1/5 Ozy AMBG-40 no shot PMPS-197,+2-301,+4-283

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/5 Ozy AM-40 no shot

he's probably loving these low numbers. making him feel more normal again!

good call on skipping the shot. you need a break! he'll get his momentum back soon enough - and you'll get to see what he does when a shot is skipped. might need to know that in the future.
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AM-40 no shot

Wow, Ozy! :shock: When there is no shot, we call that AMBG, for AM Blood Glucose. You are testing again in 30 mins? You want to get him above 50 quickly, maybe with some karo?
Liz
ETA: I defer to Julie's guidance.
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40 no shot

Yes, Ozy thinks everything is just fine. He finished his breakfast with a shot of maple syrup. He is bathing.

Thanks Liz. I fixed it.
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AM-40 no shot

Well done!
No worries about skipping a shot all things considered. I would have done the same thing...

As a matter of fact, many where the times I did exactly that.

Funny, I was called upon to share our experience on pounding down relentless high BGs. . .

Time to switch gears and share some stories of the craziness of sliding down the dosing scale :cool:

How about that Ozy, he is really something!
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40 no shot

Good decision! I wouldn't suggest shooting numbers that are dropping like this. Ozy obviously had a plan and it didn't involve ear pokes!
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40 no shot

Thanks, Sandy. Yes, he is. Wish you could meet him. He is a big sweet boy with a crust of feisty....he does like to bite, still.

We thought it would be a good day to try R... hardeee har har har....bad joke.

By all means, bring on the stories. And I'd like to hear about what happened with the ketone incidents, too. I notice NO ONE ever says I should be less afraid of ketones than I am. The ketone testing meter came. I am glad of that.

I know you all say he is a different cat now but I still remember what happened in September, when we lost control and skidded off the road with his glucose.

And thanks, Sienne, nice to hear your thoughts. I just couldn't add any insulin to a 40...

I do like that Levemir cycles are low around pre-shot. Makes it easier to decide what to do. I also like that they are much flatter.
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40 no shot

Don't forget so keep ahead of pain-
 

Attachments

  • Better Living through Chemistry.jpg
    Better Living through Chemistry.jpg
    54.6 KB · Views: 1,315
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40 no shot

hehe you only *think* it's funny to mention R. in fact, if he decides not to stay in decent numbers, this would be an opportunity for us to try the R. :-D

maybe not on the 40 though. :lol:
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40 no shot

I think Ozy "heard" the discussion on trying R and testing after 30 min, etc. and decided he didn't want that many ear pokes! ;-) "I'll fix them!" :mrgreen: Way to go, Ozy. Now work on earning fewer ear pokes every day! Your beans don't enjoy them either!
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40,+.5-67 no shot

I am still looking for quiet and boring...

Thanks for the reminder, Sandy. I think we made another mistake with the bupe dose in the night. I did give it to him but I fed him immediately afterward. I usually give it some time to absorb first. So I think I will do another dose after 8 hours, which is pretty soon now.

Nice to see that 67.

John is snoozing now on the other end of the sofa. I had the shift until five am, sleeping on the couch, setting the alarm to test all the time. Then he took over. Now it is my turn again. The sun is pouring in. Ozy is in his box sleeping. Pippin is keeping watch. Harpo is watching the birds.

BTW, for those of you who sew (Julie), I found a great use for those empty lancet boxes. I use them to put thread bits in and keep the kitties safe from thread (both Pippin and Harpo eat thread if given the chance). The vet who came to the house warned me sternly about how dangerous eating thread can be. I use only cotton thread so hopefully it would break down.

It does concern me that we are so tired when there are all these warnings about the flu raging.
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40,+.5-67 no shot

one of my quilting group friends found an entire needle and thread in the litter box, "used." :shock: i've been very careful around the kittens, but i'm complacent with anya. she's 4ish and doesn't seem interested in them, but i should probably be more careful even with her. She sleeps in the family room, where all my sewing stuff is, and could easily get into any of it. i leave pins and thread on top of my machine.

good idea for using the little cases. they are kinda handy with their tight little lids. i put thumbtacks in them too. they'd be a decent needle case.
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40,+.5-67 no shot

Another great day for OZY - hope he surfs safely & well today on the skipped shot. :mrgreen: Seems like there are a few kitts sliding down the dose ladder lately. Hope you get some well-deserved rest, Donaleen - no dose advice from me - better from those that really know what they're talking about!
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40 no shot

Way to go Ozy! Thanks for giving your momma bean a little break and some time to rest up. Keep working your way safely down the dosing scale.
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40,+.5-67 no shot

Well, that's dramatic! Hope Ozy doesn't hop on the roller coaster today. Hope you can get some rest soon.
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40,+.5-67 no shot

It's great to see Ozy doing so well. Hopefully he'll surf a little higher for you today.
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40,+1-72 no shot

Paws crossed for a very gentle rise for Ozy today. I hope you get some extra sleep today Donaleen. Your instincts were right on about today's shot and reduction. And the one benefit to a larger depot is that cats recover better from a skipped shot.

Good use for the lancet boxes. I use a thread catcher and pincushion combo for my bits of thread. Basic style, not as pretty as the ones there. Too scary thinking of the cats getting into threads. And thanks for the link to the cord cover - I know someone who could use that.
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40,+1-72,+6-211 no shot

Wendy&Neko said:
Paws crossed for a very gentle rise for Ozy today. I hope you get some extra sleep today Donaleen. Your instincts were right on about today's shot and reduction. And the one benefit to a larger depot is that cats recover better from a skipped shot.
.

I hope you are right... He is feeling really good. Like all of us, he is a lot more fun when he feels good. I've really been enjoying his company. He is using the scratching post, moving around much more than he usually does (and more quickly). He is pretty hungry. In the last two cycles, he ate almost double his normal amount and he still wants to eat. He was also letting me know that he wanted some MEAT. Enough of this cat food. Where is my chicken? We ran out day before yesterday. We did walk to the store today and get some more chicken thighs and I cooked him a nice snack. He liked that.

So that's it from Ozy time. I wrote about Ozy time in my blog today.
http://spitnvinegar.blogspot.com/2014/01/ozy-time.html
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40,+1-72,+6-211 no shot

I like it when they make the decisions for us, eh? You want to sleep but you don't want to lose momentum. So Ozy decides for you. He knows what a great job you've been doing for him. I hope you and John have been able to take advantage of this cycle.

Good luck with the reduction....you have a huge cheering section and it makes us all so happy that Ozy is doing better.

And your instincts are correct....bupe needs to be given at a separate time from food so it is properly absorbed.

I laughed at the pancreas jokes. I always enjoy reading your blog :-D oh....and LBG...the only cat we've ever had that chews on electrical cords. I was afraid to death that she wouldn't make it out of kittenhood.

I saw these Cord Covers at Tuesday Morning and bought a couple and then made several. Haha....foiled the LBG!
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40,+1-72,+6-211 no shot

i had to go read your blog about Ozy time. We have a running joke in our house about "hospital time." when you enter a hospital to support someone you love, all "normal time" ends. you are now on hospital time - it operates differently. all things slow down, people don't have lunch or dinner times, or even bed times. it's like entering the twilight zone.

saw your mention about the tram to OHSU. when you look down from it, there is a pedestrian bridge over I-5 to connect that section of Portland with the waterfront. My DH is very proud of that bridge - he drew up the plans for it to be built. We went to the Grand Opening about a year and a half ago and there were all kinds of festivities, the mayor spoke, balloons and treats and all. it was a big deal at our house. he'd worked on it for a couple of years.

yikes. 211 at +6. do you want to try the R? You could also give the pm shot early, but that might mess with the schedule you've just gotten worked out.
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40,+1-72,+6-211 no shot

Hmmm. Not the R. Too tired to face a learning curve and the fear stuff.

Well we would LIKE to adjust again. To 9 pm.

We could shoot earlier than that today. I would prefer to wait until at least six. And I want to IMMEDIATELY start working toward the nine o'clock cycle time we want, following this method from Marje

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=101059

I cannot believe how ravenous he is.

I hope that time in healing numbers was long enough to do him some good and that he won't go right back to where he was.

That's cool about the bridge.
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40,+1-72,+6-211 no shot

it's so understandable. everyone needs a day off sometimes!

if you want to shoot earlier, this is a great opportunity to move the time.
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40,+1-72,+6-211 no shot

I agree this is the perfect time to change your schedule by shooting early an hour (provided he doesn't trick us with a low number).
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40,+1-72,+6-211 no shot

No.... planning on shooting in half an hour at 6 pm here. It seems his depot has drained enough.

Then using your method to move gradually to 9 pm, moving half an hour a day.
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40,+1-72,+6-211 no shot

donaleen and Ozy said:
We did walk to the store today and get some more chicken thighs and I cooked him a nice snack. He liked that.
Oh to be a cat in a good home. . . . :cool:
julie & punkin (ga) said:
We have a running joke in our house about "hospital time." when you enter a hospital to support someone you love, all "normal time" ends. you are now on hospital time - it operates differently. all things slow down, people don't have lunch or dinner times, or even bed times. it's like entering the twilight zone.
:lol: it is indeed like entering the twilight zone :lol:
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40 no shot PMPS-197,+2-301

I'm confused......I thought the other night/day, you moved his shot time until 10/10 so I thought if you wanted to move it to 9 tonight, it's just shooting an hour early. I must have missed something somewhere.

That 301 would be the perfect time to shoot R...except it's night and you are exhausted. I'd take the time to get some badly needed rest. Get a before bed and if he's still on the way up.....try to sleep until +10 or +11.
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40 no shot PMPS-197,+2-301

Our goal IS to move to 9 pm shooting, BUT we decided to shoot at 6 pm tonight because the depot was drained enough and then use your schedule moving method to get to 9 pm.

We just couldn't face shooting R tonight. Going to bed soon and plan to get some sleep.
 
Re: 1/5 Ozy AMBG-40 no shot PMPS-197,+2-301

Crazy ride for you guys this last week. :cool:
Take advantage of the lull - I see Ozy has already made a course correction and taken the elevator down to the 2nd floor. . .

His ss sure is looking purdy. . . .

eta - at first glance it looks like todays PM shot was at +24. I'm not seeing what the 'plus' hour since the last shot was.
FWIW when we strayed from 12/12 (and lord knows we strayed often) I would just stick in the same cell as the dose:
 

Attachments

  • early  or late shot.jpg
    early or late shot.jpg
    13.9 KB · Views: 1,109
i think she actually shot at +20 tonight. i think they shot at 6pm to help him stop going higher.

sleep well, donaleen! looks like Ozy is already back on track. :YMHUG:
 
Julie nailed it...was unsure HOW to express it in the SS.

We didn't get any tests in the night. We each checked on him in the night. Once he was hiding, a sure sign he was tired of being messed with. So we gave him a break. The 88 was a pleasant surprise this morning, though it makes me wonder where else he's been!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top