1/6 Chino AMPS=364, +4=376, +8=269, PMPS=386

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-5-chino-amps-355-4-395-8-302-pmps-386-4-406.170802/

Had to toss a dose and draw a new one with a new syringe because I couldn't get the bubble out. I've been using Carepoint Vet syringes but will be using an UltiCare Vet Rx syringe tonight.

Skipped breakfast to watch Chino from 0710 (when he finished eating) to 0800 (when work begins). He went out on the patio but didn't use the litter box. I heard the flap of the pet door a second ago but he's just sitting in the sun. Can't step away from my computer for more than 2 or 3 minutes but I haven't been able to test for ketones in the last several days.
 
Carepoint Vet syringes but will be using an UltiCare Vet Rx syringe tonight.
With his dose and numbers, switching syringes won't make much of a difference but it's good to make note on your SS since the dose will likely vary with the switch. Are you switching permanently? I've been using the Carepoint syringes for almost year and also have bubble trouble but bought 1000 of them so it is what it is. Some days are better than others.

If you've gotten recent keytone test sure you're fine if they can't be done every day. I bought the ketone blood meter but Doodles has never had keytones so it's hardly used. Has Chino ever tested positive for them? Hope that NDW has left the building and you'll see some lower numbers soon. It can take up to 6 cycles for the depot to be full.

I see "borderline hyperthyroid" in your signature. When was the last time he was tested? I believe it could cause some insulin resistance. If you have recent labs, there is a tab for Labs in the SS if you want to utilize it and have some people take a look. We have some who can really analyze kitties BW :)
 
Caught him going into the litter box RIGHT before a 10 AM conference call. He's now covering his urine and leaving solids uncovered (used to do the opposite). Tested the wet center of the clump, not sure how reliable that is. Negative.
 
With his dose and numbers, switching syringes won't make much of a difference but it's good to make note on your SS since the dose will likely vary with the switch. Are you switching permanently? I've been using the Carepoint syringes for almost year and also have bubble trouble but bought 1000 of them so it is what it is. Some days are better than others.

If it's easier to measure the dose or get the bubbles out of the UltiCare syringes, then it'll be a permanent switch.

If you've gotten recent keytone test sure you're fine if they can't be done every day. I bought the ketone blood meter but Doodles has never had keytones so it's hardly used. Has Chino ever tested positive for them? Hope that NDW has left the building and you'll see some lower numbers soon. It can take up to 6 cycles for the depot to be full.

He has no history of ketones.

I see "borderline hyperthyroid" in your signature. When was the last time he was tested? I believe it could cause some insulin resistance. If you have recent labs, there is a tab for Labs in the SS if you want to utilize it and have some people take a look. We have some who can really analyze kitties BW :)

I don't have the number. It was tested 2 weeks ago, and the result was the same as the first test that was done a month or two earlier. I'll try to get a copy of the lab results from the vet, and I'll enter the values from the emergency clinic as well.
 
Caught him going into the litter box RIGHT before a 10 AM conference call. He's now covering his urine and leaving solids uncovered (used to do the opposite). Tested the wet center of the clump, not sure how reliable that is. Negative.
Not sure either, guess it depends on how long the urine sat there. Sounds like you caught it right after he was done.
 
UltiCare syringes, then it'll be a permanent switch.
I'll be interested in what you think. I'm down to the last 400 syringes. The Carepoints were much better in the beginning in respect to bubbles. I'm not sure there is a bubble free syringe out there. Try drawing up the insulin super slow...?
 
I'm not sure there is a bubble free syringe out there.
I did come across syringes with no "dead space" but they don't have half-unit markings. The brand is Vet's Choice. I bought a box and used a few to administer some of the 3-unit doses. In my experience, it actually did help. It looks like the end of the plunger fits better against the base of the needle so no air is left in the syringe after it's injected into the vial.
 
+9 was 275. I just realized that I don't have a single +7. I assumed that the Lantus was reaching its peak at +8 because it's generally lower than +6, but if his nadir is at +7 and he starts going back up at +8...

OK, OK, it's probably not likely. But tomorrow I'm going to test at +7 and +8 just to make sure I'm not consistently missing a +7 nadir.
 
Chino is getting so bony... I think I'm going to switch to TR this weekend. I'm printing the stickies and highlighting the most important parts. I don't want to increase if I should be waiting for him to clear a bounce, but it doesn't look like he's bouncing. He's mostly living in the 300s and 400s. Unless I see blue before 1/08, I would increase to 3.5 units that morning, right?

I called the vet around 1100 to ask if they'd fax me Chino's lab results. They said the vet would need to approve the request first. No fax yet... so I'll be calling tomorrow morning to find out what the holdup is.
 
Last edited:
It was nice to see that yellow today. Yes, unless you see blue then it looks good to increase the morning of 1/8. Hope you keep posting though and if you have any questions just ask. Sorry the board is a little "light" these days.
 
If you do go to TR, you would hold the dose for six cycles, and if you don't see blue, then increase by 0.25 units. You are testing enough to know you aren't missing any lows.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top