1/5 Xander AMPS 135 +3 81 +4 79 PMPS 118 +3 86

Albert & Xander

Member Since 2025
Yesterday's post

The vet tech called this morning, I updated her on Xander, and the vet said she doesn't need to see him today since he's doing well, but to call if his condition changes and we can followup with an ultrasound. She said to discontinue the cerenia since its been 5 days, but I can give the ondansetron and continue the mirataz to keep him eating. I'm a little unsure of when I should try to phase out these medicines.

Last night the mirataz made him super hungry again even with the reduced dose, but he wasn't as starving and restless. This morning he's eating pretty well but not cleaning out bowls like when the mirataz peaks at night.
 
You know, I cut back the amount I use and Angel's done really on that. The last 2 mornings I've given half the dose in the morning, and then at dinnertime, I'll give her about 1/4 normal amount suggested. She's been doing really well on that these last 2 days. Because in the recent past, she'll eat good during the day, then eat nothing at night. So by separating it, I ensure she eats later as well.
As for how long to give? My Angel has cancer, and some times she'll just go through phases where she doesn't feel like eating. I give her the appetite stimulant for an entire week, to ensure her stomach is feeling better and she's out of her 'funk'. Then after the week she continues to go back to eating. I do have 2 cats (her included), that are permanently on Ondansetron twice a day. I was even told Angel can have the 4mg the times a day. I also am giving her cbd for cats in order to help with inflammation and old folks pains. :)
I hope Xander continues to do well.🥰
 
Yesterday's post

The vet tech called this morning, I updated her on Xander, and the vet said she doesn't need to see him today since he's doing well, but to call if his condition changes and we can followup with an ultrasound. She said to discontinue the cerenia since its been 5 days, but I can give the ondansetron and continue the mirataz to keep him eating. I'm a little unsure of when I should try to phase out these medicines.

Last night the mirataz made him super hungry again even with the reduced dose, but he wasn't as starving and restless. This morning he's eating pretty well but not cleaning out bowls like when the mirataz peaks at night.
Hi Albert! I'm glad to hear he continues to do well. In terms of the meds, you might want to ask the vet her opinion. Something (and I believe the vet assumes it is the pancreatitis) is causing the inappetence, so my thinking is that until that clears, you want to help him with an anti-nausea med + food stimulant. I don't (thankfully!) know enough about pancreatitis to estimate how long it can take to clear. But I would look at the inappetence as an important symptom in letting you know how he's doing since he has been diagnosed with an illness that causes inappetence--if that makes sense. @Staci & Ivy has experience with pancreatitis, so maybe she can offer more input as to how the flares progress.

Remind me: why is he getting the ultrasound?
 
Hi Albert! I'm glad to hear he continues to do well. In terms of the meds, you might want to ask the vet her opinion. Something (and I believe the vet assumes it is the pancreatitis) is causing the inappetence, so my thinking is that until that clears, you want to help him with an anti-nausea med + food stimulant. I don't (thankfully!) know enough about pancreatitis to estimate how long it can take to clear. But I would look at the inappetence as an important symptom in letting you know how he's doing since he has been diagnosed with an illness that causes inappetence--if that makes sense. @Staci & Ivy has experience with pancreatitis, so maybe she can offer more input as to how the flares progress.

Remind me: why is he getting the ultrasound?
Hi Albert,
My vet wasn't in a hurry for me to ditch the Cerenia after Ivy had pancreatitis. He feels it has anti-inflammatory properties that are helpful.

When she has a flare (I assume it's that when she starts with loose bowels) and I give a small dose of Cerenia and Colon Rescue for her symptoms.

I agree with Mary about the mirtaz, if it seems too much, you can play around with it and try to reduce it and see if it keeps him eating or 1/2 at am and 1/2 at pm.

I am definitely no expert with pancreatitis! Just had the experience last February. She received fluids also and that was helpful (2x)

@JoM and @tiffmaxee are very experienced in this area Ladies, can you offer any advice to Albert?

I hope he continues to recover and won't need the meds any longer, but glad you have them in case they are needed!

Do you have any pain meds in case he needs them (I know you have gabapentin, but buprenorphine is the preferred med for pain (I can't get it unless she's in need, as it's a controlled medication).
:bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
 
This morning he ate above his average, still takes several small meals as usual but he isn't refusing.

I still have a little cerenia left, but the vet wrote that it should only be used 5 days consecutively which would mean not giving it today. He's due for a dose at 1pm and am wondering if I should just try the ondansetron before tonight's meals or ask again if I could continue with cerenia.

He has definitely improved in appetite and spirit, im just scared to change anything now.

The ultrasound was recommended just to check if anything else in addition could be going on such as IBD.
 
This all sounds positive. A lot of times with Pancreatitis, which is a chronic illness, they need to stay on the meds permanently. You can adjust the dose and frequency as long as you keep him stable and eating. I wouldnt change anything yet. Cerenia actually can be used continually. The company amended that several years ago. Some cats do benefit from a skip in dose once in a while tho. Cats all respond to meds differently as we can see in this diabetes group. You just need to find the combo, dose and frequency that works best for Xander.
An ultrasound isnt a bad idea, but personally I would wait a bit and see if this new med regimen works for him.
Its important to be consistent with the meds, not just give them here and there. You also may want to push for some Buprenorphine as its excellent for pain caused by Pancreatitis.
Thanks @Staci & Ivy for the tag. I had spoken with Albert prior to this.
 
This all sounds positive. A lot of times with Pancreatitis, which is a chronic illness, they need to stay on the meds permanently. You can adjust the dose and frequency as long as you keep him stable and eating. I wouldnt change anything yet. Cerenia actually can be used continually. The company amended that several years ago. Some cats do benefit from a skip in dose once in a while tho. Cats all respond to meds differently as we can see in this diabetes group. You just need to find the combo, dose and frequency that works best for Xander.
An ultrasound isnt a bad idea, but personally I would wait a bit and see if this new med regimen works for him.
Its important to be consistent with the meds, not just give them here and there. You also may want to push for some Buprenorphine as its excellent for pain caused by Pancreatitis.
Thanks @Staci & Ivy for the tag. I had spoken with Albert prior to this.
Thanks, @JoM
I’m glad you had already spoken 🥰

Albert, my understanding is also that the limitation of five days of Cerenia is outdated information as Jo has mentioned. That’s old thinking and old information.

Depending on his situation, Xander may or may not need it, but I would certainly make sure you have more of it in your house in case a flair happens once you get past this.
I would never want to be without it or any of these meds.
Make sure you keep them and have access to getting more of them easily without waiting for prescriptions to be called in.
I order the Cerenia from Chewy, so there is a lag in time unless there’s a prescription on file that’s already been approved by your vet.
That way you can always get it quickly shipped.

Of course, if you can go grab it at your vet’s office quickly and easily that’s great, but we just want to be prepared and not be behind the eight ball when they are sick and we don’t have access to medication easily.
 
So maybe a few days more of cerenia? I have 3 doses left. And then see how he does with no nausea meds? Should I call the vet and ask about this or just give it a try?
 
Thanks, @JoM
I’m glad you had already spoken 🥰

Albert, my understanding is also that the limitation of five days of Cerenia is outdated information as Jo has mentioned. That’s old thinking and old information.

Depending on his situation, Xander may or may not need it, but I would certainly make sure you have more of it in your house in case a flair happens once you get past this.
I would never want to be without it or any of these meds.
Make sure you keep them and have access to getting more of them easily without waiting for prescriptions to be called in.
I order the Cerenia from Chewy, so there is a lag in time unless there’s a prescription on file that’s already been approved by your vet.
That way you can always get it quickly shipped.

Of course, if you can go grab it at your vet’s office quickly and easily that’s great, but we just want to be prepared and not be behind the eight ball when they are sick and we don’t have access to medication easily.
Definitely will request about script of it to have on hand!
 
Since technically his dose on Friday was thrown up, it hasn't been 5 consecutive days. So I'll continue for the rest of the script I have a reassess then. I'll give a little mirataz today as well.

He's eating really well. I'm able to convince him to eat his food with a little water mixed in at night after the mirataz. I can't get him to drink additional water, so I'm making a batch of bone broth right now to see if he goes for it.

@Staci & Ivy do you remember how long Ivy's first bout with pancreatitis lasted?
 
Since technically his dose on Friday was thrown up, it hasn't been 5 consecutive days. So I'll continue for the rest of the script I have a reassess then. I'll give a little mirataz today as well.

He's eating really well. I'm able to convince him to eat his food with a little water mixed in at night after the mirataz. I can't get him to drink additional water, so I'm making a batch of bone broth right now to see if he goes for it.

@Staci & Ivy do you remember how long Ivy's first bout with pancreatitis lasted?
It looks like it lasted (on meds around 10 -12 ish days. She really only felt awful for about 4-5 days.
(It was Feb 18 or so 2025, if you want to read the comments section on my ss to see what went on).

But I stuck with the meds and slowly phased them out as we thought she was recovering.
As soon as I see her starting up with loose poops again, I immediately give her a small dose of Cerenia and the colon rescue liquid, and that seems to have gotten her to recover two or three times (within about a day).

That’s why I was very thankful I had the Cerenia in the house and ready to go if I needed it.

I also learned that the mirtaz supposedly is only good for 30 days once you open it. That’s what I was told during that whole situation so I bought several more tubes and they are unopened in my cabinet if I should feed them.
 
I also learned that the mirtaz supposedly is only good for 30 days once you open it. That’s what I was told during that whole situation so I bought several more tubes and they are unopened in my cabinet if I should feed them.
Oh! I didn't know this! Thanks for the heads-up. I'll need to order some more to keep on hand.
 
Great information! I think after 3 more days of cerenia, that will put him at over a week of meds and i'll see how he does without, with the ondansetron on hand in case. And i'll make a decision on the mirataz around then as well.

The mirataz has been a miracle. I feel bad for him being so hungry at night, the only other time in his life that he actually asked for food was when his diabetes started.

He must have gotten some on the tops of his ears because testing last night and this morning was a little rough. The blood kept wicking around rather than beading. I think he's good now that I cleaned them really well.

I need to stay on top of hydration going forward. I think even with the all wet food diet he probably has a degree of chronic low level dehydration. Maybe the mirataz hunger will train him to allow a bit of extra water in his food. I'm currently cooking my first chicken bone broth for him with no other ingredients so fingers crossed he'll like that. I ended up buying chicken paws, as they have a lot of bones and connective tissues - and pretty cheap. Who knew 1) I would ever buy a pack of chicken paws 2) I would cook for him? 😆
 
Great information! I think after 3 more days of cerenia, that will put him at over a week of meds and i'll see how he does without, with the ondansetron on hand in case. And i'll make a decision on the mirataz around then as well.

The mirataz has been a miracle. I feel bad for him being so hungry at night, the only other time in his life that he actually asked for food was when his diabetes started.

He must have gotten some on the tops of his ears because testing last night and this morning was a little rough. The blood kept wicking around rather than beading. I think he's good now that I cleaned them really well.

I need to stay on top of hydration going forward. I think even with the all wet food diet he probably has a degree of chronic low level dehydration. Maybe the mirataz hunger will train him to allow a bit of extra water in his food. I'm currently cooking my first chicken bone broth for him with no other ingredients so fingers crossed he'll like that. I ended up buying chicken paws, as they have a lot of bones and connective tissues - and pretty cheap. Who knew 1) I would ever buy a pack of chicken paws 2) I would cook for him? 😆
chicken paws 🤭

Sounds like you're doing some really good things to help him feel better, Albert!
 
Here's a goofy pic of him getting his chin scratched

20260105_114024.jpg
 
It looks like it lasted (on meds around 10 -12 ish days. She really only felt awful for about 4-5 days.
(It was Feb 18 or so 2025, if you want to read the comments section on my ss to see what went on).

But I stuck with the meds and slowly phased them out as we thought she was recovering.
As soon as I see her starting up with loose poops again, I immediately give her a small dose of Cerenia and the colon rescue liquid, and that seems to have gotten her to recover two or three times (within about a day).

That’s why I was very thankful I had the Cerenia in the house and ready to go if I needed it.

I also learned that the mirtaz supposedly is only good for 30 days once you open it. That’s what I was told during that whole situation so I bought several more tubes and they are unopened in my cabinet if I should feed them.
You’re an awesome cat dad 🥰🌟😻
 
I use ondansetron and it only works for 6-8 hours. Currently one of mine who is a foodie has been lucky. I determined it was nausea as I gave her ondansetron and she ate well. She’s getting it two or three times a day . My vet office had extensive rain damage so I have been winging it with both cats having unknown reasons for their symptoms and ondansetron has helped. No reason to stop cerenia if that works better though. Just know ondansetron needs to be given usually every 6-8 hours. I get away with 12 hours because she doesn’t eat overnight. In the past I had to give it every 8 hours though.
 
My vet assured me the Mirataz actually has the shelf life for 12 years, even after opened. Let me go check what the I've been using for Angel the last few days...
Holy crud! The rx date was
20-Feb-23!🤣
And I assure you, it works just fine. Better than fine. The Entyce didn't work for her, and neither did the Elura this time. But when I started using only a portion of what it calls for? She suddenly started eating again. Thank goodness. And I first opened the tube when it was prescribed to me back in 2023.😅 There's no coincidence that she suddenly began eating once this was applied. It still works.
Is also kept in the original box, in a cubbard that never gets over 69° year round. Don't know if that helps.
Just thought I'd put that out there. Especially as expensive as it is.
 
My vet assured me the Mirataz actually has the shelf life for 12 years, even after opened. Let me go check what the I've been using for Angel the last few days...
Holy crud! The rx date was
20-Feb-23!🤣
And I assure you, it works just fine. Better than fine. The Entyce didn't work for her, and neither did the Elura this time. But when I started using only a portion of what it calls for? She suddenly started eating again. Thank goodness. And I first opened the tube when it was prescribed to me back in 2023.😅 There's no coincidence that she suddenly began eating once this was applied. It still works.
Is also kept in the original box, in a cubbard that never gets over 69° year round. Don't know if that helps.
Just thought I'd put that out there. Especially as expensive as it is.
Oh wow, sounds like its holding up well over time for you. I was wondering about that, I googled around and saw some others saying that they use it well past the 30 days as well.
 
Oh wow, sounds like its holding up well over time for you. I was wondering about that, I googled around and saw some others saying that they use it well past the 30 days as well.
My friend's brother in law is a pharmacist, and said what they put on for explain dates is almost always complete hogwash. Even all that half-life nonsense after a couple months. She does rescue too, so that's important info to know. He said the only ones that are usually tricky are the specially compounded meds. Ones you need to keep in the fridge. That they can deteriorate. But I've even used Cerenia injections that were in my fridge that were drawn 3 months prior to use. And the vet told me it should be used almost right away, definitely within a week. I had a boy with bad ibd flare ups, and once the throw up started, it wouldn't stop til he got a Cerenia shot. So I have always had those on hand. I know the covenia one breaks down relatively quickly too. Another injection that remains in the fridge. Thanks to rescue work and having a bunch of sickos, my vet let's me keep everything on hand from subq's, to different types of antibiotics including injectable ones, Cerenia shots, and even diuretics. I've got my own cat pharmacy at home. 😅
 
My friend's brother in law is a pharmacist, and said what they put on for explain dates is almost always complete hogwash. Even all that half-life nonsense after a couple months. She does rescue too, so that's important info to know. He said the only ones that are usually tricky are the specially compounded meds. Ones you need to keep in the fridge. That they can deteriorate. But I've even used Cerenia injections that were in my fridge that were drawn 3 months prior to use. And the vet told me it should be used almost right away, definitely within a week. I had a boy with bad ibd flare ups, and once the throw up started, it wouldn't stop til he got a Cerenia shot. So I have always had those on hand. I know the covenia one breaks down relatively quickly too. Another injection that remains in the fridge. Thanks to rescue work and having a bunch of sickos, my vet let's me keep everything on hand from subq's, to different types of antibiotics including injectable ones, Cerenia shots, and even diuretics. I've got my own cat pharmacy at home. 😅
Thank you for sharing this information. It’s very helpful 💓

I wish I had known that when I tossed all those “expired” meds. Such a waste of money to toss if still good! 🥰

Do you happen to know if compounded gabapentin (from Wedgwood) is still good to use after the few months they say it’s expired on the label?
@Tyleete
 
Thank you for sharing this information. It’s very helpful 💓

I wish I had known that when I tossed all those “expired” meds. Such a waste of money to toss if still good! 🥰

Do you happen to know if compounded gabapentin (from Wedgwood) is still good to use after the few months they say it’s expired on the label?
@Tyleete
Usually the compounded ones don't last, but I will ask my friend about that specifically & let you know. ;)
 
Ok, this is what I got back...
I wouldn’t trust anything compounded or mixed and refrigerated. They outlast the expiration date but not by much because it’s been modified from its original form.
That's probably why like I said, my Cerenia injections would last for a few months, but after that, they would smell different.
 
Ok, this is what I got back...
I wouldn’t trust anything compounded or mixed and refrigerated. They outlast the expiration date but not by much because it’s been modified from its original form.
That's probably why like I said, my Cerenia injections would last for a few months, but after that, they would smell different.
Ok good to know! 🤞
 
Back
Top