1/5 Kay AMPS=249 +6=173 PMPS=169 +5=51 +6=45 +7=83 decrease?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mel&Kay

Member Since 2014
Previous Condo

1/4 Recap:
amps = 195
+6 = 72
pmps = 222
+6 = 56

Hello, LL! It’s been a while. I hope the new year has been kind to you. :)

Kay seems to be holding her reduction! Her preshot numbers are a bit high, though - or are they bounces? I’ve eased up on the ear pokes lately (a measly 4-5x tests/day), a fact I’m sure she appreciates, hehe!:p

Her timed feeder should arrive today and I’m looking forward to having a less broken sleep schedule. I bought the 2-meal feeder because I like how the compartments stay open so she still has access to previous meals (she’s a grazer and doesn’t always finish in time). She’ll eat her preshot meals from her bowl and following 2 meals from the feeder. If she begs for food between +6 and +9, I just give her “soup” - 1/16tsp of food and a few Tbs of water - to hold her over until preshot. It’s worked so far and all that extra water is great for her kidneys, plus it's kept the tummy acid at bay. ;)

Vines to all the the sugar kitties and beans. Have a great day!
 
Hey Mel, it looks to me like Kay is bouncing off last night's 56. Her numbers are looking great though! Nice job holding that reduction, Kay!:D
 
Just used the timed feeder for the first time and I could've sworn I heard a chorus of angels as the first tray opened. :p I showed it to Kay and she started eating right away. Sweet! :joyful: The 2-meal feeder only opens in 2 hour intervals so I have to prep it an hour early for +1 feedings, but it's a small price to pay indeed! She was inspecting it when I first put it down because she could smell the nummy fuds inside, but being such a polite and particular lady, she just sat there giving me puppy eyes instead of trying to finagle her way in (just don't call her stupid! :p).

Thanks Suzanne, Ann and Sienne!

In other news, baby's back in blue! :cool:
 
Holding a reduction and your first timed feeder. . . life is indeed good :cool:

We simply would not have survived had we not been introduced to the timed feeder. . .
 
Hmm, 45 @ nadir... does she earn another reduction or...? I've read about waiting for 3 'under 50s' before reducing, but not sure if I should do this. Would appreciate any guidance. Thanks in advance!
 
Congratulations!
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further
.
Being Kay is newly diagnosed, she earned a reduction.
Since 2006 we've encouraged those practicing Tight Regulation to attempt reducing the dose from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
new dose is 0.1u

0.1u.JPG
 
I thought as much, nice! Thanks, Sandy. :D

Gonna adjust the caliper to see what 0.1u looks like (I found 0.25u challenging! :p).
 
Start practicing ;)

Calipers had not yet come onto the scene here back in our day. We did the best we could eyeballing it . Everyone's 0.1u is likely different than everyone else and your 0.1u will be yours - what matters is being able to achieve consistency.
 
Fell asleep! Sandy, yes, I gave her some HC gravy and she was 83 @+7. Thanks for the concern. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top