1/5 Oliver AMPS HI

Status
Not open for further replies.
ICK, been there, seen that. Sorry :sad: Come down from there Oliver, it will make you feel better ;-) I hope he slides down for you. Have a nice Sunday :smile:
 
I suspect what you're seeing is a combination of a couple of factors. It's likely that Oliver is bouncing off of the blues from yesterday. You're also seeing the effect of the reduced dose last night. To be honest, I would have been thinking about raising Oliver's dose, not lowering it. His nadirs on the 1.75u dose have largely been in the 200s. To me, that would be an indication that an increase is needed. At this point, you need to hold the 1.75u dose for 4 - 6 cycles before making any dose change (unless Oliver's numbers demand a reduction).
 
I agree with Sienne about last night's shot but I know how it is when you first start seeing lower pre-shot numbers. They can be very scary at first, but you'll get to the point where you'll shoot lower and lower numbers. That's one of the reasons we're so big on testing...to learn how each cat responds to both insulin and food so when pre-shot numbers start getting lower, you'll know how Oliver responds and will feel more comfortable shooting. I've shot China when she was in the low 60's at pre-shot time, but only when I knew I could be home to watch over her and had been testing for months to know how she reacted.

If you get a pre-shot number you're not sure about, remember to go back to your first post of the day and edit the subject line to say something that will get people's attention, like "Should I shoot"?...or even just "HELP!" will work.

Oliver!! You come down from those icky high numbers this instant young man! (we'll see if a good stern talking to works)

Hope you have a good Sunday despite the icky numbers Kelly!
 
Ollie sure is a handsome but bouncy boy. I agree with the others, that he seems to need some more juice (as Sienne said, once the current "waiting period" has ended, unless he falls below 50 and therefore requires a reduction). You're starting to see some nice blues now, and you want to try to keep that momentum going. It definitely gets scary at first when you start seeing lower pre-shot numbers, but what usually happens with Lantus is that the curves start to flatten out, meaning that if you start with a low(er) preshot number, you shouldn't see huge, steep dives like you see when a kitty bounces. Whenever you shoot a lower number for the first time, you do want to test at +1 and +2, to see where things are heading. If you do see a big drop, it gives you heads up to either slow the drop with food, or monitor more frequently until things level off.

As Chris said, feel free to post and ask for help any time you feel a need. There are times the board is a little slower, but we're here for you.

Now, Oliver, break that bounce nice and easy, work that juice, and start surfing those pretty blues again!!
 
Re: 1/5 Oliver AMPS HI +6 416 +10 417 PMPS 469 +4 426

Thanks all had last Christmas yesterday so was busy. AGAIN
I don't know why I chose to shot low. I felt he needed in increase as well too.
I will keep testing and posting I am frozen in today In Iowa. No schools or activity.
I will be increasing tomorrow I guess unless I see otherwise.
Thanks for all the advise, I should have posted HELP or ??? for sure. I did post but did not get answer in time to shoot or not 2 days ago.
:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top