I won't have as much time now, silly work ;-) Have a good Monday, guys!
 
Re: 1/6 Chyna AMPS 385 :(

Morning Rachel ~O) ~O) ~O)

Well bummer on that amps. I hope that soon you will find that break through dose soon. Sure is hard dealing with it all until you do. Come on Chyna - work that juice! I hope the meds will help with her arthritis. Poor kitty. Feel better there too little one. excellent on all those P's!

Have a great day today. I hope all goes well. we sure have alot of folks returning to work today.... stay safe, and warm.
 
Re: 1/6 Chyna AMPS 385 :(

Sorry about the yucky start. I hope you find a good dose for Chyna soon and come home to a lower number. It is hard to go back to work after being off for a while.
 
Re: 1/6 Chyna AMPS 385 :(

Feel better soon Chyna! As they say, work that juice!

Rebekah and Ole
 
Re: 1/6 Chyna AMPS 385 +7 329 :(

Hi Rachel,
Hope your day wasn't too bad ~ Our time off seems to fly by, and no more holidays for quite a while :sad:
Come on, Miss Chyna, cheer your momma bean up and come on down to a prettier color :-D
Chyna reminds me of my GA Gizzy, a torti that my daughter found in the woods. Just adorable :-D
 
Re: 1/6 Chyna AMPS 385 +7 329 :(

Rachel,
I hope your little Chyna girl feels better soon. Hopefully you'll find that dose that will get her BGs coming down quicker than they went up.
 
Re: 1/6 Chyna AMPS 385 +7 329 :(

Your mornings sound similar to mine! Going back to work after almost 2 weeks home with the furkids was tough.

I hope sweet little Chyna is feeling better, and that the meds help with her arthritis. My GA Civvie Mario was on Adequan for almost 2 years, and it really made a huge, huge difference in his QOL.

Don't worry about how much juice it takes to get the job done! Earlier this year, we had to go up to 5 units before we hit a breakthrough (check out her 2013 SS in the area of March/April/May). It was tough to see that happen, but overall, the kitties don't know or care how much juice they're getting, as long as it makes them feel better. You're an awesome bean, so you will eventually get the dose that works, and once it works, it doesn't matter how much it is.

Have a great evening, Rachel!
 
Re: 1/6 Chyna AMPS 385 +7 329 :(

Hi Rachel,

I agree with Amy: we fret if the dose gets too big, but the kitties don't, and if they need it, they need it.

Sorry you had to go back to work today and hope that you will have a nice evening. How's the snow???

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/6 Chyna AMPS 385 +7 329 :(

Sure would be nice if any of this made sense, wouldn't it Rachel? It's like my question about China..where did a 300 come from when she was flat green for 2 whole cycles?

Come on Chyna...You can do better than that!
 
Re: 1/6 Chyna AMPS 385 +7 329 PMPS 333

Hi Rachel! I hope you're surviving being back to work! A lot of the schools were closed around here today because of the cold . . . how I wish that workplaces closed too (and still paid us, of course :lol: )

I know it's frustrating for you to have to keep increasing the dose, but after all it's just a number and whatever amount Chyna ends up needing doesn't really matter . . . soon you'll find out what that right dose is and see some better numbers. Meanwhile you're doing a great job of looking after her :-D
 
Re: 1/6 Chyna AMPS 385 +7 329 PMPS 333

Thanks for the visits and the cheering us on Michelle, Carla, Rebekah, Jane, Laura, both Amys, Ella and Chris. I really needed to hear all that today, so much. And see a SS like that, Amy/Trixie, thanks. I know the dose isn't what matters...I just worry she will resist it forever. I see all the kitties coming back with greens and little doses. ECID! Well, still pink at PMPS. I keep hoping that "this" will be the cycle we do it!

It's been super cold here, so I plugged my car in last night. I haven't been going anywhere, since we just got plowed out Saturday. SO I went to leave for work today, and my car went "rrr rrr click click" and didn't start. I tried my auto starter and same thing, so I was running around trying to catch a ride! Caught one and made it to work mostly on time. Mom and Dad picked me up for lunch, came home to jump start the car...and it started by itself. Guess all it needed was the temp outside to go to warmer (-36C yesterday, -17C this morning...+2C this afternoon). So I popped in to see Chyna and she was still pink at +7...a little lower than AMPS, but she did eat at +6. Then I went back to work! You don't even know how good it is to drive myself somewhere after being snowed in for so long, even if it's just work!

Chyna nearly gave me a heart attack when I came home from work, she was sleeping on the floor in the spare room on a blankie, and didn't move when I turned the light on or when I scratched her ears a few times and petted her. I panicked and plopped to the floor throwing my jacket beside me to get to her, and then she woke up :shock: Then I gave her kisses and cried. I did NOT need that, Chyna! :roll:

No news from the vet tech today, so I called after work and they hadn't had time to figure out dosing and pricing, too busy :sad: And the owner vet wanted me to know that Cartrophen has only been approved in dogs, even though vets prescribe it for cats (funny, since I'm the one emailed asking for it and said Adequan and Cartrophen were "for" dogs but have been used in cats :lol: ). Ah well, just being thorough I guess. I feel bad for stalking, but I NEED to start this to help baby girl.

Anyhoo...here's hoping for a less flat pink night :-D Hug all your furbabies for me! (oh, and Amy/Papaya, that would be awesome if work closed and paid us too :lol: )
 
Re: 1/6 Chyna AMPS 385 +7 329 PMPS 333

I can add that arthritis is definitely an issue so I hope the cartrophen makes a difference.... I noticed it got better by the second dose.... as we have severe osteoarthritis.
Shadow's numbers were creeping up and I thought we were going to have to re-start insulin but it turned out she was just in a lot of pain and as soon as I addressed it, her
numbers went back down... even lower than her otj numbers.
I am also now giving the tiniest dose of bupe at night. That too has made a great difference. I have a cat that is playing again which is nice to see.

Sleeping soundly and not responding to us is definitely scary. I hear ya.
 
Re: 1/6 Chyna AMPS 385 +7 329 PMPS 333

I hope you see an end to the sea of pink soon. We got up over 8 units and I always fretted over the size of the dose. Until I realized that each cat really is different and what they need to get them green is the goal. There are way too many factors outside of our control in determining what the cat needs. All we can control is the amount of juice we give so just keep following the protocol until you find the dose you need.

I'm not surprised the vet tech mentioned that cartrophen is used only for dogs. It is used off label for cats, so they have to get the owners approval before doing that.

Sorry about the near heart attack - sounds like Chyna was really sound asleep. :o
 
Re: 1/6 Chyna AMPS 385 +7 329 PMPS 333

Thanks Rhiannon. I'm wondering if the arthritis was what threw her out of remission, since all the other tests came back ok. I did what they asked and waited to see if upping cosequin helped, for a month. Now I want something better ;-) I can feel her bone crack a bit when I pick her up sometimes :cry: I hope it helps her and doesn't give any scary side effects nailbite_smile

Thanks Wendy. I've always hated pink :lol: I guess the vet is just covering his buns, I just thought it was funny since I was the one who told them that when I asked for it ;-) I will try to relax about the dose...I was just worried I had insulin resistance or she turned high dose...which I know next to nothing about so I may be just babbling :? Sound asleep cat equals panicky bean!

Sending hugs to all, and scritches to the furbabies tonight :-D
 
Re: 1/6 Chyna AMPS 385 +7 329 PMPS 333

Oh I just shiver on those scares! I'm so glad our Chyna girl is fine. I hope the vet calls back tomorrow so you can get started on the shots.

If Miss Chyna doesn't come down tonight or tomorrow, I'd raise the dose again by 0.5u tomorrow night.

I'd also agree with the others......don't get attached to a dose and if she needs more jooce....she does. :-D

Glad you got your car working. I've have some funny stories about frozen cars and plugging them in. :lol:
 
Thanks Marje, it was scary! She was like, what? Ack. Yep, the dosecrease tomorrow night will most likely be on. I will try not to wince when I say "3.5u". It comes from the 0.1u I was giving last time I guess ;-) I do know better than to leave my car for over a week in the terrible winter like this without starting it once or twice ohmygod_smile Whoops! Guess I was so depressed at being snowed in I forgot :lol:
 
Oh Rachel!!!! I know that panicky feeling...Shasta's done that once to me and I thought I might die...right beside her?! UGH! I am so happy that she is ok (pink BG, aside!) I hope you get some answers on the meds. Until then...lots of love and scritches to your baby girl!
 
Hi Rachel and Chyna,

Big hugs from me. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Thanks for the visit. Angie had an asthma attack again last night so we're going back to the vets too. Maybe she's got more than one allergy. Otherwise, we haven't worked it out yet. I hope that you can figure our Chyna's and that she feels better soon.

You're right about the driving! It's the hardest part of living out here. I haven't been seeing my city friends much because of it.

Grace
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top