1-6-20 TYLER AM-94/97@+1.25/87@+2.25/85@+3/101@+4/103@+5/119@10.25/PM-132/81@+3/96@+4/82@+6/95@+8.25

The next dose down is a drop. That's where you hold the plunger of the syringe in while you insert it into the insulin. While it is in the insulin, you let go of the plunger and let it suck a drop back into the syringe.
 
The next dose down is a drop. That's where you hold the plunger of the syringe in while you insert it into the insulin. While it is in the insulin, you let go of the plunger and let it suck a drop back into the syringe.
@carfurby oh yes I have done that in the past and thought there was nothing in the syringe, thanks Carla
 
Good morning , Diane :bighug: You are doing fantastic !! Excited for Tyler's progress !!!! Go Tyler :bighug: Almost to a drop dose !!!! You've got this !!!! ❤️
 
Oh, Diane , I don't blame you for being excited/nervous ... you have worked so long and hard to get Tyler to this place . You can do whatever comes next , I am certain ❤️
 
Oh, Diane , I don't blame you for being excited/nervous ... you have worked so long and hard to get Tyler to this place . You can do whatever comes next , I am certain ❤️
Thanks Beth , do you know as I was sitting here typing I said to myself did you give Tyler his insulin lol that's how thrown I was with his pre shot
 
Last edited:
Just be ready with the higher LC and/or lower MC ...I will literally get a teaspoon on a plate and cover it so it's ready to feed when I check the BG.... so if it's a shocker I'm locked and loaded with a good response immediately ....it's quite the production :woot: What do you usually start responding with if he needs steered ?
 
Just be ready with the higher LC and/or lower MC ...I will literally get a teaspoon on a plate and cover it so it's ready to feed when I check the BG.... so if it's a shocker I'm locked and loaded with a good response immediately ....it's quite the production :woot: What do you usually start responding with if he needs steered ?
Well before I got a pre shot this low I would start with the FF Pate 3% then if I need something higher I went with the roasted 6% you told me about, I also have FF gravy lovers 15 % and 20 % @Beth 73
 
Just to keep the goal in mind... Tyler is doing great but he's not ready for an OTJ trial -- there's still too much blue on his SS. Steer the cycle with food so you prevent a dose reduction. You want to see lots of green.
 
Just to keep the goal in mind... Tyler is doing great but he's not ready for an OTJ trial -- there's still too much blue on his SS. Steer the cycle with food so you prevent a dose reduction. You want to see lots of green.
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) hey there I just tested him an hour later which is @+2.25 and he was 87 , I just fed him FF Roasted 6% , trying not to make him have a reduction, so should I have fed him something at +1.25 which was 97.
When should I test him again another 30 minutes or an hour Do I have to take the reduction @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
No, Diane, you don't have to take a reduction ...steering helps keep Bg in place and gives further time for pancreas to get even stronger ...
 
No, Diane, you don't have to take a reduction ...steering helps keep Bg in place and gives further time for pancreas to get even stronger ...
@Beth 73 just tested him at +3 -85 just fed him FF 15% carbs, oh I thought you had to take the reduction, thanks my friend:bighug:So in other words I can stay with the 0.10 and have to accumulate a lot more greens before I go to a drop dose?
I was reading what Sienne wrote in #18 that's why I thought you have to take a reduction .
So so far his AMPS was 94 shot 0.10
@+1.25-97 gave no food, should I have ?
@+2.25-87 fed him FF Roasted 6% which you told me about
@+3- 85 fed him the gravy lovers 15%
@+4- 101 no food given
 
Last edited:
Technically if you are following SLGS you would take the reduction however if you have used up all the kibble and want to start TR........then you wouldn't reduce till Tyler goes below 50.
 
Diane, because of how Elmo goes about this I have a very different experience.... he is doing this in his own unique way ... high carbs don't faze him easily . That's why I don't give advice because Elmo doesn't follow the normal path and his path is all I'm familiar with .....imagine that :coffee::coffee::banghead::rolleyes:
 
Technically if you are following SLGS you would take the reduction however if you have used up all the kibble and want to start TR........then you wouldn't reduce till Tyler goes below 50.
@MrWorfMen's Mom OK I am going to throw out the rest of the kibble now, not much left, so for tonight I stay with the 0.10 units? When should We make a new line on the SS to say I am doing TR protocol. Was I right in not feeding him @+4 (101) @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
So we will consider you have started TR as of today. :D You can change your signature to indicate TR now and add a new row into the SS above today's date row. If you want me to add the row, just holler.
 
So we will consider you have started TR as of today. :D You can change your signature to indicate TR now and add a new row into the SS above today's date row. If you want me to add the row, just holler.
@MrWorfMen's Mom yes can you please add the row on the SS, sorry I don't know how to do it, thank you Linda, is it easy to do on the tablet, want to tell me so I can learn , how do you make the line a color that you want
I remembered you explaining TR in a nut shell so is this what I am going to follow about reductions

In a nutshell, TR you don't decrease dose unless Tyler drops below 50 or less three times or below 40 once (he's a long term diabetic) and you can do increases every 6 cycles if he is not responding as you'd like. You also can shoot any BG 50 or above with regular dose of insulin. Lantus tends to work very well at low range to get kitty surfing along steadily. They still need to be monitored initially to do it safely but overall, you can let kitty drop to lower range normal and it helps the pancreas regenerate and learn to do it's job again. Getting into Kibble once in a blue moon (believe me it WILL happen no matter how diligent you are) is no big deal. The point is to not be feeding kibble as a regular food in the diet.

Now if Tyler drops below 50 three times is that pre shot and during the cycles?
Is it below 50 (not 50 or less)

If he drops below 40 once is that pre shot and during the cycles?

I can do increases every 6 cycles (three days) if he is not responding as I would like?
I don't understand this why would I increase, what would be the reason for increasing?
 
Last edited:
Diane you are aiming to get Tyler's BG down to lower normal numbers so if he is still sticking in some blues with some green or all his greens are in the 90s, you may need to increase the dose to get him to come down to the lower BGs. Yes you can increase every 6 cycles if need be.

When we talk about going below 50, that means any time, preshot or during the cycle. When you are looking for 3 drops below 50, those drops have to be on different days. So if Tyler were to hit 49 twice the same day, that only counts as one drop below 50. If Tyler drops below 40, then that is an automatic reduction.
 
Diane you are aiming to get Tyler's BG down to lower normal numbers so if he is still sticking in some blues with some green or all his greens are in the 90s, you may need to increase the dose to get him to come down to the lower BGs. Yes you can increase every 6 cycles if need be.

When we talk about going below 50, that means any time, preshot or during the cycle. When you are looking for 3 drops below 50, those drops have to be on different days. So if Tyler were to hit 49 twice the same day, that only counts as one drop below 50. If Tyler drops below 40, then that is an automatic reduction.
@MrWorfMen's Mom OK going to write this in my notebook, but it's so much to remember to me anyway, I understand it as I'm reading it, but I wouldn't know this off the top of my head, I definitely need to look at my notes. Sorry if I'm driving you crazy , I looked at Tyler holding the rest of the kibble in my hands and said say good bye Tyler, I know he is going to be a ball breaker crying about this but hopefully after a while he will stop. Sometimes when I didn't want to feed him the kibble ,I would put a little wet food down and he would walk away and just look at me crying for the kibble. Now to stand guard while Perry is eating his K/D for his kidney disease or feed him in the bathroom, my poor Perry @MrWorfMen's Mom


When you said this
Diane you are aiming to get Tyler's BG down to lower normal numbers so if he is still sticking in some blues with some green or all his greens are in the 90s, you may need to increase the dose to get him to come down to the lower BGs.

So when you say normal numbers what is the reference range for normal numbers that I am aiming for?
So I don't want all of his greens to be in the 90s at all? @MrWorfMen's Mom
You probably want to strangle me right now lol sometimes I want to strangle myself
 
Last edited:
You're doing great Diane! You deserve a piece of cake!

Hang in there - lots to remember :) Good that you're keeping a notebook - plus you have lots of support to help you along the way :)
 
You're doing great Diane! You deserve a piece of cake!

Hang in there - lots to remember :) Good that you're keeping a notebook - plus you have lots of support to help you along the way :)
@Sue and Luci thanks Sue, I just don't want to screw up, I thank everyone for the support and help when I don't know what to do, a lot to remember about TR for me anyway. The only thing I worry about is that if I ever need help on what to do and it's late I might not get a response. I'm just a crazy worry wart oh did Luci get her cast off today @Sue and Luci
 
Diane , I have to feed Elmo and Ben in separate rooms to keep Ben from gobbling up all of Elmo's. Elmo has always been a grazer and it's worse now . He gets up and down off his feeding place 12 plus times a day and each time I put the food down and have to either stand guard or put Ben in time out in laundry room . It doesn't take that long but it's constant :banghead: Mercy :woot:
 
Normal BG would be 50 to 120 however for a strong remission you are aiming for the majority of time spent in the 50 to 80 range. You may get the odd higher BG even into the low blue but for the most part you want Tyler as green as possible, hopefully totally green.
 
Diane , I have to feed Elmo and Ben in separate rooms to keep Ben from gobbling up all of Elmo's. Elmo has always been a grazer and it's worse now . He gets up and down off his feeding place 12 plus times a day and each time I put the food down and have to either stand guard or put Ben in time out in laundry room . It doesn't take that long but it's constant :banghead: Mercy :woot:
What it is , is a pain in the butt lol, all the chasing around we do after them with the dish so that they eat you would think we would weigh 99 lbs lol. I sometimes have to do the same thing with Tyler, he will eat some and if it gets dried out I add more water
to it and he will then eat more of it, or god forbid he hears the littlest noise out side he stops and walks away and I follow him again, that's when I want to kill him lol
 
Last edited:
Normal BG would be 50 to 120 however for a strong remission you are aiming for the majority of time spent in the 50 to 80 range. You may get the odd higher BG even into the low blue but for the most part you want Tyler as green as possible, hopefully totally green.
@MrWorfMen's Mom OK so what I am aiming for is to try to keep his BG between 51-and the lower and middle 80s not the lower 90s for cats on lantus, and using a human meter , is this correct I'm so sorry for not getting it, please dont get frustrated with me OK?
I'm just afraid if I need help with dosing or whatever no one will be around , I googled what is a normal BG for cats it said
The normal blood glucose level for cats is 80 to 120 mg/dL, is this for a cat that has never had diabetes @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
Do you know if that normal was based on a human meter or pet meter or animal lab values? That's the problem with looking things up on the internet. You have no context for where those numbers came from. Check a few more sites and you'll get different values again. The numbers used here are tried and true based on the dosing methods used here so don't confuse yourself with info from other sites. You can't mix and match.

With TR, your goal is remission. It's more aggressive than SLGS. While kitties do go into remission using SLGS, it's a bit more difficult to get to that ultimate goal in some cases and I've seen folks switch to TR to get over that last hurdle. Aiming for the lower normal BGs produces a strong remission in cats who attain that goal.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom OK so what I am aiming for is to try to keep his BG between 51-and the lower and middle 80s not the lower 90s for cats on lantus, and using a human meter , is this correct I'm so sorry for not getting it, please dont get frustrated with me OK? Just found what you wrote to me


Normal BG would be 50 to 120 however for a strong remission you are aiming for the majority of time spent in the 50 to 80 range. You may get the odd higher BG even into the low blue but for the most part you want Tyler as green as possible, hopefully totally green.

So is what I wrote above the same thing you were trying to explain to me. I'm sorry to keep asking all these questions, I feel like a dumb bell @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
Diane, you are no dumbbell ... this stuff is akin to rocket science to me too ....you are doing so wonderful .. we just have to take it step at a time , day at a time .... be proud of yourself ❤️
 
Diane, you are no dumbbell ... this stuff is akin to rocket science to me too ....you are doing so wonderful .. we just have to take it step at a time , day at a time .... be proud of yourself ❤️
@Beth 73 thanks Beth, just wait till Tyler starts looking for the Dr Elsey kibble tonight, sorry Charlie it's in the garbage. I used it because if it was late at night it was easier just to throw it down right away instead of mashing up the wet food. But now I will just have to do it now know matter how tired I am. If he turns his nose up because he wants the kibbles , because he does that then he will just have to not eat until he's good and hungry
 
You're just trying to wrap your head around all this. Not a dumbbell...a concerned kitty parent.

90s are Ok but most non diabetic cats run between 50 and 80, some even lower than 50, so that is the goal. Some readings in the 90s are fine. They are still green.
 
You're just trying to wrap your head around all this. Not a dumbbell...a concerned kitty parent.

90s are Ok but most non diabetic cats run between 50 and 80, some even lower than 50, so that is the goal. Some readings in the 90s are fine. They are still green.
@MrWorfMen's Mom thanks again for explaining it, another green tonight @+3- 81 so I fed him the 15% carb FF
@+4-96 fed him 6% carbs FF
@+6 - 82 - fed 15% carbs
@+8.25- 95 fed 1 teaspoon FF 3%
Boy am I tired, it's 3 am I feel like a zombie right now lol
It's now 5:01 am who am I, where am I lol @MrWorfMen's Mom
@Beth 73
 
Last edited:
Back
Top