1/6/22 Henry PMPS 181 - give regular dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Henry’s Mom

Member Since 2022
Hi there, maybe not an critical emergency but Henry’s PS has never been 181 yet…is it ok to give him his regular dose? He is usually in the high 200’s or 300’s. It is almost time for his PM dose…thank you! I can remove the 911 if not appropriate. Thank you…
Edit: forgot to add, he did eat dinner after I checked his PMPS.
 
Last edited:
Kay, next time this happens, stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 minutes.
Are you able to test during all the cycle if you give the 0.1 U dose?
Do you have a hypo box set up with all the necessary things?
Your options are to give the dose and monitor all the cycle or give a drop dose and still monitor at least the first half of the cycle or give nothing
I would remove the 911. It is only for emergencies :)
 
Kay, next time this happens, stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 minutes.
Are you able to test during all the cycle if you give the 0.1 U dose?
Do you have a hypo box set up with all the necessary things?
Your options are to give the dose and monitor all the cycle or give a drop dose and still monitor at least the first half of the cycle.
I would remove the 911. It is only for emergencies :)
Noted, thank you Bron regarding the stall next time. Not realistically would I be able to check the whole cycle (as it is night time). I can give the drop dose and monitor first half of cycle more reliably. For future reference, if I stall and glucose remains in the 100s…do not give dose or give dose? Thanks again Bron and @Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Kay, next time this happens, stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 minutes.
Are you able to test during all the cycle if you give the 0.1 U dose?
Do you have a hypo box set up with all the necessary things?
Your options are to give the dose and monitor all the cycle or give a drop dose and still monitor at least the first half of the cycle or give nothing
I would remove the 911. It is only for emergencies :)
Yes I have the hypo box :)
 
Noted, thank you Bron regarding the stall next time. Not realistically would I be able to check the whole cycle (as it is night time). I can give the drop dose and monitor first half of cycle more reliably. For future reference, if I stall and glucose remains in the 100s…do not give dose or give dose? Thanks again Bron and @Diane Tyler's Mom
Ok. To give a drop dose…you push the plunger of the syringe right in and hold it while you insert the syringe into the insulin. Then let go of the plunger and then withdraw the syringe. Test it a few times to see that you have only withdrawn a drop.
When giving the insulin, hold the plunger down for a bit longer and as you withdraw it.
In the future until you gradually reduce the BGlevel at which you shoot, I would stall and ask for advice.
 
Ok. To give a drop dose…you push the plunger of the syringe right in and hold it while you insert the syringe into the insulin. Then let go of the plunger and then withdraw the syringe. Test it a few times to see that you have only withdrawn a drop.
When giving the insulin, hold the plunger down for a bit longer and as you withdraw it.
In the future until you gradually reduce the BGlevel at which you shoot, I would stall and ask for advice.
Got it!! Thank you, I was able to obtain the drop and gave it to Henry. :)
 
Kay, I think from tomorrow we can send you over to the Lantus forum where there are lots of people who use lantus who will be there to help you. We like to keep you here until we have everything sorted out with the new insulin but I think you are ready to move. Are you happy to do that?
Over on the lantus forum you post a new thread each day. The subject line should read
Date/ Henry/ AMPS and then any other BGs you might want to add as the cycle progresses and if you want to ask a question you can add the ? or write it in the subject line.
 
Kay, I think from tomorrow we can send you over to the Lantus forum where there are lots of people who use lantus who will be there to help you. We like to keep you here until we have everything sorted out with the new insulin but I think you are ready to move. Are you happy to do that?
Over on the lantus forum you post a new thread each day. The subject line should read
Date/ Henry/ AMPS and then any other BGs you might want to add as the cycle progresses and if you want to ask a question you can add the ? or write it in the subject line.
Sounds like a plan! I feel like Henry and I have graduated — thank you for ALL you help. I can’t thank you all enough. I did give a donation to the page to express my gratitude in some way. Thank you :cat:
 
Sounds like a plan! I feel like Henry and I have graduated — thank you for ALL you help. I can’t thank you all enough. I did give a donation to the page to express my gratitude in some way. Thank you :cat:
Well you have graduated really.:D I’ll see you over on the L and L page as well and will be interested in Henry’s progress.
Thank you for the donation!
 
See you over at the Lsntus Board :cat:
Henry is so darn adorable :cat:
In case you don't know how to add additional tests look to the right you will see the word Thread Tools ,tap that then tap on Edit Title add the tests and then tap save. You can continue with the PMPS numbers also
We also link the previous days post to your new one in case members need to see it :cat:
Your previous post will be all the way up top above the pic of that cat on the left hand side that says Feline Diabetes Just copy and paste it to your new post
 
Last edited:
See you over at the Lsntus Board :cat:
Henry is so darn adorable :cat:
In case you don't know how to add additional tests look to the right you will see the word Thread Tools ,tap that then tap on Edit Title add the tests and then tap save. You can continue with the PMPS numbers also
We also link the previous days post to your new one in case members need to see it :cat:
Your previous post will be all the way up top above the pic of that cat on the left hand side that says Feline Diabetes Just copy and paste it to your new post
Thank you so much Diane! I will try out those new tips.:cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top