1/5 Shishi PMPS 235 +9 300

Status
Not open for further replies.

will and shishi

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32415

Hello All

Despite increasing the dose to 4 units now and following protocol, Shishi's BG's have not come down.

I would like some opinions on this, seeing how she was responding to insulin well 2 months ago, but not well now. A month ago there was a constant introduction of contraband that has adversely affected her BG, and now it is not well regulated despite dose increases and vigilant monitoring of contraband.

Her P's have been the same throughout the last month or so, to recap they are
-she is pooping fine, formed.
-she is grooming sometimes, but her coat is still full of dandruff.
-she doesn't purr, although I might hear her do it once in 2 weeks.
-she doesn't play, and is very lazy, this is normal for she since she got diabetes 1 year ago.
-she still pees alot,
-she eats normally, and rather very voraciously aswell finishes her food always.

shes still on the same food as before, wellness chicken. recap of schedule
78g of wellness chicken at AMPS 4 units
+1
+2
+3
+4
+5
+6 39g of wellness chicken
+7
+8
+9
+10
+11
78g of wellness chicken at PMPS 4 units
+1
+2
+3
+4
+5
+6
+7
+8
+9
+10
+11
78g of wellness chicken at AMPS 4 units. cycle repeats.

I understand that she is on a higher dose of lantus, and am starting to worry again. Could this be medical condition related? pancreatitis, acromegaly, IAA, others I am missing?

Thanks ahead for your help.
 
Re: 1/5 Shishi AMPS 363

Hi, I do not know enough to advise you.. but I am droppin thru to support & encourage you.. expert eyes can hopefully help ;-)
 
Re: 1/5 Shishi AMPS 363

I thing one thing to consider is how long you're holding on to a dose. If you look at the protocol, doses are increased in 2- 3 days unless the nadir is pretty consistently under 200. You've been sticking with a dose considerably longer. Sticking at a dose when numbers aren't in the blues or greens means your cat is getting used to being in higher ranges and it's harder to break through and bring those numbers down.

Tight Regulation protocol said:
Increasing the dose...

* Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

* After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Generally, we don't start thinking about the possibility of a high dose condition until the dose is over 6.0u. However, as Perry/Sooty can attest, he knows his cat and he had the tests run much sooner and they came back positive.
 
Thanks for the advice, I will follow protocol more closely and adjust doses faster.

I will keep you guys posted about the results and go from there.
 
Good luck, Will and Shishi. I'm sure that following the protocol more closely will help Shishi's numbers and get her back to feeling better.

Ella & Rusty
 
How long has it been since Shishi's had bloodwork done? If it's been a while, and it were my cat, I would do it again, just to rule out any infections. I hope her numbers come down for you soon.
 
Its been about 5 months since her last blood work done in sept 2010 so Its been a while.

She usually tests negative for ketones, and I do this every week or 2 weeks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top