Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey
Member Since 2011
1/3 Recap:
1.0 units
AMPS 275
AM+3: 230
AM+6: 213
Dosecrease to 1.25 units
PMPS: 219
PM+3: 111
PM+7: 134
1/4 Recap:
1.25 units bid
AMPS: 269
AM+3: 219
AM+6: 190
PMPS: 213
PM+3.5: 208
PM+6.5: 194
Most Recent Condo
Darn! We finally earn a Mr. Greenie and there isn't one on the subject line any more! Oh well, this will have to do:


Figures Cinco would decide to jump in the lagoon right before we leave for UCD.
The +4 was taken in the exam room, waiting for the student to come back with the doctor. The student actually walked in as I was poking Cinco. Cinco was moving his head around, looking for the food he usually gets at test time, and I got a really good poke - blood all over my hand and the ear! The student probably thought I was a complete idiot! 
I feel like I have had a religious experience today. Dr. Nelson is amazing. He was very nice and soooo interesting! I thought about recording our conversation, but decided against it. I told him I was trying to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol and he said, "oh yes, Jackie Rand's thing!, as if he and Jackie are buds (for all I know, they are!). He said he has no problem with that, but does feel that for long term diabetics, the lower numbers should be a little higher - in other words, he'd rather see them stay above 70 than above 50. I asked about using human meters and he said that the lower the BG, the more accurate a human meter is. He said if you have a number that is 50 or lower, they are spot on. 50-120, off by 5-6 points. 120-300, variance is around 20. 300 and up, the number starts around 50 and keeps climbing! He said not to stress too much about the occasional 300 - that it was the average numbers that one should look at when worried about the renal threshold - if his is averaging lower than 250, he should be safe. All good to know!
He looked at my spreadsheet so far this year and said I was correct to increase when I did. He said he suspected I wouldn't have to hold that dose for long, that Cinco would come back down soon. He examined Cinco and went over a lot of his info and told me that i am doing a great job and to keep doing exactly what I am doing!
I asked him to be sure to tell Dr. Davis that, so he stepped out in the hall and called out "Dr. Davis, Cinco is looking great and she should keep doing exactly what she's doing!"
Dr. Davis appeared in the doorway and gave me the thumbs up. She said, "He's the boss, so that's great!". I was on cloud 9!!!
We discussed neuropathy and he said Cinco probably has some residual nerve damage in his back legs, but if he is walking well and jumping up on the couch as I described, he is doing fine and doesn't need pain meds. (During this discussion, Cinco stretched out on the table and went to sleep!
) He told me he doubted Cinco would go OTJ again, as the odds were pretty strongly against it a second time, and I assured him I was aware of that. He said my main goal should be not so much to get him at certain numbers, but to have him looking and feeling and acting well. He said some home testers get too obsessed with the numbers and forget to look at the whole cat. He didn't feel I was one of those, by the way. He talked about the waste of time and the client's money of doing curves at the vet's and the inaccuracies of the readings they usually produce. He said I could contact him any time if I saw some numbers (high or low) that concerned me and I couldn't identify the reason behind them, but warned he would not be doing a lot of clinic hours in future so it might take him a while to get back to me. I told him what a thrill it was to talk to a vet that had more than 5 hours of training in diabetes. He chuckled and rolled his eyes. After he left the room I told the student I felt a little star struck!
@Wendy&Neko, I did not get the chance to ask about acromegaly, but I did ask about the "latest and greatest" in research, and he said there wasn't much, really. He said there was "new" drug a while back to treat diabetic neuropathy, and they were getting great results with it, but the drug company decided it wasn't worth it and discontinued it.
I can't remember the name - Pan-something. He said you could get a version of it in health food stores, but they found that the strength, etc. isn't as good and doesn't produce the same results.
All in all, it was great visit and I walked out of there with a big smile on my face. I so wish he could be cloned and put in every city in the world so you all could have access to him and his knowledge and experience!!
Despite his usual vocal protests of being in a carrier, Cinco's BG levels clearly did not suffer from the experience.
Sasha, Minka and Harvey all ate this morning (although Minka required a little extra encouragement). Now it's my turn. I'm ready for lunch.
Happy, happy thoughts of Dyana and Ginger, welcoming T Hanks into their home and hearts. We are sending them vines for a smooth transition.
Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans.
Special prayers for Amy's DF, Lyresa's DF, Lisa's DF and Elise's DM.
1.0 units
AMPS 275
AM+3: 230
AM+6: 213
Dosecrease to 1.25 units
PMPS: 219
PM+3: 111
PM+7: 134
1/4 Recap:
1.25 units bid
AMPS: 269
AM+3: 219
AM+6: 190
PMPS: 213
PM+3.5: 208
PM+6.5: 194
Most Recent Condo
Darn! We finally earn a Mr. Greenie and there isn't one on the subject line any more! Oh well, this will have to do:
Figures Cinco would decide to jump in the lagoon right before we leave for UCD.

I feel like I have had a religious experience today. Dr. Nelson is amazing. He was very nice and soooo interesting! I thought about recording our conversation, but decided against it. I told him I was trying to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol and he said, "oh yes, Jackie Rand's thing!, as if he and Jackie are buds (for all I know, they are!). He said he has no problem with that, but does feel that for long term diabetics, the lower numbers should be a little higher - in other words, he'd rather see them stay above 70 than above 50. I asked about using human meters and he said that the lower the BG, the more accurate a human meter is. He said if you have a number that is 50 or lower, they are spot on. 50-120, off by 5-6 points. 120-300, variance is around 20. 300 and up, the number starts around 50 and keeps climbing! He said not to stress too much about the occasional 300 - that it was the average numbers that one should look at when worried about the renal threshold - if his is averaging lower than 250, he should be safe. All good to know!
He looked at my spreadsheet so far this year and said I was correct to increase when I did. He said he suspected I wouldn't have to hold that dose for long, that Cinco would come back down soon. He examined Cinco and went over a lot of his info and told me that i am doing a great job and to keep doing exactly what I am doing!
Dr. Davis appeared in the doorway and gave me the thumbs up. She said, "He's the boss, so that's great!". I was on cloud 9!!! We discussed neuropathy and he said Cinco probably has some residual nerve damage in his back legs, but if he is walking well and jumping up on the couch as I described, he is doing fine and doesn't need pain meds. (During this discussion, Cinco stretched out on the table and went to sleep!
@Wendy&Neko, I did not get the chance to ask about acromegaly, but I did ask about the "latest and greatest" in research, and he said there wasn't much, really. He said there was "new" drug a while back to treat diabetic neuropathy, and they were getting great results with it, but the drug company decided it wasn't worth it and discontinued it.
All in all, it was great visit and I walked out of there with a big smile on my face. I so wish he could be cloned and put in every city in the world so you all could have access to him and his knowledge and experience!!
Despite his usual vocal protests of being in a carrier, Cinco's BG levels clearly did not suffer from the experience.
Sasha, Minka and Harvey all ate this morning (although Minka required a little extra encouragement). Now it's my turn. I'm ready for lunch.
Happy, happy thoughts of Dyana and Ginger, welcoming T Hanks into their home and hearts. We are sending them vines for a smooth transition.
Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans.
Special prayers for Amy's DF, Lyresa's DF, Lisa's DF and Elise's DM.
