1/5 Kona AMPS 144, +2 232, +3.5 271, +5.5 292, +10.5 302, PMPS 261, +2 191, +3 155, +5 125

Jason - Kona's Dad

Member Since 2023
Soooo glad it's Friday!

Today is a lower pre-shot, we're going to do one last experiment with Steak Frites 5.5% as a full meal. My last few attempts showed that using Steak Frites 5.5% as a full meal with the shot really slowed, flattened, and almost appeared to ruin the momentum of the potential cycle. Now I could be totally wrong on this, but it's just what I'm noticing. With pre-shot numbers around 150, historically, if I use the normal food (Quick n' Quirky or Pretty in Pink) that we do that are less than 1% carbs, I would typically drop into the greens. That is if my memory serves me correctly. I think I do a good job documenting the exact foods Kona gets each day and of course all the BG numbers, so I might see if I can pull data to substantiate this. Who knows... sometimes I think it's all random and FD does what its wants sometimes regardless of what I try to do.

Source: https://www.weruva.com/pages/cat-nutritional-information

Yesterday's Post

Today's Summary:
6:44am - AMPS 144
6:46am - Shot 1.25U
6:50am - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Wx Low Phos (0.0%) + 0.25ml Nordic Naturals Omega 3 + 1/2 packet of FortiFlora probiotics.
 
Good news! We received Kona's radiograph results back an it appears all is well. Unfortunate they couldn't see the kidneys clearly.... the only organs I've been stressing about. Next year I guess.

upload_2024-1-5_7-15-25.png


upload_2024-1-5_7-16-1.png

*cost absorbed by monthly care plan.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-5_7-15-25.png
    upload_2024-1-5_7-15-25.png
    62.1 KB · Views: 124
  • upload_2024-1-5_7-16-1.png
    upload_2024-1-5_7-16-1.png
    47.2 KB · Views: 125
I pay $89.99 per month and get unlimited vet visits.

Here are the services you get in the plan year:

upload_2024-1-5_7-32-3.png


The diabetes panels are NOT included in the care plan, I pay those out of pocket. I do them 3-4 times per year.
upload_2024-1-5_7-33-51.png


If you are interested, I can try to find the costs of all the different charges (labwork, blood pressure, fecal tests, etc.) to see how they break it out a la carte.

I do alternating years where I do the dental add-on as well so she gets her teeth cleaned. So every other year, I will pay $119 per month. I think it's $119, might be more, but I know it is cheaper to do the monthly plan than just paying for the dental work on its own.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-5_7-32-3.png
    upload_2024-1-5_7-32-3.png
    71.6 KB · Views: 119
  • upload_2024-1-5_7-33-51.png
    upload_2024-1-5_7-33-51.png
    67.9 KB · Views: 120
Nice amps, Kona. Good luck with the food experiment. I do wonder if what we do actually means anything….of like you said, FD does what the heck it wants.
So happy the report of Kona’s insides are lovely….just like her :)
Have a great day, Jason :bighug::cool::bighug:
 
Thank you for showing me that. No need to dig further! I plan to do insurance for future cats. I planned on getting siblings when I lose Penny, but now I have Smudge. ;)
 
Nice amps, Kona. Good luck with the food experiment. I do wonder if what we do actually means anything….of like you said, FD does what the heck it wants.
So happy the report of Kona’s insides are lovely….just like her :)
Have a great day, Jason :bighug::cool::bighug:

Thanks so much, Staci! Yes... I know we ALL do it, but the problem I know I have is not having absolutely consistency, giving enough time, and gathering enough data points to really know what is working or not. There are soooo many variables that are changing as well and it's difficult to focus on one and while making no other changes for several weeks, if not months.

I'm changing Kona's food constantly, I know that's a problem with everything I do trying to crack the food code.
 
Thank you for showing me that. No need to dig further! I plan to do insurance for future cats. I planned on getting siblings when I lose Penny, but now I have Smudge. ;)

Smart, for how many times I go in, I know I'm getting my money's worth and saving some. The monthly bill hurts, but... that $600 one-time bill or the $1,500 dental bill hurts even worse.

The care plan, being 100% proactive, is what allowed us to discover Kona was diabetic. It was discovered from her routine, annual labwork.
 
You keep so much data, and that's amazing! All that data just screams a spreadsheet that you can search for key terms and things. Yes, I am an excel nerd who requested a calendar that has excel hints and tips that I am super excited to utilize to finally upgrade some work spreadsheets I have for budgets. I'm so excited! :D

I'm also glad to see Kona had a blue preshot today! Huzzah!
 
You keep so much data, and that's amazing! All that data just screams a spreadsheet that you can search for key terms and things. Yes, I am an excel nerd who requested a calendar that has excel hints and tips that I am super excited to utilize to finally upgrade some work spreadsheets I have for budgets. I'm so excited! :D

I'm also glad to see Kona had a blue preshot today! Huzzah!

Thanks so much! Yes, I've seen some spreadsheet wizards around here where they have all sort of tabs showing graphs of everything correlating BG to you name it. Someday I'll get to that point, because I know it can be a useful tool to help drive decsions. BUT, I'm freaking lazy, I want that software to do it. I wrote this dreaming of the day... ha ha ha https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...achine-learning-to-tell-me-what-to-do.283859/
 
Thanks so much! Yes, I've seen some spreadsheet wizards around here where they have all sort of tabs showing graphs of everything correlating BG to you name it. Someday I'll get to that point, because I know it can be a useful tool to help drive decsions. BUT, I'm freaking lazy, I want that software to do it. I wrote this dreaming of the day... ha ha ha https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...achine-learning-to-tell-me-what-to-do.283859/
I feel that - I've only been talking about creating interlinking spreadsheets for years. Actually doing it? Well, I could, but there are books to read, and Kits to pet, and naps to take! :joyful::joyful::joyful:
 
Okay, I think it is so... my test concludes. No carb'd full meals with pre-shot for Kona unless I'm shooting super low around 80-100. When I say carb'd full meals, it is pretty much anything more than 1%. I know that sounds crazy, but Kona is very carb sensitive kitty. Unless there is something else going on, perhaps still on new dose wokiness? but it's been several cycles since the increase, you'd think she has adjusted already. Maybe bounces from hidden drops over night that I'm not capturing? Very possible... I'll try to improve those.

Next steps... I'll check at +9 or +10 to ensure this is just not a stalled, active cycle on the tail-end. If not, the next step in testing to prove this theory that higher carbs with her shot breaks the action of the cycle, any pre-shots that are around 150, I'll do the normal >1% carb'd full meals with shot. From there, I'd expect more action at the onset of +2 and +3 like we've always seen.

Today's Summary:
6:44am - AMPS 144
6:46am - Shot 1.25U
6:50am - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Wx Low Phos (0.0%) + 0.25ml Nordic Naturals Omega 3 + 1/2 packet of FortiFlora probiotics.
9:02am (+2) - BG 232
10:22am (+3.5) - BG 271
12:28pm (+5.5) - BG 292


Back at +9 or +10......
 
Last edited:
Interesting little drop there from +10.5 to the PMPS.... maybe meter variance?

Today's Summary:

6:44am - AMPS 144
6:46am - Shot 1.25U
6:50am - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Wx Low Phos (0.0%) + 0.25ml Nordic Naturals Omega 3 + 1/2 packet of FortiFlora probiotics.
9:02am (+2) - BG 232
10:22am
(+3.5) - BG 271
12:28pm
(+5.5) - BG 292
5:21pm (+10.5) - BG 302
6:38pm - PMPS 261

6:40pm - Shot 1.25U
6:44pm - Fed
1/2 can of TruLuxe Glam N' Punk (0.6%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Wx Low Phos (0.0%) + 0.25ml Nordic Naturals Omega 3 for Cats + 1/2 packet of FortiFlora Probiotics + 2 teaspoons of pumpkin
 
Today's Summary:
6:44am - AMPS 144
6:46am - Shot 1.25U
6:50am - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Wx Low Phos (0.0%) + 0.25ml Nordic Naturals Omega 3 + 1/2 packet of FortiFlora probiotics.
9:02am (+2) - BG 232
10:22am
(+3.5) - BG 271
12:28pm
(+5.5) - BG 292
5:21pm (+10.5) - BG 302
6:38pm - PMPS 261

6:40pm - Shot 1.25U
6:44pm - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Glam N' Punk (0.6%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Wx Low Phos (0.0%) + 0.25ml Nordic Naturals Omega 3 for Cats + 1/2 packet of FortiFlora Probiotics + 2 teaspoons of pumpkin
9:08pm (+2) - BG 191
 
Today's Summary:
6:44am - AMPS 144
6:46am - Shot 1.25U
6:50am - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Wx Low Phos (0.0%) + 0.25ml Nordic Naturals Omega 3 + 1/2 packet of FortiFlora probiotics.
9:02am (+2) - BG 232
10:22am
(+3.5) - BG 271
12:28pm
(+5.5) - BG 292
5:21pm (+10.5) - BG 302
6:38pm - PMPS 261

6:40pm - Shot 1.25U
6:44pm - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Glam N' Punk (0.6%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Wx Low Phos (0.0%) + 0.25ml Nordic Naturals Omega 3 for Cats + 1/2 packet of FortiFlora Probiotics + 2 teaspoons of pumpkin
9:08pm (+2) - BG 191
10:07pm (+3) - BG 155
 
Hi Jason,
Looks like Kona is coming down nicely last night!
Great news for her overall health and not so great news for your wallet health. But thanks for sharing.
I love the picture - with her black coat with a little pink accent tongue. Quite fashionable :);)
 
Hi Jason,
Looks like Kona is coming down nicely last night!
Great news for her overall health and not so great news for your wallet health. But thanks for sharing.
I love the picture - with her black coat with a little pink accent tongue. Quite fashionable :);)

No doubt, all my money goes to these cats...
Love catching the pink tongue in photos, so funny.
 
Today's Summary:
6:44am - AMPS 144
6:46am - Shot 1.25U
6:50am - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Steak Frites (5.5%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Wx Low Phos (0.0%) + 0.25ml Nordic Naturals Omega 3 + 1/2 packet of FortiFlora probiotics.
9:02am (+2) - BG 232
10:22am
(+3.5) - BG 271
12:28pm
(+5.5) - BG 292
5:21pm (+10.5) - BG 302
6:38pm - PMPS 261

6:40pm - Shot 1.25U
6:44pm - Fed 1/2 can of TruLuxe Glam N' Punk (0.6%) + 1/2 can of Weruva Wx Low Phos (0.0%) + 0.25ml Nordic Naturals Omega 3 for Cats + 1/2 packet of FortiFlora Probiotics + 2 teaspoons of pumpkin
9:08pm (+2) - BG 191
10:07pm (+3) - BG 155
11:52pm (+5) - BG 125
 
Back
Top