1/5 Gobbles AMPS 419 - Emergency?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
I don't know for sure is 419 AMPS constitutes an emergency, but I am ver concerned. I may/may have not given a fur shot last night. What should I do NOW to deal with this number? I did give him his 1.00f 45 minutes earlier than last night. He is picking at his food. Can someone look at his SS for me and share your thoughts/advice? I am somewhat a newbie here.
 
Hi There & Welcome :smile:

419 isn't a pretty number, but not a 911... You do of course want this number lower as soon as possible.
The 45 minutes early shot should act as a slight dose increase, so the number should come down.
We all do furshots occasionally, comes with the territory ;-)
 
Bruce & Simon said:
Hi There & Welcome :smile:

419 isn't a pretty number, but not a 911... You do of course want this number lower as soon as possible.
The 45 minutes early shot should act as a slight dose increase, so the number should come down.
We all do furshots occasionally, comes with the territory ;-)
Should I maybe force him to drink water (I really don't want him to though as he looks kinda sad) and should I test him again when (after AM shot)???
 
A high number usually isn't an emergency, especially if you think you gave a fur shot the previous cycle. If the insulin didn't get in, it makes sense that you'd see high numbers. You can take the 911 icon off since this isn't a life threatening situation.

Let me make a couple of suggestions. You would have a better sense of whether you did, in fact, give a fur shot if you were getting routine tests during the PM cycle. We strongly encourage getting at least a "before bed" test every night. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir. You're already seeing blue numbers during the day. For many cats, numbers run lower at night. If you don't test during the PM cycle, you could be missing dose reductions. In addition, you're missing half of your data. It makes if very hard to make good decisions about dosage if you don't have the full picture.

I also don't thing Gobbles is at a point where fattening the dose is necessary. Typically, we fatten or skinny a dose when you're getting close to a good dose. Your kitty isn't quite there yet. I'd encourage you to read through the Lantus dosing protocol. Doses are typically adjusted in 0.25u increments.

It's possible that Gobbles is picking at his food because being in the 400s doesn't feel good. I'd keep an eye on him to make sure this doesn't reflect some other issue. Does he have any health issues or a history of developing ketones? You may want to put together a Profile so the relevant info on your kitty is easily accessed by everyone and you don't have to keep telling his story.

As for testing, I'd test 2 - 3 hours after your AMPS.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
A high number usually isn't an emergency, especially if you think you gave a fur shot the previous cycle. If the insulin didn't get in, it makes sense that you'd see high numbers. You can take the 911 icon off since this isn't a life threatening situation.

Let me make a couple of suggestions. You would have a better sense of whether you did, in fact, give a fur shot if you were getting routine tests during the PM cycle. We strongly encourage getting at least a "before bed" test every night. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir. You're already seeing blue numbers during the day. For many cats, numbers run lower at night. If you don't test during the PM cycle, you could be missing dose reductions. In addition, you're missing half of your data. It makes if very hard to make good decisions about dosage if you don't have the full picture.

I also don't thing Gobbles is at a point where fattening the dose is necessary. Typically, we fatten or skinny a dose when you're getting close to a good dose. Your kitty isn't quite there yet. I'd encourage you to read through the Lantus dosing protocol. Doses are typically adjusted in 0.25u increments.

It's possible that Gobbles is picking at his food because being in the 400s doesn't feel good. I'd keep an eye on him to make sure this doesn't reflect some other issue. Does he have any health issues or a history of developing ketones? You may want to put together a Profile so the relevant info on your kitty is easily accessed by everyone and you don't have to keep telling his story.

As for testing, I'd test 2 - 3 hours after your AMPS.
That all makes a lot of sense; thanks kindly. I can do a "before bed" at no more than +2 after his shot. Yes, I have been testing ketones, almost daily. He usually makes for the litter box in basement after eating a good-sized meal and I get the urine directly from his pee stream. There haven't been any ketones to date; test is always negative.

I always leave food out at night so he could have been picking, however, he woke me up at 5:30 (due, I'm sure, because husband had to get up early) being himself (licks face and gets toilet paper off roll).

My vet tells me that to call me twice a week re: BG, and if +4 is over 300 he wants to increase him from 1.0 to 2.0 U... Note the 460 reading--this reading was taken at the vet's office and he was scared and terribly stressed; the vet told me that a BG could jump up to 100 more due to this...

I will read topics.
 
Hi! Thanks for coming over to the tight regulation forum!

I know 419 looks scary but I am not surprised, remember we can't trust most of your past readings because the meter was inaccurate (using a trueresult until yesterday) so gobbles could have been in these high levels before. And if you gave a fur shot that didn't help either. Hopefully he will feel better once his BG comes down, it will be interesting to see how his BG behaves today now that you are using the Relion!!

Bad news though is that we usually wait 6 cycles on a dose before recommending a change (see sticky on tight regulation protocolhttp://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581).
Since you gave a possible fur shot, and shot early today (which was an effective dose increase), that means we probably start counting again today..... so this mornings shot was number 1. Tonite shot is number 2. Once we have done 6-10 consecutive shots at the same dose (and the same time give or take 15-30mins) we can decide if a dose change is necessary.. (Unless he goes under 50 which means an innediate reduction)
And it's very likely he will need a change. I would be interested to see if anyone thinks we should change dose before that although they have to bear in mind all readings from before yesterday were taken with the inaccurate trueresult meter,??

Can you update your SS For last night and put "fur shot?" In the dose column so that is easy to see?

No ketones today right? And a profile too like sienne said would be great!

Wendy
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Hi! Thanks for coming over to the tight regulation forum!

I know 419 looks scary but I am not surprised, remember we can't trust most of your past readings because the meter was inaccurate (using a trueresult until yesterday) so gobbles could have been in these high levels before. And if you gave a fur shot that didn't help either. Hopefully he will feel better once his BG comes down, it will be interesting to see how his BG behaves today now that you are using the Relion!!

Bad news though is that we usually wait 6 cycles on a dose before recommending a change (see sticky on tight regulation protocolhttp://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581).
Since you gave a possible fur shot, and shot early today (which was an effective dose increase), that means we probably start counting again today..... so this mornings shot was number 1. Tonite shot is number 2. Once we have done 6-10 consecutive shots at the same dose (and the same time give or take 15-30mins) we can decide if a dose change is necessary.. (Unless he goes under 50 which means an innediate reduction)
And it's very likely he will need a change. I would be interested to see if anyone thinks we should change dose before that although they have to bear in mind all readings from before yesterday were taken with the inaccurate trueresult meter,??

Can you update your SS For last night and put "fur shot?" In the dose column so that is easy to see?

No ketones today right? And a profile too like sienne said would be great!

Wendy
Good morning Wendy :) No, I haven't got a ketone test today...I usually see him head towards the litter box after he eats a regular amount of food. I changed the box last night...this morning there are two 4" clumps. I offered him a little food just now (with water mixed in as I always do) and he took a few nibs at it. I will make a note to do his profile then post it...sometime later today (if I forget, remind me again....I running on 4.5 hours of sleep today). I am going to do a BG test at 11:15 which will be AMPS +2...
 
Wendy said:
...we can't trust most of your past readings because the meter was inaccurate (using a trueresult until yesterday)
Not entirely accurate. This meter tends to run lower than other meters. However, if you believe Consumer Reports, it's received a good review in the last year. The only way to gauge the accuracy is to compare it to another meter (like the one at the vet's office). In the past, Consumer Reports gave the "true" meters a bad review which was consistent with people's experience here.

TheBowHuntress said:
...if +4 is over 300 he wants to increase him from 1.0 to 2.0 U...
That would be 2 - 4 times the recommended size of a dose increase with Lantus and potentially, way too frequent of an increase. Because Lantus is a depot-type of medication, it takes several days for the insulin level to stabilize. We typically allow 3 days to see how the dose is working. In addition, doses are increased by 0.25 - 0.5u depending on whether the nadirs are mostly above or below 300. This approach allows for a systematic, small increase in dose so you do not miss what would be a good dose for your cat and avoids putting your kitty over that dose. Increasing by 1.0u could be dangerous.

You may want to share this article from one of the leading feline veterinary journals with your vet. It's the paper that describes how the Tight Regulation Protocol for Lantus was developed and researched.



I was mostly concerned about whether your cat had a history of diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA). If ketones have always been negative, high numbers are less of a concern. (FWIW, ketones can also occur at lower numbers. They are more likely in higher ranges in cats that are ketone-prone.)

Your vet is correct -- cats can experience "vet stress." Some of our cats' numbers spike more than 100 points. It's also why it can be unwise to increase dose based on tests done at the vet's office. The numbers may be artificially elevated due to stress.
 

Attachments

432 +2 am shot!!!!! what do i do, what do i do??? he won't eat or drink water....i forced a little water on him...he is very stressed and was stressed before i did his BG
 
She ran a test with the relion against the trueresult and got this:

Relion 140 - Trueresult 163
Relion 185 - Trueresult 141
Relion 238 - Trueresult 159
Relion 304 - Trueresult 232

Plus there was this article http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=70140 which had a SS that says the trueresult wasnt accurate although it is dated October 2011. But based on the above (and the fact the relion is cheap) she switched meters.
 
419 and 432 are within error of the meter so they are essentially the same. Maybe test again in an hour and see if he comes down then. Meanwhile you could try the below. I like giving mine tuna water ( water from the tuna can - not oil), or the chicken broth as below because they like it and it encourages them to drink. Sometimes I will also add a single drop of olive oil to the surface of water as they try and lick it and get lots of water in the process!

Enticing a Cat to Eat

Here are some things you can do do entice your cat to eat:

-making a buffet to give him choices
- heating food

sprinkle food with :
FortiFlora -- a probiotic you can get at vets or online. is very smelly and cats love the taste of it.
parmesean cheese
smashed crumbles of dry food
bonito/tuna flakes (Can be found at Asian markets or sometimes in the Asian food section of a large grocery store.)
halo chicken treats (freeze dried chicken) -- crumble into dust over food -- my Wolfie loves this stuff.
pour a little water from tuna in water over food (I use low sodium/no sodium added as other kinds in water has veg. broth in it and I assume that means onions, which are toxic to cats and it shouldn't contain soy -- check labels)
powdered oregano. yep sounds weird . but some cats like it and it will entice them to eat.

other ideas of foods to offer your kitty to stim appy:
trader joe tuna for cats
baby food -- beechnut or Gerber Stage 2 -- you want a baby food that is only a protein + broth (although the Gerber contains cornstarch). It should have no onions or other additives. some babyfoods have onions . please read labels if you can't find beechnut.
kentucky fried chicken
deli turkey /chicken
plain cooked ( boiled or baked ) chicken breast
canned chicken for people (watch the label that their are no onions)
chicken broth -- low sodium

If enticements don't work, you should consider:
-assist feeding ( syringe or make little meatballs and place in mouth)
-and/or talking to your vet about appetite stimulents ( mirtazapine or cyproheptidine)
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
419 and 432 are within error of the meter so they are essentially the same. Maybe test again in an hour and see if he comes down then. Meanwhile you could try the below. I like giving mine tuna water ( water from the tuna can - not oil), or the chicken broth as below because they like it and it encourages them to drink. Sometimes I will also add a single drop of olive oil to the surface of water as they try and lick it and get lots of water in the process!

Enticing a Cat to Eat

Here are some things you can do do entice your cat to eat:

-making a buffet to give him choices
- heating food

sprinkle food with :
FortiFlora -- a probiotic you can get at vets or online. is very smelly and cats love the taste of it.
parmesean cheese
smashed crumbles of dry food
bonito/tuna flakes (Can be found at Asian markets or sometimes in the Asian food section of a large grocery store.)
halo chicken treats (freeze dried chicken) -- crumble into dust over food -- my Wolfie loves this stuff.
pour a little water from tuna in water over food (I use low sodium/no sodium added as other kinds in water has veg. broth in it and I assume that means onions, which are toxic to cats and it shouldn't contain soy -- check labels)
powdered oregano. yep sounds weird . but some cats like it and it will entice them to eat.

other ideas of foods to offer your kitty to stim appy:
trader joe tuna for cats
baby food -- beechnut or Gerber Stage 2 -- you want a baby food that is only a protein + broth (although the Gerber contains cornstarch). It should have no onions or other additives. some babyfoods have onions . please read labels if you can't find beechnut.
kentucky fried chicken
deli turkey /chicken
plain cooked ( boiled or baked ) chicken breast
canned chicken for people (watch the label that their are no onions)
chicken broth -- low sodium

If enticements don't work, you should consider:
-assist feeding ( syringe or make little meatballs and place in mouth)
-and/or talking to your vet about appetite stimulents ( mirtazapine or cyproheptidine)
how about a few little peices of ham? although this was a sugar spiral ham
 
He just ate about a tablespoon of friskies mariner...i found a piece of skinless, boneless chicken in freezer and cooked a little, put the juices with chicken in a bowl.
 
Metes can be off by as much as 20% and still be considered "accurate." When you get up into the 400s that 20% can be a whopping 80 points n either direction. From her comparisons it looks like most of the tests were within that range too. When i had a True2Go the big inaccuracies were at the high end readings.

So, the +2 is essentially the same as the preshot which is typical of a Lantus curve. From the New to the Group sticky:
Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Furshots happen! And Gobbles will get over it, consistency is the key to using Lantus. Just take it slow and breathe!
 
Of course he is hiding from me under the bed....don't blame him...I put the chicken pieces in a small bowl and the chicken juice was a good quarter cup...he lapped all that up plus ate the few pieces of chicken I put in with...then I drained more juice off the chicken and put that in a bowl (about 3 tablespoons of juice) and he lapped that up as well...he is still in hiding...so is that a good amount of juice; I'd estimate the total amount of juice to be 1/3 cup.
 
Great!

Can you update your SS with the +2 , as well as your subject line in your original post i.e. 1/5 Gobbles AMPS 419 +2 432 ?

thanks!
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Also did you manage a ketone check yet? Does his breath smell of acetone?
No not yet....he hasn't gone to litter box yet. By acetone, do you mean kind of like nail polish remover that has acetone in it? I will check his breath when I dig him out from under the bed to do a +4...btw, he was kinda freaking out when i did the +2 and from what i've read, stress can cause the bg to go up?
 
Stress can definately raise his BG so giving him a rest for a couple of hours is a good idea. and yes I mean nail polish remover.. its quite strong so even if you stick your nose under the bed you might smell it.
 
TheBowHuntress said:
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Also did you manage a ketone check yet? Does his breath smell of acetone?
No not yet....he hasn't gone to litter box yet. By acetone, do you mean kind of like nail polish remover that has acetone in it? I will check his breath when I dig him out from under the bed to do a +4...btw, he was kinda freaking out when i did the +2 and from what i've read, stress can cause the bg to go up?

Yes, just like nail polish remover. Once you smell it on a cat's breath, there's no forgetting it. And yes, stress can raise BGs, but usually not for long. Just like the effect it would have on our blood pressure. ;-)

These high numbers this cycle aren't a huge deal, especially if you think it might have been due to a fur shot. A day of high numbers is just a day of high numbers, and things usually come right back down to normal. It could be a fur shot, it could be a bounce. Gobbles might be experiencing low numbers overnight that you just haven't" seen".

It's hard, but try to step back and look at the big picture, and not focus on just one cycle. That's where the spreadsheet comes in handy. It gives you the big picture.

Liz, good call on linking the "letter" :smile:

Carl
 
I just wanted to welcome you to Lantus Land and join the ranks of those offering comfort. I know these numbers ae stressful but he will come back down. It's just one cycle.

One thing I want to add is to be careful giving the liquid that comes in cans of human tuna. Check the ingredients carefully. Even if the front of the can says it is packed in water, look closely at the back. Manufacturers are now often adding vegetable broth including soy and soy can be potentially toxic to cats. There are still some tuna companies just packing in water but most in the US are also using vegetable broth. Your choice of chicken and its broth was a good one.

Hang in there and try to breathe through these higher numbers. As Sienne said, keep an eye on the ketones, add extra water to his food, and go for a walk :-D
 
I just want to clarify. I went back to take a look at several of your initial posts. Unless I've missed something (which is entirely possible since I was skimming), I couldn't see that Gobbles has any history of developing ketones. If this is correct, I'm not overly concerned about a few high numbers and the probability of ketones. If you're able to check every few days, providing Gobbles is acting like himself, that should be fine.

Right now, it's more of an issue that he eats. If you're calm, he'll be more relaxed. Also, be aware that as numbers are more consistently in a better range, appetite decreases from when the diabetes was uncontrolled.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
I just wanted to welcome you to Lantus Land and join the ranks of those offering comfort. I know these numbers ae stressful but he will come back down. It's just one cycle.

One thing I want to add is to be careful giving the liquid that comes in cans of human tuna. Check the ingredients carefully. Even if the front of the can says it is packed in water, look closely at the back. Manufacturers are now often adding vegetable broth including soy and soy can be potentially toxic to cats. There are still some tuna companies just packing in water but most in the US are also using vegetable broth. Your choice of chicken and its broth was a good one.

Hang in there and try to breathe through these higher numbers. As Sienne said, keep an eye on the ketones, add extra water to his food, and go for a walk :-D
Thanks Marje...I feel comforted being here. I appreciate everything ALL of you are doing for me as far as your insight, recommendations and kind support.
I don't buy tuna, but thank you for the warning. In fact, there is no fish of any kind in my home as I had an aversion to it :) I checked my can of chicken broth and there is onion powder, among other stuff, in it. Thankfully, he actually does like water added to his food :) Do you think maybe I let him drink too much of the chicken juice (this being the juice when I cooked a little bit of boneless, skinless chicken in the microwave)--he drank approximately 1/3 cup...but then pee'd! He is himself again and acting like the turd that he is!
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
I just want to clarify. I went back to take a look at several of your initial posts. Unless I've missed something (which is entirely possible since I was skimming), I couldn't see that Gobbles has any history of developing ketones. If this is correct, I'm not overly concerned about a few high numbers and the probability of ketones. If you're able to check every few days, providing Gobbles is acting like himself, that should be fine.

Right now, it's more of an issue that he eats. If you're calm, he'll be more relaxed. Also, be aware that as numbers are more consistently in a better range, appetite decreases from when the diabetes was uncontrolled.
You are correct; since I have been monitoring Gobbles with the keytone dipsticks (all samples exclusively from his stream of urine "straight from the cow"....) he has always been negative. He ate quite a bit a few hours earlier today when I was freaking out about his high number--he was hiding under the bed from me (don't blame him) and I pushed a plate of a tablespoon of Friskies' Mariners' Catch and then cooked a little bit of boneless, skinless chicken in the microwave whereby he had 4 good-sized chunks of chicken and about 1/3 cup of the chicken juice. About 10 minutes after eating, he appeared in the litter box and took a somewhat big pee.
 
He is himself again and acting like the turd that he is!
That's great news! I always try to keep in mind that the cats don't realize they're diabetic. They just realize something is different because for some strange reason, their "people" have started chasing them around the house with dipsticks and sharp objects. And they're getting to eat lots of new stuff at strange times during the day and night.
I'm thinking that if reincarnation is real, I'm hoping to come back as a diabetic cat whose "person" joins FDMB. Not a bad way to live. :-D

Carl
 
Carl & Bob said:
He is himself again and acting like the turd that he is!
That's great news! I always try to keep in mind that the cats don't realize they're diabetic. They just realize something is different because for some strange reason, their "people" have started chasing them around the house with dipsticks and sharp objects. And they're getting to eat lots of new stuff at strange times during the day and night.
I'm thinking that if reincarnation is real, I'm hoping to come back as a diabetic cat whose "person" joins FDMB. Not a bad way to live. :-D

Carl
Oh Em Gee Carl...that is so awesome; thanks for sharing...Wanted to share, since Gobbles' DX, I have been locating him when I'm ready to turn the light out to go to bed and put him in bed with me....he has his own bed and was never a cat to be a constant "cuddler". This precious little fellow knows my anguish and lovingly falls asleep in my arms each night...sometimes I feel him sneakingly leave the moment before I am in deep sleep. Maybe he cares about me as much as I care about him. I used to tell him that if I go before him or he goes before me, someone is going to be very heartbroken...I am crying as I type this :( I love him so much <3
 
Good you noticed about the canned chicken broth. I don't give that to my cats either and I was assuming you meant the broth from the chicken you cooked. Good job!

Nadir is the point of the peak action of the insulin and typically the lowest number in the cycle.

I wouldn't do a +6. Save a strip. You could grab a +9 or +10.
 
The nadir is the lowest point in the cycle. If our kitties read the rule book, the nadir would be at +6. However, the cats refuse to play by the rules and the nadir is whenever they decide where it will be. And, just to keep us on our toes, the nadir can change. It can be different for the AM and PM cycle and it can shift from day to day. My cat's nadir is usually around +3 or +4 except for those days when it's not!

For the future, you don't want to feed anything with onions in it to a cat. Onions can cause hemolytic anemia in cats and dogs.

It sounds like Gobbles has eaten reasonably well. How about just spending some quality time with your kitty? The good news is that with high numbers, you don't have to test all that frequently. Just give your kitty a few belly rubs!!
 
Yeah give the wee guy a break and some loving time, show him that you dont just want to poke his ear! A +8 would be good as it will start to fill in some of the gaps (times) on your chart where you havent measured before and will give the little dude and you a break.

Plus I am looking forward to seeing a profile for him.. with photos!
 
TheBowHuntress said:
For some reason, I can't "quote" on a response. I was into my user panel today and maybe I changed something?
Is the "quote" button visible above each post?
 
You dont see this below: The quote button is fourth small icon from the left above the text entry white box and below the subject line entry.

ie B i u Quote Code List..


8350386929_6f82894441.jpg


If not, close your browser and reopen and see if that helps.
 
Go back to your control panel, on the "board preferences" tab. On the 'My board style" entry, see if it says "prosilver" Mine does, but if I change it to either of the other choices, the quote button disappears.
Carl
 
Carl & Bob said:
Go back to your control panel, on the "board preferences" tab. On the 'My board style" entry, see if it says "prosilver" Mine does, but if I change it to either of the other choices, the quote button disappears. Carl
You're a genius Carl....dummy here changed it thinking the background would be a different color...and as you can see, per your instructions I changed it back! Thanks kindly. P.S. Gobbles +8 was 301...much better than earlier (note SS) I feel better but am still concerned. BTW, the little brat was begging at the dinner table (we had pork chops, sweet potatoes, green beans with almonds) so I gave him some freshly cooked chicken (remnants of what I cooked him this afternoon--thawed out boneless, skinless and cooked in microwave with nothing added)....It is OK to give chicken, correct? I did not give him any pork chops though because I thought that would be a bad choice...He is completely back to his old self....living up to his name!
 
Glad it worked:-)
Yes, plain chicken is a great low carb treat.
Carl
 
Carl & Bob said:
Glad it worked:-)
Yes, plain chicken is a great low carb treat.
Carl
Ahhhh..MMMMMM...I don't know if it would qualify as a "treat" since he ate six 1/2" cube-sized pieces...I almost grabbed the ipad to video him....if you don't give him something, ya get the claws dug into you...LOL
 
Tiggy got that amount of cooked plain chicken today too... He was very excited about it and proceeded to scarf and barf. I am giving him chicken to try and solve the diarrhea issue..
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
The nadir is the lowest point in the cycle. If our kitties read the rule book, the nadir would be at +6. However, the cats refuse to play by the rules and the nadir is whenever they decide where it will be. And, just to keep us on our toes, the nadir can change. It can be different for the AM and PM cycle and it can shift from day to day. My cat's nadir is usually around +3 or +4 except for those days when it's not!

For the future, you don't want to feed anything with onions in it to a cat. Onions can cause hemolytic anemia in cats and dogs.

It sounds like Gobbles has eaten reasonably well. How about just spending some quality time with your kitty? The good news is that with high numbers, you don't have to test all that frequently. Just give your kitty a few belly rubs!!
Oh, I didn't feed him anything with onion in it, but will read labels...do we have to worry about any cat food with onion in it? Maybe the reason that my vet said he would want to change his lantus dose if his +4 was over 300 is because of the nadir? We spent a bit of quality time (as usual) this afternoon and evening. Honestly, he is the "favorite" (I have two other kitties) and always gets most of my attention :)
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Tiggy got that amount of cooked plain chicken today too... He was very excited about it and proceeded to scarf and barf. I am giving him chicken to try and solve the diarrhea issue..
Sorry to hear he got sick :( BTW, our kids (Tiggy & Gobby) resemble each other :)
 
Cat food doesn't contain onion. You need to be attentive if you're giving any other already prepared product, though. Even something like chicken broth can be cooked with vegetables, including onion in it. Deli products can contain sugar, honey, or may have onion or garlic powder in their ingredients. Anything you prepare at home is probably fine. You could certainly have given Gobbles a treat of your pork chop but the chicken was probably a better choice!

You vet may have suggested using the +4 as a way of gauging nadir. My concern was more that the amount he was suggesting you increase by seemed to be larger than what the research recommends.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Cat food doesn't contain onion. You need to be attentive if you're giving any other already prepared product, though. Even something like chicken broth can be cooked with vegetables, including onion in it. Deli products can contain sugar, honey, or may have onion or garlic powder in their ingredients. Anything you prepare at home is probably fine. You could certainly have given Gobbles a treat of your pork chop but the chicken was probably a better choice!

You vet may have suggested using the +4 as a way of gauging nadir. My concern was more that the amount he was suggesting you increase by seemed to be larger than what the research recommends.
I have to call him Monday a.m. to make an appointment for Gobbles and address a few issues with Gobbles (he still looks kinda shabby and hair kinda thinning at flanks and top of back (near tail base), I need to weigh him. my Lantus is over 6 weeks old (though there is A LOT left in the bottle), my syringe supply is running low, I would like some routine blood tests, I would like to test my glucometer against his, discuss his AM +4 number (over 300 today but COULD be because I may have fur-shot last night...we'll see what his +4 number is tomorrow. If he wants to increase from 1.0-2.0 I am going to tell him that I'm a little uncomfortable with that and maybe start at 1.5 -- does that sound like a good increase (he actually gets a little more than 1.0 as I have added a few drops the other day)...what advice can any of you give me? THANKS!!
 
At 6 weeks old, the lantus should be fine as long as you have been treating it gently, no shaking the bottle, it doesn't have particles or cloudiness, and you keep it in the fridge mostly. If so, it can last for up to six months.

I am hoping you aren't getting your syringes from the vet, cheaper to use the American diabetes wholesale or Walmart links provided on this site.

Testing your glucometer against his is a good idea, more for his sake than yours, because then he knows where you really are with the numbers when you show him your spreadsheet.

By Monday you will have data with your new meter for a few days, and probably a recommendation on a dose change at that point from the experts here, so you will have info to tell him!

You are doing a PMPS and PMPS +2 tonite yes?
 
Ok, I have to chime in with my $0.02 about vet dosing advice. :-D Vets are amazing, the different animals and diseases and medicines and surgeries that they handle is incredible. But for feline diabetes, the people here are the experts. We deal with it 24/7 and people like Sienne and Marje and others have looked at hundreds of cats (spreadsheets, food, medicine, behavior, and everything about them except physically seeing the actual cat). They have also studied the research. I doubt there are any vets in the world who are as knowledgeable about FD as the people here and available for immediate dosing advice as much as the people here. Gobbles is your cat and you decide on his care. Plus you don't know us except the last few days. That said, I would be very skeptical about dosing advice from a vet. Just my $0.02. Whatever decisions you make, we will support you.
Liz
 
Anne & Zener said:
Ok, I have to chime in with my $0.02 about vet dosing advice. :-D Vets are amazing, the different animals and diseases and medicines and surgeries that they handle is incredible. But for feline diabetes, the people here are the experts. We deal with it 24/7 and people like Sienne and Marje and others have looked at hundreds of cats (spreadsheets, food, medicine, behavior, and everything about them except physically seeing the actual cat). They have also studied the research. I doubt there are any vets in the world who are as knowledgeable about FD as the people here and available for immediate dosing advice as much as the people here. Gobbles is your cat and you decide on his care. Plus you don't know us except the last few days. That said, I would be very skeptical about dosing advice from a vet. Just my $0.02. Whatever decisions you make, we will support you.
Liz
Thank you Anne...you are right! I doubt there is any vet anywhere that can stand up against you wonderful people here! The first vet I went to (BG was close to 500!!!) that diagnosed it, sent me home with DM dry & cans and could not prescribe insulin....the vet I have now is a bit better though...at least he prescribed him insulin and said to call once per week with an update. If he suggests an increase in insulin, what is your opinion of how much (and anyone else please chime in here)? He has been on 1 U. every 12 hours for 6 weeks now...Thanks kindly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top