1/5 Honey pmps 124, +4 121

Status
Not open for further replies.

Denise & Honey

Member Since 2012
So, I took Honey to the vet yesterday - after the exam he thinks its herpes and so started her on L-lysine and antibiotic eye cream.
She loves the L-lysine - its in a paste/gel - but she isn't keen on the eye ointment!

She ate a bit better this morning, mainly because I mixed a little Fussy Cat Tuna with her FF - I assume the smell did the trick.
Hoping she improves during the next week.

Her weight has gone up by 3lbs since dx - she's now 12.5 lbs so she can afford to lose a little !


Previous Condo

1/5 recap:
amps 95,
+7 107
 
Re: 1/5 Honey amps 95, +7 107 - dose ?

Should I put her dose up a little to .10? Her numbers are running a little higher due to the URI so not sure whether to wait until that's cleared up.

Also, the vet gave my Viralys L-Lysine gel - can't see anything carb-ish on the ingredients just maple flavor.
He also said that she was a little dehydrated and to give 200ml per day for 4 days - does that seems a bit much? We gave Minkie 50ml and he looked like a camel!
 
Re: 1/5 Honey amps 95, +7 107 - dose ?

That does seem like a lot to me but I've never given fluids.

I would stick with the 1 drop dose.
 
Re: 1/5 Honey amps 95, +7 107 - dose ?

When we first got bailey he was very ill and dehydrated, we were giving him 100ml a day... And he looked like a camel too... He was only 6lbs at that time and is a small cat.

He hated it as well. He would go sit in a corner afterward with his head at a funny angle.. He just didnt like the feel of it. First time he did it I thought I had done something wrong but after about half an hour of sulking he would be fine again.
 
Re: 1/5 Honey amps 95, +7 107 - dose ?

That is high. Gus weighs 9.5 lbs and gets 150 mls a day. Cats that are a little further along in CKD might get twice that. So to give 200 mls because she seems a little dehydrated seems way too much.

How did he determine she is dehydrated? Did he pinch up her skin and it didn't pop back into place? Did he check her gums to see if they are slick or did he run a blood panel that had an elevated BUN?

I'd be cautious. Cats should normally get most of their fluid through water and their food. If you give her fluids, I'd go a little lower ...say around 100 mls if she is a 9 or 10 lb cat. If she's smaller than that, I'd maybe do 75 mls and I'd check her each day before I give more to make sure she has absorbed it. I'd also be adding lots of water to her food.

On the herpes, Tobey has what the vet opthamalogist believes is herpes in one eye. He gets outbreaks where he starts squinting the eye. Usually if a cat has herpes in the eye, they need an anti viral like idoxuridene. Can you let us know what the name of the ointment is please? Herpes in the eye is usually very uncomfortable and can also be painful.

Sending healing vines to your house, Denise.
 
Re: 1/5 Honey amps 95, +7 107 - dose ?

Her weight has gone up to 12.5lbs (from 9.7 when dx in Oct.) so I need to start watching her intake.
He just did a skin pinch - didn't check gums.
She has been a little off her food but I always add plenty of water to each meal and she's peeing and pooping fine.

The ointment is Erythromycin - 3 times per day in both eyes.
Her eyes were very watery and 3rd eyelid showing but she doesn't seem to be too bothered by them - but I know that's a bit of a smoke-screen with a cat :roll:

I did notice Monster's eyes watering a bit yesterday and the 3rd eyelid showing so gave him some l-lysine (he hated it) but he seems ok today and he never goes off his food.
 
Re: 1/5 Honey amps 95, +7 107

I agree with Sienne that I would hold the 1 drop dose for now. Honey's numbers did go up for a couple of days, but that was expected after three skipped shots. Now the numbers seem to be settling back down around 100 again. I would give this dose some time to see what it can do.

Good luck with the eye meds. I thought ear drops were bad, but eye drops sound pretty tricky!
 
Re: 1/5 Honey amps 95, +7 107

Thanks all - I'll stick with the 1 drop.

Yep- the vet pulled up her upper lid and put the ointment in. I'm struggling pulling it up and case I hurt her - guess he didn't have the same qualms...
 
Re: 1/5 Honey pmps 124

Erythromycin is an antibiotic ointment and will not touch the herpes which is a virus. All the AB ointment will do is keep her from getting a bacterial infection on top of the herpes....if that's what she has...which I kind of doubt. Sounds like she might just have some conjunctivitis.

When Tobey has an outbreak of herpes, I do give him an AB ointment but only once a day.
 
Re: 1/5 Honey pmps 124

Thanks Marje.

She seems ok in herself. I thought her nose was a bit stuffed which would explain not eating as much but then today, she scoffed pretty good. The smelly Fussy Cat tuna helped.
Should I be concerned about the 3rd eyelid showing?

Of course, Monster now has his 3rd eyelid showing :cry: :cry: I've started him on the l-lysine. He doesn't have ANY other symptoms.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top