1/5 Mikey PMPS 412 +2 276 +3 276 non urgent question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-4-mikey-mikey-mikey-pmps-466.130944/#post-1346917

Mikey seems to have cleared the bounce or maybe the NDW is going away. At any rate, he was doing his diving thing when I got home from Zumba at +2, so I fed him some 12%. It couldn't have worked better to stop the dive, as you can see. :) He was hungry at +3, and he needed some more calories, so I fed him 3% at that point. All of his other food has been 8%. Is my 'fridge full of open cans of cat food? How did you guess? :D

Here's my question. I'd say we have about a 99.99% chance that Mikey RB will be bouncing in the morning. On the odd out chance that he's not, would it be a good idea to feed him some 12% on my way out the door at +1? I usually give him some food on the way out, and set the timed feeder for about +2 and +3, All that food 8%. If he's not bouncing, should I give 12% Picky, picky, picky, I know! This is one hard to manage cat!

I'm hoping everyone else's cats are dong well. I feel pretty out of touch right now., between getting sick, and all the Christmas craziness, I haven't been around enough to read much. Hopefully life will settle down now. Kisses to all the kitties!
 
I wish I had a "do this then do that" sort of answer for you. It's not like with the dosing protocol where you can look at a chart and see where Mikey fits in and what to do next.

The best answer I can give (maybe someone else has a better one - i hope so!) is to keep notes on what you try and see what you think works. Tweak what you think isn't working quite right and repeat what seems to be working.

Your goal isn't to keep him over 200, it's just to keep him from dropping 100 points per hour. Looking at this evening's cycle, I might try giving 1/2 as much of the 12% at +2 next time. Do you know how much volume you gave him? I think feeding the 3% at +3 seems like it was a good choice, but i suspect he might be pretty carb sensitive and the +2 snack was still influencing the +3.

Back to the routine today! things will settle down. :bighug:
 
Glad the 12% worked! I agree with Julie that it's just going to be trial and error but it's really important to keep track of amounts fed when. It does make a difference and it allows you to go back and see so you can either repeat it or know it didn't work.

I was hoping to see some better numbers by now. Hope you are feeling better, Mary!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top